We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most perfect destination ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most perfect destination ever”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I always wanted to see the Big 5. My wife and I were recommended by friends to go with AndBeyond and we loved the destination. Food, people, security, comfort and relaxation in a Safari experience. Yes, all the Big 5 were there and we only needed 3 nights to see them all.
Even if we couldn't see all of them, the experience was unique, the cuisine was amazing and all staff, from reception to rangers and trackers, helped us enjoy the best experience we could have ever imagined.

Room Tip: Rooms facing back have higher probability to score morning sites of baboons, bushboks and warthogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazzaneoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    33
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
146
197
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

After spending three nights in another Private Game Reserve in Londolozi in Sabi Sands and then two nights in Kruger National Park, I checked into Ngala Lodge. The wildlife viewing was difficult. It was the hot summer season and all the bush was overgrown so spotting was challenging. However, I had more success at Sabi Sands and in the park itself. If you're looking for super modern amenities like a cell signal, coffee maker, refrigerator, or in-room internet, this is not the place to go. If you're looking for a private terrace overlooking something beautiful while sipping coffee in your robe, this is also shouldn't be your first choice. However, the staff and the food made it extremely appealing. The grounds are not breathtaking. I was traveling solo, but a couple or family might have found the place to be very relaxing and low-key.

The staff was exceedingly pleasant and all addressed me by name. Few requests were unmet.

As for the wildlife, we did see five cheetah - something that evaded me the prior six nights at other places. That made it worth it. However, we never saw the breadth of wildlife that I experienced elsewhere. It had suddenly gotten very hot (at one point 45 degrees celsius) so being outside during the day time was pretty miserable for an American addicted to A/C. Our guide and trekker were very gracious and wanted us to have a great time.

There were a few inconveniences: a bug in a bottle of sherry left in my room that was never replaced, a broken safe that was never replaced, and transportation back to Hoedspruit that caused me to miss my flight to CPT.

All in all, if you're looking to be 'wowed' by a resort-like setting in the bush, I would choose staying in Sabi Sands. If you're looking to be in a remote area completely disconnected from the outside world, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aircal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had the great fortune for staying here for 5 nights, it is an absolute dream. We got there really late and we were pretty exhausted, from then on everything was effortless we were greeted, a few guys took our bags and another parked the car. Our amazing butler called Given sorted a bit of dinner for us when we arrived. The next day we got up for a game drive, we met our ranger and tracker, the great combo that is called Steve and Norman, top chaps, totally brilliant at what they do, we saw leopards everyday!!! Each game driver was amazing, we saw leopards, lions, elephants, buffalo, lots of birds and had a really cool night drive. The food was amazing, 5* all the way and really cool ways of presenting and really exciting ways of having dinner!! we were totally spoilt Thank you so much to the Ngala family x

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect. This is a little tip on getting there - if you have a sat nav you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at Ngala Safari Lodge as part of a group touring Southern Africa.
The accommodation was very comfortable in individual huts with en-suites. The meals were delicious and the safaris provided on Ngala's own reserve were excellent with informative commentary provided by the expert guides. Each time we travelled in the 4WD vehicles we encountered many animals, including the "Big 5".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ngala is a DREAM. The service there was the best we have ever seen anywhere! The welcoming staff - all of them - are genuine, warm and always smiling. Each family is 'assigned' a butler, tracker and ranger. So for us - Silence, Joseph and Rhett were the BEST companions for our stay of 3 nights there! Silence magically appeared to know what we wanted each time we went up for a meal. Joseph was an excellent tracker - do NOT know how he sees tracks when we are traveling and bumping through the bush!! And Rhett was just an amazingly happy, energetic, knowledgeable young man who loved what he did and shared a lot of info in a very entertaining way! If he did not know the answer - he found out and reported the next time we met!! Of COURSE we saw the big five and much much more on our drives. (6 drives in total). Do NOT miss or give up going on a drive. Just the experience of being out in the jungle and the little tidbits of knowledge are so worth it - never mind that you ALWAYS see exciting animals in their natural habitats. And Rhett focused on the whole kit and caboodle - animals, plants, ecology, fecal matter differentiation:-) It was amazing!!
The food was exceptional. There was a mid-drive snack/drink morning and evening and one morning there was even a pancake breakfast set up in the middle of the bush with a griddle and everything! Connie was a wonderful hostess and the cooks are AMAZING!
you CANNOT go wrong by going to Ngala~ I hope we get to go again!

Room Tip: We actually stayed at the lodge so both rooms 1 and 2 were great - the first and second ones on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I will remember this experience vividly for the rest of my life. From the moment our bush plan had to abort landing because an elephant decided to saunter across the dirt runway, I knew we were in for something more than just special. The accommodation were beautiful cabins tucked away just far enough from the main lodge to make you feel like you were away into the bush. The food was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to make our experience the best it could be. Dylan even followed a pack of rarely seen African Wild Dogs as they hunted (and devoured) impala.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were two couples travelling together and booked our literally UNFORGETABLE Experience with &Beyond, Our three nights at Ngala game reserve could not have been better, from our Sweet African Mama Connie, Stephen, Moses our personal butler, and most importantly our guide Rhett and Joe, who were all AMAZING to say the least. The Food was OUTSTANDING, the service impeccable, the rooms were so clean (which was so important for us), and the attention to detail they gave us all made this experience so memorable. Every day we were able to give our laundry which was done in the same day and so clean, each day we had a different dinner location, each so special, and on every safari we had a picnic in a more amazing spot than the first (with amazing food as well)!

We were so lucky to have seen the BIG FIVE in one day and even more so to be paired with Rhett and Joe, who were just the best!

Despite the lodge surpassing our expectations, we understood that they are planning to renovate for next year, meaning it will be even better than when we were there!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND A SAFARI, even more so at Ngala, and with &Beyond.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
689 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
615 reviews
7.3 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Property: andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing