We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First bush experience”
Review of nThambo Tree Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
nThambo Tree Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First bush experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were in NThambo for two nights (first week of March 2014). It was our first wildlife safari experience. We were pleasantly surprised. Very nicely decorated tree house type individual houses. The room was very well furnished with all the necessities (portable fan, bathroom, hot shower). The room is very cute with an amazing view of the bush. I could not sleep the first night as the cabin door (curtain) could not be zipped up. Kevin was kind enough to get it fixed the next day.
The food and staff was wonderful. Amazing game drives. It rained a lot and hence we could see a lot of animals. But Kevin and Issac did not give up. Could not go out on the morning ranger lead walks either because of the rain. We met some amazing people there.
I miss this place so much. I wish to go back someday.
Thanks guys ...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSDesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    49
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
46
216
43
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The highlight of our trip to South Africa was definitely the three days we spent at nThambo Tree Camp. The accommodations were exactly as represented on their website - beautiful rooms, the most delicious food, great wildlife (both game and birds) and especially the wonderful, knowledgable, generous staff. Kelly, Chad, Kevin and Isaac made our stay memorable and all too comfortable. We would highly recommend nThambo to anyone who wants a unique safari experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nthambo is such a special special place. The staff are not staff they're friends. The accommodation is truly out of this world and the game viewing is spectacular. Can't wait to go back again and again and again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlineScEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Once again we had an absolutely amazing time with the Nthambo team, great sightings, great food and many more memories, it has become our flavourite bush retreat, we will be back soon for our 5th visit, thanks guys you really made it an absolute pleasure again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

What a trip, big 5 plus African wild cat inside 3 days! The staff, Kelly, Chad and Kevin made our stay, what great hosts.

The rooms were exactly on the money for a bush lodge with great beds and spectacular views.

This is one of Africa's special places.

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeRalston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had a wonderful 2 night mid week stay at nThambo Tree Camp as part of a press trip. This was my 1st real bush experience and I found it to be unfussy and with unexpected touches of luxury. Chad & Kelly run the place as if it's their home so expect to be very, very comfortable.

It's an intimate resort and you can't possibly get any closer to the bush if you tried. The tree houses are my favourite - I loved laying in bed and taking in all the sounds. The rangers are great - and will answer any and all silly questions you may ask. Oh & did I mention we saw the big 5 over & over (even leopard - several times!).

W

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisaal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Ilets, Martinique
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just wanted to say that my stay at N'Thambo was Wonderful! Thanks to Isaac, the best tracker! And, thanks to Chad & Kevin for all the experience they shared with us! A special thought for Kelly who made our Valentine's day unforgettable.....
Can't wait to go back in the Bush!
Isabelle.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
15.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
2.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#5 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
12.5 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
17.5 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to nThambo Tree Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nThambo Tree Camp

Property: nThambo Tree Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
nThambo Tree Camp is a safari camp located in the Klaserie area of the Kruger Park. The camp offers daily morning and afternoon game drives to view the Big Five. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your nThambo Tree Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nthambo Tree Camp Hotel Klaserie Private Game Reserve
nThambo Tree Camp South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing