We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally excellent the most perfect place ever”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had the great fortune for staying here for 5 nights, it is an absolute dream. We got there really late and we were pretty exhausted, from then on everything was effortless we were greeted, a few guys took our bags and another parked the car. Our amazing butler called Given sorted a bit of dinner for us when we arrived. The next day we got up for a game drive, we met our ranger and tracker, the great combo that is called Steve and Norman, top chaps, totally brilliant at what they do, we saw leopards everyday!!! Each game driver was amazing, we saw leopards, lions, elephants, buffalo, lots of birds and had a really cool night drive. The food was amazing, 5* all the way and really cool ways of presenting and really exciting ways of having dinner!! we were totally spoilt Thank you so much to the Ngala family x

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect. This is a little tip on getting there - if you have a sat nav you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Ngala Safari Lodge as part of a group touring Southern Africa.
The accommodation was very comfortable in individual huts with en-suites. The meals were delicious and the safaris provided on Ngala's own reserve were excellent with informative commentary provided by the expert guides. Each time we travelled in the 4WD vehicles we encountered many animals, including the "Big 5".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ngala is a DREAM. The service there was the best we have ever seen anywhere! The welcoming staff - all of them - are genuine, warm and always smiling. Each family is 'assigned' a butler, tracker and ranger. So for us - Silence, Joseph and Rhett were the BEST companions for our stay of 3 nights there! Silence magically appeared to know what we wanted each time we went up for a meal. Joseph was an excellent tracker - do NOT know how he sees tracks when we are traveling and bumping through the bush!! And Rhett was just an amazingly happy, energetic, knowledgeable young man who loved what he did and shared a lot of info in a very entertaining way! If he did not know the answer - he found out and reported the next time we met!! Of COURSE we saw the big five and much much more on our drives. (6 drives in total). Do NOT miss or give up going on a drive. Just the experience of being out in the jungle and the little tidbits of knowledge are so worth it - never mind that you ALWAYS see exciting animals in their natural habitats. And Rhett focused on the whole kit and caboodle - animals, plants, ecology, fecal matter differentiation:-) It was amazing!!
The food was exceptional. There was a mid-drive snack/drink morning and evening and one morning there was even a pancake breakfast set up in the middle of the bush with a griddle and everything! Connie was a wonderful hostess and the cooks are AMAZING!
you CANNOT go wrong by going to Ngala~ I hope we get to go again!

Room Tip: We actually stayed at the lodge so both rooms 1 and 2 were great - the first and second ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I will remember this experience vividly for the rest of my life. From the moment our bush plan had to abort landing because an elephant decided to saunter across the dirt runway, I knew we were in for something more than just special. The accommodation were beautiful cabins tucked away just far enough from the main lodge to make you feel like you were away into the bush. The food was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to make our experience the best it could be. Dylan even followed a pack of rarely seen African Wild Dogs as they hunted (and devoured) impala.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were two couples travelling together and booked our literally UNFORGETABLE Experience with &Beyond, Our three nights at Ngala game reserve could not have been better, from our Sweet African Mama Connie, Stephen, Moses our personal butler, and most importantly our guide Rhett and Joe, who were all AMAZING to say the least. The Food was OUTSTANDING, the service impeccable, the rooms were so clean (which was so important for us), and the attention to detail they gave us all made this experience so memorable. Every day we were able to give our laundry which was done in the same day and so clean, each day we had a different dinner location, each so special, and on every safari we had a picnic in a more amazing spot than the first (with amazing food as well)!

We were so lucky to have seen the BIG FIVE in one day and even more so to be paired with Rhett and Joe, who were just the best!

Despite the lodge surpassing our expectations, we understood that they are planning to renovate for next year, meaning it will be even better than when we were there!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND A SAFARI, even more so at Ngala, and with &Beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I are from the US but currently live and work in Nigeria and decided to take our first safari last week. After several recommendations from friends we decided on Ngala and to use the &Beyond service. Our overall experience was very good. We enjoyed Ngala, Andrew (guide) and Sam (tracker) were great and made our experience very memorable. We saw everything we wanted to see and so much more! We had a massage and Eve was very good. The food is amazing! All of the meals were really great and the suprises pancake breakfast on the trail, so fun! I do agree with some of the other reviews that the accommodations are getting a bit dated, worn and weathered and are in desperate need of an upgrade but honestly you are in the middle of nowhere and there is running hot water, gourmet food, good wine and internet what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Any room facing the water hole was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We travelled as a family of four (two adults and two teenagers) Oct 12-16 and stayed in the Safari suite. From the moment we stepped foot onto the property and into our rooms we knew we had made an excellent choice. The staff are exceptional. From Connie making us feel welcome at every turn, to our butler Noel who looked after all our needs, to Stephen who iced our vodka and located cheetahs for us, to our excellent ranger Erich and his eagle eyed tracker Innocent -- no detail was overlooked. We couldn't have imagined a better trip!

The Safari suite was, in our opinion, first class. Gorgeous bedrooms, stunning bathrooms with floor to ceiling glass outdoor walled showers to our private pool frequently visited by baboons, bush bucks and warthogs for a sip of water.

In a nutshell this lodge's attention to detail and genuine concern for their guests was nothing short of exemplary. I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a spectacular trip. It's not inexpensive but more than worth every penny.

This experience will be one we will cherish for a lifetime!

Bravo to &Beyond!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Safari Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitaminDseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
460 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
650 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
455 reviews
14.3 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £287 - £1,452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing