We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$1,400
View deal
Hotels.comUS$1,400
PricelineUS$1,427
CheapTicketsUS$1,400
Booking.comUS$1,427
Orbitz.comUS$1,400
TravelocityUS$1,400
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
507
36
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
507
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game lodge bush experience white rhino animal sightings exceeded expectations an unforgettable experience five star three nights food was amazing out of this world orlando thornybush guide ranger tracker accommodation africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The big 5 all in the first day ... elephants grazing at the water's edge, brush with a leopard within 1 meter, photos and food galore! An experience of a lifetime!! And ... amazing Grace, the butler. The hospitality and rooms were terrific. Sophisticated nature at its best.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Dutch_traveler_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2017

in the middle of kruger park an island of civilization. comfortable and huge rooms great food and of top of all the two guides who took us moorning and evenning to search for animals in the park and we saw the big five and much more

Room tip: don't miss the tours even it is early in the mornning
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nilly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This is an extraordinary place. The game drives with Grant and Simon were by far the best of our two week trip to Africa and never less than wonderful. We saw great wildlife and Grant was not only familiar with the wildlife but also the flora and fauna. Melanie, Grant and Melanie's staff and our wonderful server Glory made us feel so very welcome- like friends rather than patrons. The food and facilities were excellent. Everything was so thoughtfully considered. For example, properties always encourage reuse of towels for environmental reasons but elsewhere never have sufficient place to spread out towels to dry. By contrast Thornybush had great standalone racks to hang the large plush towels. Our "cabin" had a soaking tub and both an outdoor and an indoor shower. Dinner was served in a number of different locations under the stars on the vast property which was fun and much more interesting than at the same place night after night. We have been on other supposedly 5 star safaris in Africa and India and lots of 5 star resorts but nothing can compare with Thornybush. I originally thought that 4 nights might be too long for a stay but it was much, much too short- I didn't even manage to enjoy the pool or spa or take a bush walk. Even absent the game drives Thornybush would be superlative but of course the game drives are the main reason for visiting and just amazing and the combination is just stupendous!! Our stay was absolutely perfect in every way. Thank you so much!!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnAnthropologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Just completed our 3 day stay at the Game Lodge at Thornybush Game Reserve. We have really good things to say about our experience here.

Firstly the reserve is aptly named; there are a lot of thorny trees and bushes we encountered on all of our game drives. Dodging some of these was probably our only physical exercise during the stay.

Everything else was smooth as silk. The meals were always on time and we must have over eaten on every single occasion. Brekkie was fabulous all three days and the pan seared fish on the first night night's dinner was a masterpiece. On the 3rd night dinner in the wild was also a cool experience as was tasting impala meat. Their chef is really something, I must say.

The Chalet type rooms were nice and comfy. There is an open air shower for each chalet which is quite an experience.

The game drives were fabulous. We saw lions, leopards, elephants, giraffes, buffaloes, rhinos and many other animals out in the reserve. On one such encounter one or two of the lion cubs were exceptionally close to our vehicle and looked like they would almost jump into the vehicle. That was a bit scary but a really cool experience.

Special mention for our ranger Hendrix and his tracker Simon who were absolutely fabulous. Although they must have done this a thousand times, they were always enthusiastic and indeed as keen to show us around the reserve as we were to explore.

All in all, this was a fabulous holiday and we wish the folks at Thornybush the very best

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5  Thank Samanuus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2016

If one is seeking to go on a safari, this is the place to go, and the place to stay. The safari experience was extraordinarily wonderful. We saw all the wild animals we dreamed of seeing, and our rangers and trackers were amazing.

With regard to the lodge, it was fabulous. The management and staff were wonderful. They were friendly and efficient, and attended to our every need. The individual houses were quiet and comfortable with large bathrooms and the best showers we experienced on our trip, and four poster beds with mosquito netting. It was like living in a dream.

The food in the main lodge was absolutely delicious (breakfast, lunch and dinner), and the outdoor setting delightful. Baboons were ever present along with my favorites, the warthogs, and elephants just outside the perimeter fencing.

My wife and I could not recommend this place more highly. Five stars across the board.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Theluckycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews