We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of nThambo Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
nThambo Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We spent three nights at this lodge. Kelly, Chad and Matt made our stay very special. Though I am sure that this was not caused by an accidental fact that we were the only guests there. The place is very new and the standard of accommodation goes beyond what you would expect from a tented camp. Since the camp is unfenced you have a feel of being in the wild nature without limits though unlike some other reviewers we did not see many wild animals visiting the site.

Chad and Matt are excellent trackers and indeed managed us to see the Big Five and much more. Needless to say that both guys took a burden and took us to a 10PM safari to watch a lion male appearing close to the camp.

The food was simple however absolutely excellent. And every night we had an unique opportunity to sit together with Kelly, Chad and Matt and have a very inspiring discussion about various topics concerning South Africa, its nature, politics and history. A real personal touch which you do not experience these days very often.

We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Czechgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    46
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
198
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

N'Thambo Tree Camp was undoubtedly a highlight of our trip. The accommodations were more than adequate, the food was good, and the game-viewing was great. We saw lions, hyena, elephants, rhino, cape buffalo, giraffe, warthogs, zebra, and much more. All of that having been said, it was the staff and the overall experience that really made this place. Kelly and Chad were both extremely nice and informative, and Enoch and Kevin were probably our two favorite bushmen of our entire trip. Although we didn't see any animals on our walking safari (aside from the impala that are of course everywhere), that experience is still a must-do in my opinion.

If and when I make it back to Kruger, I will definitely do another round at N'Thambo.

Room Tip: I would say that the closer to the main lodge, the better..unless you like to make the longest run p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had spent a complimentary night at nThambo during one of my camp-a-day site inspection trips. I'm in the business and need to see properties for myself before I use them for my clients. nThambo made such an impression on me that I wanted to come back with my wife on our own safari - as paying guests this time! It was even better than I remembered. Ranger Kevin and Tracker Isaack are a strong team and the game drives with them made clear that the Klaserie Reserve is sometimes underestimated as a wildlife destination. We saw 4 of the Big 5 on just one game drive - and every game drive had its highlights.
The tents make nThambo unique. By positioning them up on sturdy platforms, owner Courteney Blunden has added the unusual feature of a viewing deck to the luxury tent experience. Further, they have high thatched roofs which give them a sense of spaciousness you wouldn't have in a conventional tent. Meals are good, served either out in the boma around the fire or in the main lodge and guests do all sit together. I would say, considering the quality of the experience you have for the rates you pay, this is a true value-for-money destination.

Room Tip: The tents are identical, no need to choose one over another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwanadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Chad, Kelly, Issac and the team made our stay perfect! The setting is amazing and we really enjoyed our stay. Excellent game veiwing with elephants, buffalo, impala, worthogs, zebra and giraffe all seen from our chalet. Hope to be back one day. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

What a wonderful place NThambo is. The tree houses are amazing and had everything we needed for our stay, not that you spend much time in them. The guides Kevin and Issac are extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. Over our two day stay we managed to see the Big 5, and a lot more besides.

The food at the lodge is excellent and despite eating one meal in the dark, due to a freak storm we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colemanmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I recently completed a stay at nThambo Tree Camp, which is a newer property in the Klaserie private game reserve (which is attached to the Kruger National Park). The property is small--only 5 tree houses for a maximum of 10 guests. This was very nice because I was able to meet many people in the intimate setting.

Each tree house sits on stilts, so the view is expansive when sitting on your individual deck and each house seems very private. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and has a mosquito net around it--which I highly recommend using because the houses are open and there were a LOT of bugs. Each room had towels and soap amenities (shampoo, conditional, lotion, soap). The showers were small, but functional. Electricity is provided via solar, so conserving electricity is encouraged (i.e. no hair dryers or other items that take a lot of electricity).

All activities were taken in a group, including all meals and game drives. The meals were not gourmet by any means, but they were able to cater to varying nutritional needs and it seemed more like eating a casual meal at a friend's house than at a restaurant or hotel.

The guides on the drive were some of the best in the area. We were most often first to find animals or see unique interactions. They were also very personable and made sure that all guests were included in questions and were comfortable during the drives.

There are a few small areas of improvement, but I'm sure this is just an issue of working out the bugs with a new location. For example, they did offer some optional activities between the game drives, but these were not well organized or published (including pricing information).

Overall, this is a great camp, but it definitely leans more towards the "roughing it" side than many of the other camps in the location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goferris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Before booking this place I read the reviews and couldn't really believe that absolutely everyone had given 5 stars. After spending 4 nights in nThambo I now understand why.
Located in the middle of the bush the lodge has 5 rustic but beautifully decorated huts. A large four post bed with mosquito netting, a great shower with hot water and a balcony with a marvelous view of the bush make for a supreme place to spend the nights. We even took a couple of naps in the early afternoon and the breeze an the view made us sleep like babies. One important thing to keep in mind is that you'll have lots of bugs at night. They won't get into the bed thanks to the net but if you're afraid of bugs/mots this is not the place for you.
The game drives were incredible. We saw the big 5 within 24hrs and then again on the next day. We even found wild dogs (a rare sighting) and even lion cubs and baby elephants!
None of this would have been so nice without the incredible service of Kevin, Isaac and Francois who made us feel more like friends than guests. Thank you guys !

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorgepilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
0.9 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#4 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
9.6 mi away
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nThambo Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nThambo Tree Camp

Property: nThambo Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nThambo Tree Camp is a safari camp located in the Klaserie area of the Kruger Park. The camp offers daily morning and afternoon game drives to view the Big Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your nThambo Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nthambo Tree Camp Hotel Klaserie Private Game Reserve
nThambo Tree Camp South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing