We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break away from city life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Ngala is a great break from the hustle and bustle of city life. The lodge is situated in the Timbavati GamecPark. The big 5 can be seen in the park. The lodge provides 2 Game drives per day. Food is delicious, and always a full spread available. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. Rooms are very clean and always tidied after you have been there. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our guide and spotter was jimmy and elliot and they showed us the the big 5 in one day. Their knowledge of the bush is excellent Would recommend Ngala to anyboby !

Room Tip: Note there is no phone coverage at the lodge
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Firstly, sincere apologies to Jayne Smith (our booking agent - more on her later) for getting this review up....

We stopped in Ngala Lodge from Sunday 25th - Wednesday 28th as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. This is the second time that I've stopped with &Beyond - the time before was in the Maasai Mara in Kenya. For anyone contemplating a safari experience, the first thing that I would say is don't scrimp and save by going for the cheap option. You will really be short changed. The larger company's (i.e. &Beyond) have the necessary vehicles, refreshments, comfort, skill and experience to really make the trip a once in a lifetime. The staff @ &Beyond were great and tended to our every need. We were assigned a driver (Elliot) who's incredibly skilled and knowledgable about the area; our own waiter (Colly) was a true gentleman.... Herbert the manager was equally as friendly. And the food was amazing! The safari itself was magical... We managed to see all of the 'big 5' (something that alluded me on my previous trip to the Maasai Mara). One thing we wished we'd invested in beforehand was a better camera - certainly something to bear in mind! Be sure to tell &Beyond if you're celebrating a special occasion!

All in all a great experience. A brief word about our tour operator Jayne.... Jayne (who works for &Beyond) organised all of our trip, tailoring what we were looking for to our exact requirements. There were a couple of minor hiccups (that certainly weren't Jayne's responsibility) but she took it upon herself to get everything sorted - really going 'above and beyond' the call of duty. She gave us some good advice of how to spend the end of our trip too!

Many thanks to everyone @ &Beyond for a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidandEmmaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We absolutely loved our experience at Ngala from the moment that our guide, Jennifer met us at the airstrip to the moment that she and Elvis, our tracker dropped us back at the airstrip and waved us goodbye. Jennifer and Elvis were a terrific team and we saw an abundance of lions, leopards, elephants, giraffe and buffalo.
Our little bungalow was terrific and we loved the electric blankets on cold evenings. the food was terrific - make sure to try an omelet at breakfast, and the whole staff was very helpful. I had left my camera battery charger in Cape Town and Steven tried diligently to find one for me and even phoned ahead to Kirkman's, our second location, to j quire about one for me there.
Ngala was a terrific experience- more than we could have asked for. the first evening we witnessed a terrific lion love triangle in the bush!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment we entered the grounds, even before we saw our lovely room, we were in love with Ngala! The feel of an safari era from times past, but with modern elegance and amenities.
The room was splendidly furnished with wonderful design. The bathroom does not disappoint either! We absolutely loved our lodge in every way! Let's talk game drives......Amy is clearly the best ranger we have ever had! I can think of nothing but wonderful things to say about her. And along with Fanny, our tracker, every game drive was exciting and we saw unbelievable wildlife. Now those of you familiar with safari, you already know that seeing leopard, cheetah or wild dog can be a hard find, in fact a privilege to view. But not with Amy! We saw several sightings of leopard, 2 cheetah , as well as all of the Big Five. But the highlight might just be the last morning drive when we were extremely honored to sit at the den of the Alpha Male Wild Dog as he guarded the numerous puppies, acting as such! I thought how lucky I surely must be. It was fun and a very special time indeed as they romped and played. Great videos indeed! The food service and attendant Noel was a beautiful soul and a charming smile! You must chose Ngala Safari Lodge and be sure you insist that you have Amy, Fanny and Noel attend to your lodge and safari requests! I highly suggest that this place you will NOT be disappointed on any level! Thank you Ngala, we loved every minute with all of you! Vicki & Terri USA

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SeeTheWorldMiami_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our ranger Barney and tracker Arab were wonderful. On the first drive, we saw wild dogs, elephants, rhinos and leopards plus many other of the more numerous animals. The highlight was on our second drive where we watched a pride of lions hunt a large herd of buffalo, from near the beginning to end. Barney explained how the hunt worked and it unfolded just as he explained with the lions surrounding the buffalo, dividing the herd, circling the partial herd and finally going for a kill. We were so close!! Hard to top this. In addition we saw many other animals including two cheetah and even a bush baby.

The service was excellent and the food delicious and bountiful. We even had a breakfast of banana crepes out in the bush. It was fun to watch wart hogs on the lawn as we had lunch and watch baboons and monkeys play on our porch. The accommodations were very comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SandcastleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This place was absolutely amazing from our arrival and meeting our "African Mama", who was so very sweet, to our beautiful room. As others have written, there is no real view from your room but, it is a beautiful place to come back to and relax between safari drives. The drives are cold in the morning so you will need to bring a coat, ear muffs and gloves or things you normally wear to stay warm during the winter. Our guide, Andrew, was by far one of the best and most knowledgeable guides we've ever had. I will most certainly ask for him when we go back to visit this area of beautiful Africa. The food is delicious and the atmosphere of the dinners at night was impeccable-in the middle of a game reserve (AMAZING)!

Room Tip: This is a safari lodge and the rooms are absolutely beautiful and very comfortable
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at Ngala Safari Lodge for 3 nights with our teenaged 2 daughters. The service was excellent and our ranger Jennifer and tracker Elvis managed to show us the BIg 5 in just 3 game drives even though the animals were not in abundance as compared to East Africa. The jungle was dry in the winter and the morning drives were chilly in the open jeeps but we had blankets and hot water bottles to keep us warm. Our rooms were close by together - charming but with no real view - more a place to rest rather than lounge about. The public areas were lovely and overlooking a waterhole. We are a vegetarian family and the chef made great efforts but I must say the food was not the highlight. The salads on the buffets were very good, but main courses lacked in quality. House keeping was excellent and I loved that the laundry was included. Overall a highly recommended property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mamta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,753 reviews
14.6 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
200 reviews
14.3 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
701 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £187 - £1,307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romance and mystery of Africa come alive in 20 thatched cottages tucked under a dense canopy of tamboti trees at Ngala Safari Lodge. Exuding classical safari charm, the spacious veranda, with its wonderfully comfortable armchairs, looks out onto a popular waterhole. For pure indulgence, the Safari Suite offers an elegant sitting room, private swimming pool and exclusive use of a safari vehicle. Mouth-watering meals are served in the shade of an enormous weeping boerbean tree, while a large swimming pool lies on the edge of thick riverine woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Safari Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge Ngala Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing