We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baobab Ridge, Kruger, South Africa”
Review of Baobab Ridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baobab Ridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a very special place to stay during my trip to South Africa. We saw the big five...three leopards together just after a kill on one occasion! I would certainly recommend a stay here if you are planning a trip to South Africa and want to see the Big Five. David, our guide, is sensational in his tracking skills, knowledge of everything about the park...the wildlife, flora, fauna and the bird life which is abundant and beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Wonderful lodge large and spacious. Fantasic kitchen whether you self cater or spoil yourselves and take a chef. Plentiful game, good walking if you are interested. The flight from Cape Town to Hoedspruit was 2 hours, we were met by Jason a delightful and embracing host, we then enjoyed a 40 minute drive to Baobab Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grapefruitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Baobab Ridge more than met our expections! Accommodation was fantastic with very spacious rooms and bathrooms. The kitchen was professionally kitted out. Jason was an easy going host who knew the area very well. Once in a lifetime game viewing in landies and on guided walks - lion, leopard, wild dog, elephant, rhino, etc etc. All in all a really great experience at a very reasonable price. Great for kids as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_CapeTown7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have just returned home to Cape Town after a really lovely time with family and friends at Baobab Ridge. The Lodge is well laid out and luxurious, the units are beautifully built to blend into the bush and are set out all along perimeter fences and at night you can hear lion / rhino / hyena etc just outside the fences. The staff are friendly and efficient and seem happy to go the extra mile. We loved the game drives with the very knowledgable guides / rangers. It was fantastic to have interesting bush facts pointed out to us and to have all our questions answered.
We loved sitting outside around the fire at the boma at night and having our dinners there. We went with the self-catering option which worked very well for us but i believe the caterers are excellent as well. Thank you Baobab Ridge for an unforgettable stay! We cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and look out over the bush - Just depends how far you want to be from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JProbyn884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Having spent many a time in the bush, Baobab Ridge must be one of the best. What makes it so special is that the people at the lodge are more like friends than staff. They go the extra mile to make your stay truly enjoyable. Along with this, the accommodation is top notch and of course the surrounding bush and game drives outstanding. After an exciting day's game drives what more could you want than to enjoy a glass of wine around the fire listening to the night sounds and enjoying the starry skies as your guide regales you with 'bush' stories. Well worth a visit and I would have no hesitation to recommend Baobab Ridge to anyone. Having spent an unforgettable 3 days there I look forward to my next visit. Well done all at Baobab Ridge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a place you just have to go to, the accommodation was pure luxury, the cottages had windows on all sides so whether sitting in huge comfy chairs that reclined in the lounge area or lying in bed you felt you were in the middle of the bush. Our host Nini was lovely and nothing was to much trouble, all the staff working there were also very helpful. Our guide David was superb and having also been a tracker he was the best I and my friends who I went with have ever had, his knowledge and understanding of the animals behavior was excellent and he never took any risks we all felt in safe hands. He made sure we saw as much as possible which included wild dogs, cheetahs and a pride of lions up very close absolutely amazing. We catered for ourselves in what I can only describe as an amazing kitchen which you would only find in the best restaurants. It was lovely to come back after the late afternoon game drive to have the briaar lit and everything ready for us, having the place to ourselves was fantastic and very relaxing. This is one place I would go back to again and again and can't praise it enough. JJ

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanitaJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

excellent must go to,accomadation luxury.all the staff were very helpful.Jason was away so we had David as our guide for the stay and he was great, felt very safe with him,wow did he know the animals,he knew from a distance when it was safe and not safe.Our host nini was lovely. nothing was to much trouble for them,
it was great being able to cater for ourselves this was very relaxing, having the whole place to ourselves was great.
would go back again and again.
James and Susan

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susang55james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
14.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,896 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
348 reviews
9.2 mi away
Klaserie Sands River Camp
Klaserie Sands River Camp
#3 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
154 reviews
22.3 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 22 in Balule Nature Reserve
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baobab Ridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baobab Ridge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £417 - £903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baobab Ridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baobab Ridge Lodge is a private and intimate lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Private Nature Reserve. The Klaserie Reserve (approximately 60 000 hectares) is part of the Greater Kruger National Park and open to the Kruger National Park and Timbavati Private Nature Reserve. It lies along the western border of the Kruger, with no fencing separating the reserve from the Kruger or the Timbavati; allowing the animals to roam freely between the private game reserves and the Kruger Park. Baobab Ridge is a small and intimate lodge with only 16 beds, situated in the Klaserie. It provides affordable accommodation, in very private, spacious air-conditioned cottages, with an open plan lounge and private terrace. The lodge can also be booked exclusively for up to 16 guests. Guests may see the Big Five, wild dog, cheetah and more! Children from age 6 are welcome at the lodge and if the lodge is booked exclusively we have no age limits! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Baobab Ridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baobab Ridge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing