We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Incredible....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We arrived at Ngala by road transfer from Hoedspruit airport which was a comfortable hour+ drive. On arrival we were greeted by the ever-smiling 'Mama Connie' who ran us through all of our check in paperwork whilst we enjoyed a drink and cold towel. We met our butler Richard who showed us to our suite. The grounds are an oasis with warthogs drinking at the waterhole in the centre of the open grassed area. The public areas are lovely as you can see on the website, plush furnishings and plenty of places to sit back and relax. Unfortunately we didn't spend too much time chilling out as we spent alot of time out driving or eating! No complaints there as it was amazing. As mentioned in other reviews the food is fabulous. We were offered alternative menus for our boys but they chose to eat the main selection with us. We tried ostrich, springbok and kudu during our stay. Every meal was fabulous - it was hard to stop. All of the staff were amazing - friendly, helpful and experts at what they do. We were lucky to have the awesome team of Allyn and Fanny as our ranger and tracker. Allyn was brilliant at engaging each of us throughout the duration of our stay (4 nights) and he and Fanny worked hard to ensure we had an amazing time on safari. Their knowledge was mind blowing and we learnt so much in such a short time. We had incredible sightings and kept long lists on our ipad each night of what we had seen. Nothing was too much trouble - from finding a measuring spoon for some medicine to arranging dinner for the kids in our room after a long day...Ngala blew us away. I was hesitant to spend the money to stay here but it was worth every cent. We all loved our 4 night stay and were sad to leave. Massages are available in your room and I had a lovely one from the lovely Harmony. Kids were also taken into the kitchen one day to do some baking.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Safari Suite - the children had 2 beds made up in the sitting room and their own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millieWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    32
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
138
187
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This is our first ever safari, we spent 2 days here before another 2 days in Dulini lodge. Ngala is bigger in size and more family oriented. We visited in Aug, not their peak season and most of time we only share the jeep with another couple. We were told by the staffs that actually Aug is the best timing to go to safari because of the weather and bushes are not too tall, easier to locate animals.

The game drives were great, our ranger Barney is very experienced guide, he tried hard to make sure we can see most of the animals that we wanted to see . Apart from the big 5, we also saw cheetah mom and cubs which we were told that they are quite rare in the region and Barnery also took us on an exciting drive following a leopard. Dinner venues and food are amazing with nice performance each night. Room is clean and nice. They also have sun bench and a pool but it's not heated, freezing when I jumped in even at noon time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -HK-Davey-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent 4 nights here in August 2012 and we didn't want to leave. The service is out of this world. The food is amazing. The game drives are awesome.
Accommodation - Is 4 star not 5 star, but they have everything you need and you spend so little time in your room, and when you do you're so happy and so tired, it makes little difference. They are closing in Summer 2013 for a full reno, so these rooms will be updated soon. The rooms should also have a mini-bar.
Food - Simply delicious. If it's not right, they'll make it right. The problem is that you eat so much you really pack on the pounds here! You can never ever get hungry or thirsty here, and if you do, they'll fix it!
Game drives - We saw all the Big 5 plus 7 cheetahs in 7 game drives. The reserve is private and so there are maximum 6 or 7 vehicles in 15,000 hectares. They all fan out and then keep in touch about the game that is spotted. The vehicles are Land Cruisers or Rovers, all open top and very modern. You are seated with blankets and even hot water bottles on those chilly mornings. Kyle and Sandros were amazing, highly reccommend asking for them. We were so lucky to get with a great group of people as this really can make or break your trip. 3+ hours in the morning from 6am with a coffee and amarula stop part way through, then back to the Lodge for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea, before setting out for another 3+ hours at 3:30pm. Sundowners around 5:30 really break the ice and make for a lovely stop.
Service - Simply amazing. Dennis is doing a great job here, really keeping guests happy. There is one 'butler' per vehicle, who is in charge of serving you at meals and in between if you need anything. We had Moses, who was the most amazing butler one can hope for. He made our trip extra special. The only one I didn't really connect with was Mama Koney who is the self-proclaimed 'mother' figure of the lodge. I found her to be fake and a bit patronizing. Probably just me though.
Do not hesitate to visit this Lodge. I wish I had something else in Kruger to compare it to, but unfortunately I don't. Let me just say that I can't imagine a better experience. Maybe you'll find better accommodations, but I don't think you'll find a better 'package' with similar attention to detail in each and every area.
Note - This is the same as the Ngala Safari lodge, rated number 2. The tented camp is owned by the same company, is more exclusive and more expensive. We went for a tour, it is really lovely. The tents are OUT OF THIS WORLD, there are only 6 of them. The common areas are small and intimate in a pastel color scheme. This would be a perfect place for a honeymoon. For us, I was glad we chose the lodge, as we loved the open air, traditional safari lodge. Keeping in mind there are still only 20 cottages at Ngala Lodge, you are never overrun by others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlg092012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

Don't eat for weeks before you come here -- the food is excellent and the buffets are immense. When they do a braii you'll want to try all three yummy choices. Because it is a private reserve they can drive their vehicles over small trees to get into the places where the lions are resting and recovering from their battles. Never had done that before. The rooms are lovely. The massage was one of the best ever. The public areas are beautiful and the warthogs wander all over. The hornbills are so cheeky they come into the dining area to get the homemade granola. The only thing that might make somebody (not us) want to miss this place is that it has a kid's program and a lot of families.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Emilion, France
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was by far the most exciting trip I have taken. The Ngala Lodge is amazing, the staff is super friendly. They make the best Crunches I have ever had and they even gave me the recipe. I went with a group of girlfriends and we all had an amazing time. We saw the big 5 and much more. The rooms were beautiful the food was incredible. You get picked up early in the morning by a guy with a rifle, which had us a tad worried but its standard practice. You have a tea with lots of bread choices then go out to catch the sunrise, the driver will then take you to a beautiful spot for another tea and nibbles then you tour a bit more then taken back for lunch. After lunch you have a choice to do nothing or take a walking tour go shopping, pool etc.. then you get an evening jeep tour. Your room is also prepared for you with rose pedals in your bath, candles lit. During the evening tour you stop again for some jerky and other prepared snacks in a beautifully prepared setting. The evening tour is equally fascinating, I dont know how the trackers see what they do. Our tracker found a chameleon in a tree I couldnt even see it with my flashlight. Dinner is served outside with lanterns hanging on all the trees it is just beautiful. I cant even describe the feeling you get when the animals come right up to the jeep especially the lion, their beauty their fierceness right there at arms reach. It should definitely be on everyone's bucket list.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank synthiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The experience started from the very begining and before the arrival... the air trip to go there was with a small(one engine) aircraft! A customed Land Rovel Jeep was waiting at the airport for us! The lodge was what you were thinking that must be. Perfectly embodied in the nature and the landscape. Very nice, cosy and atmospheric rooms.Very helpful stuff! The animals were everywhere! Even and in the lodge. But with no security problems... Tea time at the savana. Star night-watching and a lot of experiences for a lifetime. If you can afford it you must live it...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikolas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

A friend and i stayed at Ngala for two nights, when we arrived at the Lodge our bags were taken to our room, After the Dennis the Camp Manager showed us around we got shown our room, instead of our Standard Suite, they upgraded us to the Safari Suite which was awesome! The staff is what made the stay great! Thank you very much Kaitlyn, Dennis, Nat, Kyle and Barney! Hope to visit again soon!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0202CarlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
15.9 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#14 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
9.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
42.9 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing