We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one thing that was not exceptional!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not one thing that was not exceptional!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ngala is a DREAM. The service there was the best we have ever seen anywhere! The welcoming staff - all of them - are genuine, warm and always smiling. Each family is 'assigned' a butler, tracker and ranger. So for us - Silence, Joseph and Rhett were the BEST companions for our stay of 3 nights there! Silence magically appeared to know what we wanted each time we went up for a meal. Joseph was an excellent tracker - do NOT know how he sees tracks when we are traveling and bumping through the bush!! And Rhett was just an amazingly happy, energetic, knowledgeable young man who loved what he did and shared a lot of info in a very entertaining way! If he did not know the answer - he found out and reported the next time we met!! Of COURSE we saw the big five and much much more on our drives. (6 drives in total). Do NOT miss or give up going on a drive. Just the experience of being out in the jungle and the little tidbits of knowledge are so worth it - never mind that you ALWAYS see exciting animals in their natural habitats. And Rhett focused on the whole kit and caboodle - animals, plants, ecology, fecal matter differentiation:-) It was amazing!!
The food was exceptional. There was a mid-drive snack/drink morning and evening and one morning there was even a pancake breakfast set up in the middle of the bush with a griddle and everything! Connie was a wonderful hostess and the cooks are AMAZING!
you CANNOT go wrong by going to Ngala~ I hope we get to go again!

Room Tip: We actually stayed at the lodge so both rooms 1 and 2 were great - the first and second ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
144
195
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I will remember this experience vividly for the rest of my life. From the moment our bush plan had to abort landing because an elephant decided to saunter across the dirt runway, I knew we were in for something more than just special. The accommodation were beautiful cabins tucked away just far enough from the main lodge to make you feel like you were away into the bush. The food was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to make our experience the best it could be. Dylan even followed a pack of rarely seen African Wild Dogs as they hunted (and devoured) impala.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were two couples travelling together and booked our literally UNFORGETABLE Experience with &Beyond, Our three nights at Ngala game reserve could not have been better, from our Sweet African Mama Connie, Stephen, Moses our personal butler, and most importantly our guide Rhett and Joe, who were all AMAZING to say the least. The Food was OUTSTANDING, the service impeccable, the rooms were so clean (which was so important for us), and the attention to detail they gave us all made this experience so memorable. Every day we were able to give our laundry which was done in the same day and so clean, each day we had a different dinner location, each so special, and on every safari we had a picnic in a more amazing spot than the first (with amazing food as well)!

We were so lucky to have seen the BIG FIVE in one day and even more so to be paired with Rhett and Joe, who were just the best!

Despite the lodge surpassing our expectations, we understood that they are planning to renovate for next year, meaning it will be even better than when we were there!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND A SAFARI, even more so at Ngala, and with &Beyond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I are from the US but currently live and work in Nigeria and decided to take our first safari last week. After several recommendations from friends we decided on Ngala and to use the &Beyond service. Our overall experience was very good. We enjoyed Ngala, Andrew (guide) and Sam (tracker) were great and made our experience very memorable. We saw everything we wanted to see and so much more! We had a massage and Eve was very good. The food is amazing! All of the meals were really great and the suprises pancake breakfast on the trail, so fun! I do agree with some of the other reviews that the accommodations are getting a bit dated, worn and weathered and are in desperate need of an upgrade but honestly you are in the middle of nowhere and there is running hot water, gourmet food, good wine and internet what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Any room facing the water hole was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vitaminDseeker
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We travelled as a family of four (two adults and two teenagers) Oct 12-16 and stayed in the Safari suite. From the moment we stepped foot onto the property and into our rooms we knew we had made an excellent choice. The staff are exceptional. From Connie making us feel welcome at every turn, to our butler Noel who looked after all our needs, to Stephen who iced our vodka and located cheetahs for us, to our excellent ranger Erich and his eagle eyed tracker Innocent -- no detail was overlooked. We couldn't have imagined a better trip!

The Safari suite was, in our opinion, first class. Gorgeous bedrooms, stunning bathrooms with floor to ceiling glass outdoor walled showers to our private pool frequently visited by baboons, bush bucks and warthogs for a sip of water.

In a nutshell this lodge's attention to detail and genuine concern for their guests was nothing short of exemplary. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a spectacular trip. It's not inexpensive but more than worth every penny.

This experience will be one we will cherish for a lifetime!

Bravo to &Beyond!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Safari Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vitaminDseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Prior to arriving at Ngala Safari Lodge we'd spent 4 excellent days at Kirkman's. We were a little brought down to earth by Ngala but not their fault, Kirkman's was excellent and our guide there, Lennox, really made our stay. So Ngala Safari were up against it from the start! Having said that you really couldn't fault Ngala except perhaps for our guide (who I won't name), his heart was really elsewhere during our trip, Brazil I think. The accommodation, like Kirkman's, was basic ++ but we're not for looking luxury on camps (except a decent hair-dryer for my wife would have helped). The game drives were equally as good as Kirkman's, plenty of everything they promised. Perhaps the one thing that let Ngala down was not being as personal as Kirkman's, it seems a larger establishment and consequently you felt more like one of the crowd.
Overall though &Beyond can't really be faulted for the experience they deliver, they are a truly professional team of people who really know what they are doing and how deliver the ultimate safari experience, I this regard they can't be recommended highly enough - they really are magic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WurlitzerOMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We traveled as part of a group of 15 in late August (late winter in South Africa). Our four days at Ngala followed visits to Johannesburg and Cape Town. What a contrast to go from busy cities to the middle of nowhere! Our ride from the airport to Ngala took about an hour. Almost immediately, we began seeing exotic animals along the road. While stopped at the gates to Krueger, we were entertained by a steady stream of baboons crossing the road. We were met at the entrance of Ngala by the manager who offered us warm wash clothes and glasses of mimosas. Each couple had their own thatch roofed hut with a covered porch. Huts were locked with several latches to prevent the baboons from entering and causing chaos. Interior quite luxurious and comfortable. Only complaint was that it was a little too dimly lit. Mornings started with a wake up knock at about 6. We stumbled to the meeting area (guided by guards to protect us from any roaming wildlife) for coffee and biscotti and then began the first game drive which lasted about 3-4 hours. Very knowledgeable guide and tracker. Game drive was paused for delicious granola treats and coffee and Amarulla. We saw the Big Five within 36 hours of our arrival. Clean up time after the drive and then breakfast. A couple of hours for a nature walk or just relaxing and then an amazingly delicious lunch and whatever one chose to drink. Mid afternoon was the second daily game drive (also broken up by Happy Hour in the bush) and then dinner at around 8. Dinner was always special - either by location or with entertainment and of course exceptional food. In summary, a magical interlude with unforgettable experiences. Ngala was one of those high point in my life times (along with The Great Barrier Reef and rafting through the Grand Canyon).

Room Tip: Not a problem - all huts are private and well kept. If one has limited mobility, that should be ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
14.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
392 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
678 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
607 reviews
11.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing