We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterbuck Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterbuck Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I cannot say enough about what an incredible trip this was. Not only did we see the “Big 5”, we saw all of them at least twice during our 3 days of game drives, as well as elephants mating, lions roaring and hyenas killing and eating their prey. Hannes (ranger) and Vusi (tracker) are so knowledgeable and passionate about what they do. We all agreed we had the best ranger/tracker team in the reserve. In addition, the hospitality we received from the staff at the lodge as well as the meals we were served were outstanding. Having traveled extensively in the U.S. and internationally, I can honestly say this is the new highlight of my travels, truly the “trip of a lifetime”. I will be recommending Waterbuck to all my friends and family and hope to return myself someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EileenDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hello Eileen,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our lodge, we are very happy that you enjoyed it so much and hope so see you soon! Thank you for taking the time to write a review so that other potential guests can see what kind of service we provide.

Warm regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I didn't want to leave! This was the trip of a lifetime!! I traveled with 4 friends and we had the Waterbuck Lodge to ourselves. The accommodations, staff and food were all excellent. The drives were beyond anything I could have imagined. Although I have nothing to compare it to, I have to believe that our Ranger, Hannes, was the absolute best as he provided us with the most memorable, unbelievable, gorgeous, fascinating experiences on the drives. We saw more than I could have ever imagined. I would recommend Waterbuck Lodge in a heartbeat and I would go back as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorilamattina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Lorilamttina,

We are very happy you enjoyed your time with us so much, thank you for your positive comments and feedback we're glad you had such a great time with us.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Waterbuck Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay at Waterbuck game lodge from the very friendly and profession staff, the fabulous food, our extremely comfortable villa. the amenities and the amazing game drives made for a never to be forgotten Experience. If you only take one trip in your lifetime, make sure it's to waterbuck game lodge in Africa. We are from Australia and have traveled extensively but agree it's one of our best trip ever. A big thank you to all the staff at Waterbuck but a special mention must go to our amazing tracker Lodrick and the very skilful and knowledgable ranger Gareth who showed us what Africa is all about. Thornybush private reserve certainly put on a show for us with the big five spotted in the first two day and it just got better from then on and I even got my wish of the ever elusive hyena. I can't say enough about this wonderful experience but know that we will definitely return for another Waterbuck adventure some day. Once again, a big thank you to all at Waterbuck for a truly wonderful stay. PS: loved the hot water bottles in our bed on that first chilly night. X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoMelbourne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Hi Jojo, thanks for sharing your experience with us. We really value your comments! All the staff are looking forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Living in Johannesburg, I have been to Waterbuck Game Lodge many times and every time I feel this spot in Africa is truly special. The lodge and staff are amazing, the food superb and the game drives adventurous.
If you want to relax and yet experience the African bush with all its beautiful fauna and flora, this is the place to go to.
Breathtaking sunsets while sipping a sundowner, listening to the mighty lion roar on a night drive, these are just some of the truly amazing experiences you will take home from your visit.
Waterbuck Game Lodge will stay in memory forever and I would highly recommend this piece of Paradise to anyone local and abroad.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Like all the best holidays leave me, I returned home from Waterbuck Game Lodge with a heavy sense of nostalgia. My favourite moment has to be watching a calm female leopard in the glow of the African sky. Just when I thought it could not be topped, we managed to squeeze in a glass of wine as the orange sun dipped below the horizon. The mix of wildlife and hospitality make it the perfect getaway but what really separates this place from others of its kind is its warm staff. We hope to make it an annual visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Amazing lodge with warm and friendly staff, and a bush experience second to none!! I would highly recommend this little slice of African heaven to any travellers - local and abroad.
Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Best bush holiday i've ever been on... The staff are knowledgeable, the wildlife is incredible, Its all round the most peaceful and relaxing holiday i've been on. Whether you go with family, business or friends, this would be a wonderful place to go.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.2 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
9.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
6.8 mi away
N'kaya Lodge
N'kaya Lodge
#10 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbuck Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbuck Game Lodge

Property: Waterbuck Game Lodge
Address: Guernsey Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterbuck Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set on a large watering hole deep in the African bush this amazing lodge awaits your arrival. There are 4 individually set rooms spaced generously apart with a welcoming central lodge area. This area has a bar, lounge, swimming pool and a deck overlooking the waterhole. It is truly a little piece of paradise.Safari's (Game drives) are conducted morning and evening giving our guests a good chance of seeing Africa's famous "Big 5" as well as numerous other species of fauna and floura. These are conducted by extremely knowledgeable and friendly guides anxious to make your experience unforgettable.Please read the comments of our guests below, their words are the best reflection we can give on the experience. Look forward to hosting your African safari experience soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Waterbuck Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbuck Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing