We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Breath Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterbuck Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Breath Elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

One of the best bush breaks we have ever experienced! From the moment you come into contact with the staff of Waterbuck you are made to feel relaxed and comfortable; every aspect taken care. We had the privilege of booking the entire lodge, this was fantastic and made it even more homely. The food is out of this world! The attention to detail is impeccable, and when you are not busy tracking leopard and lion you are nibbling away at THE best cheese cake ever. As for the ice-coffee, my mouth is watering as I type! We were there over one of the coldest weekends and to get back from an evening drive to be greeted with Amarula hot chocolate is fantastic!

We spent one evening tracking mating leopards off-road, an experience that I cannot contain in words! We have to thank our guide Hannes for incredible knowledge and expertise! I cannot fault a thing about Waterbuck. You all went out of your way to make our stay an unforgettable one!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian T, Owner at Waterbuck Game Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Johberg_Diner

The team at Waterbuck is very happy you loved your time with us so much. Booking the entire lodge is an very special experience, it feels like you own the place! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This lodge is excellent. Gareth and Tarryn provided warm hospitality and Lodrick's tracking and Gareth's expertise led to excellent game viewing. Although we were not ticking boxes as we just enjoy being in the bush, we were treated to the big five and many unusual sitings within two days. Aardvark to zebra, but the three cavorting leopard cubs were the hightlight! The accommodation is luxurious but not excessive. The food was both hearty and creative. Limited to four rooms so never crowded or commercialised. Perfect bush experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our week at Waterbuck was magical, my second visit and certainly not my last. The staff are some of the best I have encountered in my extensive travels around the world. Hannes and Loderick ensured each game drive provided a wide variety of sightings from the big five to the smallest creatures. Hannes has an encyclopedic knowledge and his love of Africa is evident in his handling of even the most unusual creatures.
Anita and Tarryn ensure the Lodge runs smoothly and Antoinette and her staff consistently provided wonderful beautifully presented food.
Looking forward to my return....each season brings a different experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fittraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Yet another amazing experience to see the animals,flora and fauna of this beautiful place,the quality of the lodge is top drawer from the accommodation to the food to the game drives and the knowledge and skills of Hannes and Loderick,the attention to detail of Anita and Tarryn and the sincerity of the staff has to be experienced.Each season brings a different experience so we will be back soon.After many visits I still love this place and cannot wait to return.!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterpascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We've stayed at Waterbuck on two separate occasions and each trip was memorable. From the minute you step onto the welcome deck, this African Bush experience will make you want to come back for more.

The rooms are very authentic and comfortable; the bath-tub looking out into the wilderness is great and so is the outside shower. The food, throughout the day, is delicious and typical of South African cuisine.

The game drives set this place apart! The knowledgeable and friendly guides and trackers will keep you excited with expectation at each turn and the sightings, from chameleons in trees to leopard kills, will keep you wanting more.

This is certainly a place we will visit again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I've been to over 50 countries around the world and my trip to Waterbuck was my second safari. (My first being to the same lodge frequented by the likes of Prince William and Ralph Lauren.) My overall experience at Waterbuck was absolutely spectacular. The staff make you feel more like family and with only four rooms, you can easily do a "buy out" and have the lodge all to yourself. We celebrated a friend's 50th birthday and it couldn't have been more perfect. The facilities are beautiful and the game sightings were spectacular. I would go back in a heartbeat and would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone looking for an unforgetable safari experience.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms and they're all basically identical. You can't go wrong with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had an absolutely amazing time here. All the extra special little touches added up to a huge wow of an experience. Hannes and Vusi worked really well together tracking the prints and ensuring we saw all the animals. The afternoon tea had a refreshing and fresh salad, nice assortment of cheese and crackers and a delicious dessert. Loved the outdoor showers, it felt like I was on Survivor. Loved being able to see the antelope and monkeys outside from my balcony. Beds were really comfortable. Snacks on the drives were tasty and the brunch and dinners were filling. Love the updates on Facebook. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeniffer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.2 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
9.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterbuck Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterbuck Game Lodge

Property: Waterbuck Game Lodge
Address: Guernsey Road, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterbuck Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully set on a large watering hole deep in the African bush this amazing lodge awaits your arrival. There are 4 individually set rooms spaced generously apart with a welcoming central lodge area. This area has a bar, lounge, swimming pool and a deck overlooking the waterhole. It is truly a little piece of paradise.Safari's (Game drives) are conducted morning and evening giving our guests a good chance of seeing Africa's famous "Big 5" as well as numerous other species of fauna and floura. These are conducted by extremely knowledgeable and friendly guides anxious to make your experience unforgettable.Please read the comments of our guests below, their words are the best reflection we can give on the experience. Look forward to hosting your African safari experience soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Waterbuck Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterbuck Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing