We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
nThambo Tree Camp
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
361
53
10
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
53
10
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson stiltssafari experiencegame drivestracker isaacsolar panelspersonal attentionwild dogsunique experiencemosquito netother guestssouth africaon footdinner tableclose to natureamazing placethanks guysstayed two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Chad, Kelly, Issac and the team made our stay perfect! The setting is amazing and we really enjoyed our stay. Excellent game veiwing with elephants, buffalo, impala, worthogs, zebra and giraffe all seen from our chalet. Hope to be back one day. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a wonderful place NThambo is. The tree houses are amazing and had everything we needed for our stay, not that you spend much time in them. The guides Kevin and Issac are extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. Over our two day stay we managed to see the Big 5, and a lot more besides.

The food at the lodge is excellent and despite eating one meal in the dark, due to a freak storm we loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colemanmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I recently completed a stay at nThambo Tree Camp, which is a newer property in the Klaserie private game reserve (which is attached to the Kruger National Park). The property is small--only 5 tree houses for a maximum of 10 guests. This was very nice because I was able to meet many people in the intimate setting.

Each tree house sits on stilts, so the view is expansive when sitting on your individual deck and each house seems very private. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and has a mosquito net around it--which I highly recommend using because the houses are open and there were a LOT of bugs. Each room had towels and soap amenities (shampoo, conditional, lotion, soap). The showers were small, but functional. Electricity is provided via solar, so conserving electricity is encouraged (i.e. no hair dryers or other items that take a lot of electricity).

All activities were taken in a group, including all meals and game drives. The meals were not gourmet by any means, but they were able to cater to varying nutritional needs and it seemed more like eating a casual meal at a friend's house than at a restaurant or hotel.

The guides on the drive were some of the best in the area. We were most often first to find animals or see unique interactions. They were also very personable and made sure that all guests were included in questions and were comfortable during the drives.

There are a few small areas of improvement, but I'm sure this is just an issue of working out the bugs with a new location. For example, they did offer some optional activities between the game drives, but these were not well organized or published (including pricing information).

Overall, this is a great camp, but it definitely leans more towards the "roughing it" side than many of the other camps in the location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Before booking this place I read the reviews and couldn't really believe that absolutely everyone had given 5 stars. After spending 4 nights in nThambo I now understand why.
Located in the middle of the bush the lodge has 5 rustic but beautifully decorated huts. A large four post bed with mosquito netting, a great shower with hot water and a balcony with a marvelous view of the bush make for a supreme place to spend the nights. We even took a couple of naps in the early afternoon and the breeze an the view made us sleep like babies. One important thing to keep in mind is that you'll have lots of bugs at night. They won't get into the bed thanks to the net but if you're afraid of bugs/mots this is not the place for you.
The game drives were incredible. We saw the big 5 within 24hrs and then again on the next day. We even found wild dogs (a rare sighting) and even lion cubs and baby elephants!
None of this would have been so nice without the incredible service of Kevin, Isaac and Francois who made us feel more like friends than guests. Thank you guys !

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jorgepilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at several camps during our safari and nThambo was definitely the best game viewing experience.
The rooms are very rustic but in a charming way. They are open on the top and we had bats flying in our room. You have mosquito netting around the bed, but if you are afraid of bats and bugs, I woudn't suggest staying here. We also had quite a few spiders in our room. The rooms are private but you do hear everything around you. I could hear the man in the tent next to us sneeze. The amazing part of this camp is that you truly are surrounded by wildlife. We had hyenas around our room each night and found leopard footprints in the dust under our room. It is a truly awesome experience and you feel safe because you are up high. We did have an issue with the hot water in our shower not working but Kevin, our guide, was quick to address the issue and it was fixed within a few hours.

The game drives were awesome each and every time! We saw so much wildlife. Within the first few minutes of our first drive we saw lions and elephants! We had some amazing encounters here. Our guide even took us back out one night after we returned from the drive because he heard impala distress calls and wanted us to see the leopard that had been lurking around the camp. We all piled back into the game vehicle and found the leopard. It was very exciting! One night we even walked around camp with the guide and a black light to look for scorpions! I almost had the feeling here that we were visiting friends instead of at a lodge or hotel.

The food was very good and plentiful. I had a bit of an issue because I am a vegetarian and they weren't quite sure how to address this. (This was not unique to nThambo) They served me a veggie burger patty prepared in a different way each night. I never went hungry though, the always had amazing and very fresh salad and delicious side dishes. The food is simple (roasted chicken, butternut squash, salad etc. but it was hearty and very good.)

The best part about nThambo is that it the experience feels so exciting and authentic. The other lodges had a very contrived feeling about them (Disney safari anyone?) but nThambo felt organic and spontaneous at all times. We truly had the best game viewing here. We only stayed two nights but I wish we had stayed more! Thank you so much to Kevin for making it a memorable time! I hope we can return someday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eli2abethD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews