We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could give it 10 stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I don't even know where to begin to explain how PERFECT our stay was here. It is worth every penny. The staff is off the charts which for me is the reason why I loved our stay as much as I did. Our butler, David, was HILARIOUS and paid attention to every little detail (remembered our likes and dislikes). One morning he even surprised us with breakfast by the hippo watering hole. Spectacular. Our tracker and guide, Richard and Lee Ann, were fabulous at tracking down all animals that we wanted to see. Their knowledge on the area and the animals is incredible and you just know that the passion is there. My mother did get a massage and enjoyed that as well. My stay here is the only reason why I would think to come back to Africa. I will NEVER stay anywhere else other than an "andBeyond" resort. I loved it that much and would reccomend it to anyone. This part of the trip was 100% the highlight for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

The tented camp accommodations were perfect. No detail in our "tent" was overlooked. The meals served on the deck were amazing with such a great view. The staff were so attentive to our every need. Our Safari guide and tracker were excellent. We so enjoyed each expedition we experience with them. It is a perfect and intimate place for friends and couples!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeff071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Our trip to a South Africa started here. What a tough act to follow as this hotel is just so perfect in every way. It is so beautiful the pictures just don't show it all. The tents are luxurious , attention has been given to every detail. The outdoor showers are really lovely at night with the sexy led lighting and the stars above. Game drives are so exciting with Derrick and Jonas. These guys are so knowledgable and when they start tracking an animal hold on... Nothing stops them.
The staff does everything possible to make staying here a joyous pleasure from the moment you arrive until they see you safely on your way. Don't miss this more than you can ever imagine experience at Nagala Tented Camp.

Room Tip: There are only 9 tents here. If you are lucky enough to get any of them you will be thrilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our 3 night stay will remain a cherished. travel and holiday experience . From arrival Ito departure we received a very friendly and personalised style of hospitality. The "tents " are extremely spacious and offer luxuries not anticipated . The bathroom and outdoor private shower contribute to the character and the generous mini bar( inclusive) is beyond expectations. Early morning game drives were helped along with the" butler" delivering tea on a tray to the tent prior to departure.
Dining is 5 star . The chef made it his business to explain the evening dinner selection in detail and the wines on offer were excellent.
On our return from game drives we were always greeted with warm towels for our hands and the hot water bottles and rugs all ready for our morning outings were very much appreciated.
Our tracker and guide(Steve and Norman) we're outstanding and we witnessed some amazing animals at close quarters. Ngala offers a personalzed Safari experience ,with the bonus of absolute luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RomaSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at Ngala for three nights with a large group (we had the whole camp exclusively) and were blown away in every area.

The service was fantastic and our guide Derrick was very knowledgable with some great dry humour slipped in! The safari drives were amazing and we saw every animal we wanted to and the full cooked breakfast in the bush was a real treat and we were very impressed with the attention to detail setting it all up.

The food at the camp was exceptional considering the location and was some of the best we ate in South Africa. A nice mix of different cuisines at each meal time.

The room was also very impressive and fitted out very well.

All in all we had an amazing time at Ngala that we will remember forever!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank jjswlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, all inclusive, and had a magical experience. The tents were luxurious, all mod cons and a wonderful outside shower, totally private with hot and cold running water. The food was 5 star and the chef would come to the eating area to tell us the menu, he even made special veggie meals for me. Nothing was too much trouble, ask and it was supplied, if it was possible. All the staff were so friendly, especially our waiter Richard. Our tea was brought to our tent early in the morning (5.15am) and we would go out on safari at 5.45am, one does get used to it! We would normally arrive back around 9am for a wonderful breakfast then relax for the rest of the morning until lunchtime, then out on safari at 4pm, back around 7pm for dinner. Our driver Dylan and tracker Adam were fantastic, we saw leopards, lions, rhino etc, and on our last morning came across a herd of 17 elephants including babies, drinking from waterhole, what a way to end our stay. A holiday never to be forgotten.

Room Tip: All the tented accommodation was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I travelled to South Africa for our honeymoon and started a two week vacation with 3 nights at the Ngala Tented Camp. We were blown away by the friendliness and warm hospitality of all staff at the lodge. The safari experience was our first and the bar has been set very high by Derrick and Jonas for our next safari adventure. They shared their extensive knowledge and really worked hard to show us not only the animals but their process of tracking. The accommodation was beautiful and very comfortable and the food was consistently delicious. My only regret was not staying longer!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robynder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ngala Private Game Reserve
17.3 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
454 reviews
20.7 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
418 reviews
22.5 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
450 reviews
16.6 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
7.5 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 7 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp

Address: Mpumalanga, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Ngala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ngala Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting sophistication and comfort, as well as the romance of canvas, the six luxurious safari tents of andBeyond Ngala Tented Camp overlook the banks of the seasonal Timbavati River. Chic and contemporary, the camp combines the simple sophistication of polished wooden decks, textured fabrics and clean lines with a true safari experience that embodies the heart and soul of the bush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ngala Tented Safari Camp Hotel Ngala Private Game Reserve
AndBeyond Ngala Tented Camp Ngala Private Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing