We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YES YES gomo gomo is as good as they say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
bournemouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“YES YES gomo gomo is as good as they say”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

This is our second time to gomo having visited in October last year and this really is very special .

The location is amazing sat on a water hole where herds of elephant visit daily literally in some instances within touching distance.

The rooms are very clean and very much in keeping with the location with all rooms overlooking the water hole

The game drives are second to none with the rangers always aiming to please . Iwen was our ranger for the week and he could t do enough for us full of great information and his love of the animals and his job is clear to see.

In fact all the rangers are very knowledgeable and always friendly nothing is too much trouble .

If you have families then this is the place we have an 18 year old and an 11 year old and they love the place.

To say my 11 year old daughter is a fussy eater is an understatement but she loves the food it is all home cooked and fresh .

A previous review made reference to nibbles and drinks yes you do get asked what drinks you would like but it's not that difficult to say what you want to drink even if it's a choice of drinks so ignore that review.

At the heart of gomo gomo is the animals we saw all the big 5 and so much more it truly is a little gem we will be back.

Iwen and the whole team deserve much credit for making gomo have a true family appeal and make you feel like you are part of one big safari family .

We will be coming back and I can't recommend this highly enough cheers

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    58
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
107
208
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family of 4 visited this establishment over 4 days in July 2014. My comments below must also be viewed in the context of the very modest price per head that we were charged, inclusive of meals, not drinks.

SERVICE: It is true that the staff were very attentive and aimed to please – a highlight of our experience and a very special thanks to Dean (Talies), Iwan and Ross as well as the trackers for their dedication to their guests!

LOCATION: the lodge itself overlooking its own dam was magnificent as were the views of the dam from the bungalows. Also close to the airport (30 minutes) and to Hoedspruit, so very convenient.

GAME DRIVES: (twice per day) were rewarding (we saw leopard, elephant, buffalo giraffe, white rhino, kudu, impala and ground hornbills) although Timbavati and Klaserie left us disappointed in terms of vistas, terrain, and the lack of variety in terms of birds, buck and other game; so we will not be returning in a hurry. The vehicles themselves, although comfortable, were not all that clean, especially the pouches used for your personal belongings – these were filthy inside, full of leaves and dirt and so you were loathe to put anything therein.

FOOD & MEALS: please bring along snacks for your trip and for your game drives, as outside of meal times there is absolutely nothing to nibble on! Also be very careful to ask your ranger to bring along a variety of beverages you “may feel like” drinking on the game drives, as there is no mercy for those who don’t, even if it to ask for some water, had you not pre-ordered it – this was very strange to me and unacceptable (i.e. that the vehicles did not have the basics on board, such as some water); as regards the game drive snacks, they were just too horrible for words – various basic homemade concoctions of baked flour and the odd packet of crisps; absolutely yak and definitely not a show case of South African hospitality for all the foreign visitors we need so much)! Then the sit-down meals themselves: other than the repeat menu if you stay for more than 3 nights, the starters were actually very nice, BUT that cannot be said of the main dishes and desserts – again the food, mostly cold, was either overdone or dry and….there was very little extra had you wanted some more (in fact if the guests ate more than their allocation, it actually came off what was available for the rangers that shared our meals – this was quite shocking to me and very unprofessional of any such establishment in SA.)

CONCLUSION: Our fondest memories of Gomo Gomo are going to be the rangers!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalows that are nearest to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StefT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We visited twice - once in 2013 once 2012 - we love love love this place and have been to other safaris (in Madikwe and eastern cape) and whilst these were great the drives and actual safari experience didn't compare.

This is a lovely chilled out reserve right in the water - we had amazing animal sightings and lots of fun. I'm now pregnant and therefore not able to take malaria tablets hence we weren't able to go this year and went to a non malaria area instead and as i say we agreed the drives and whole game viewing experience wasnt as good as gomo gomo

Ivan and Johan were our drivers and both were fab - hope to come back once kids old enough!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday_junkie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Everything about Gomo Gomo is great..the staff are amazing and very knowledgable, the animal sightings were incredible even from the deck overlooking the watering hole.
Lots of praise goes to Dean, Tallis and especially Harry and Dom.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walkab0uts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

we are a family of 5 (3 kids aged 10, 9, 7) on our first safari. we had just finished a 2 day self-drive safari right before this. the two experiences were completely different. we saw a lot of animals on the self-drive and many hard-to-find animals in Gomo Gomo. the driver (one of 4 Deans!) and tracker (Dominic) were excellent, friendly, enthusiastic and SO patient with the kids. they love their job! they had great communication with all the other camps in Klaserie, which was so nice to see.
the camp itself was amazing- there was LOTS of food that was really delicious (you know it's good when your kids eat it without complaints!). the people are really friendly. they didn't mind that the kids stayed at the camp while we did the bush walk.
the rooms were perfect- spacious, clean, comfortable and with a crowning touch of a jungle story on our pillow every night, along with a little sweet!
in short, we loved Gomo Gomo! i am indebted to jackie sive for helping me find it! :)
ah, and did i mention how reasonable the cost is?!
i just wish south africa were a little closer!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afroditi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have been coming to GomoGomo since 2002 and were there again with a large group to celebrate one of the participants 50th Birthday, it being the 2nd 50th birthday we celebrated at GomoGomo. Iwan and his staff went out of their way to make this a special stay for all of us including a special sundowner table with lots of bubbles and snacks for the birthday boy.
Over the years we got to know quite a few people of the household staff and upon our arrival we were greeted as if we were family, it is such a comforting feeling to be "back home".
Wildlife viewing was great, including a pack of wild dogs, rhino up close and a very moody elephant, plans to return are made as we speak. Thanks again Iwan and staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AC-Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with a family of 5 (children ages 10,8,6) and could not have been blown more away by the staff, the lodge, the food and the overall experience. Our private cottage was just beautiful...sheik meets camping. Though they are extremely small for intimate experiences, our children were welcomed with opened arms. Our kids were allowed on the included game drives, but were not allowed on the walks. Saying this, the staff was willing to watch our children at the lodge while my husband and I go on the walks. The food/menu, we were all blown away!!!!! Each meal was a set menu consisting of 3 courses for breakfast and dinner and a light lunch. The game drives had homemade snacks and drinks on them and made it memorable. I HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this game lodge and would choose this lodge and would not look anywhere else!!! A hidden gem in the jungle!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArmyFAOwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klaserie Private Game Reserve
15.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
nThambo Tree Camp
nThambo Tree Camp
#5 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.2 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#4 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gomo Gomo Game Lodge

Property: Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gomo Gomo Game Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge is a private and intimate Lodge situated in the prestigious Klaserie Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger National Park, with a common unfenced border. Our traversing area is approximately 6000 hectares (14800 acres) of the reserve offering guests varied landscapes with an excellent possibility of coming face to face with the “ Big 5 “ (lion, leopard, buffalo, elephant and rhino) and numerous othermammals and bird species in their natural habitat.Early morning and late afternoon / evening game drives are conducted in open 4 X 4 Land Rovers with well qualified and experienced field guides and trackers who will ensure an exciting and informative safari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gomo Gomo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gomo Gomo Game Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge South Africa/Klaserie Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing