We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Serondella Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Serondella Game Lodge offers peace and quiet in the middle of wild nature. Vervet monkeys knock at your door, and antilopes graze in your yard. The expertise of the ranger was astounding. Unbelievable knowledge of birds on top of his experience of bigger animals.The quiet kindness of the hostess was heartwarming - not to talk about her cooking.
A place to relax, and learn about nature 5/5+ points.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
164
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

After a meeting in Cape Town five couples from Europe, North America and one from Cape Town came together for a once in a lifetime experience at Serondella. The total experience could not have been better. First one comes to see the animals, and see them we did. We sat in the bush in our land rover surrounded by a herd of elephants -- giant females to small babies. We also spend one and a half hour tracking a young male leopard thru the bush as he eventually tried to catch an impala, only to lose. What a shame! You name it and we saw it in the twice daily three hour drives thru the bush. To make this happen one needs great support staff and here Serondella was amazing. Charel seemed to know everything about the animals. He was an expert on birds, could recite tale after tale about our four footed friends as well. Combined with Jefferey our tracker and all was possible, The reserve is crisscrossed by a series of dirt roads and it was amazing to see Charel leave the road and head into the bush, pushing over small trees with the Land Rover -- anything to make sure we saw the animal we were tracking.
Back at the Lodge all was of an equal character. Mich managed a great shop, the food was supreme, and Truth at the bar was as pleasant as could be hoped for. Let me return to the food the chef was a genius! Nothing else needs to be said.
Finally there were the separate rooms -- comfortable, clean, and quiet.
This is a unique destination to be savored. If this type of trip that tickles your fancy Serondella is the place to go.

Room Tip: Go there -- you will love it! By the way all rooms are great. Two face the pond and some of you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Although we live on the other side of the world and visited here a couple of years ago as a once in a lifetime trip we couldnt help but come back with more family!
The things you see, the accommodation, the personalised service, and the food is all beyond comparison.
We had lovely hosts again in Mich and Charel and Godsave is still there cooking up all kinds of delicious treats in between the amazing game drives.
The big 5 is a given and if you like birding then Charel is excellent, we even found some rare birds thought to not be in the Kruger region!

Thanks again for another amazing stay:)

Room Tip: The Family suite is perfect if you are bringing the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank perthguy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Such a perfect way to end our African holiday -- a beautiful four star resort - without any other civilisation around for miles - to truly unwind and enjoy the African scenery and wildlife. My friend and I enjoyed being one of only two groups in total at the lodge which meant the staff at Serondella tailored everything to us. Mich and Charel are a lovely host couple - so friendly, intelligent and so great to spend hours talking to. They spend great care on the little details that make a stay so perfect - from warm hand cloths to welcome you back from game drives, to putting the mosquito nets and cooling your home for you before you get back.

The scenery and wildlife in Thornybush is amazing and Charel ensured we got to see everything we wanted to at least once before we left.

An experience I'll never forget and I highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank naomifoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The best way to end our holiday in Africa. Mich and Charel are amazing hosts and have quite a few amusing stories to tell. The food was awesome and the game drives are indescribable. Thanks to the whole team at Serondella we had a fantastic time.

Room Tip: Family suite is huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What an incredible lodge!!! Serendella is a hidden jewel among the Thorynbush properties. Upon arrival, my wife and I were met by Monica and Chewie, our hosts. They are a remarkable couple and made us feel like VIPs every minute of our 24-hour stay. The lodge is very nicely adorned. There were just us and a family of four staying overnight. We all had a wonderful time together at meals and on our two game drives.

Our meals had excellent preparation, presentation, variety and taste. Monica did an outstanding job in the kitchen.

Chewie is truly an outstanding game ranger; he gave us tons of info about the facility, the reserve animals, and his ranger experiences. His tracker, Conwright, did a spectacular job finding animals for us to experience.

If we every return to South Africa for a safari, we will definitely stay at Serendella, but only if Monica and Chewie are there to welcome us.

Room Tip: They are all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcdavid100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited the greater Kruger National Park (and Thornybush) in December 2013 / January 2014. We stayed at four lodges, three nights at Serondella.

Serondella is a small lodge, catering for a maximum of 10 people. The managing couple Charel and Mich are excellent hosts. They are friendly and efficient, with many years of "overlanding" experience behind them. They had only been at Serondella for three months when we arrived, but had already made their mark.

The rooms are nice and big, private and well appointed. The setting in the bush is quite intimate.

The staff are well trained and good at what they do. The chef Godsave went all-out to attend to our gluten free dietary requests and the food is of a high standard.

Serondella is situated in the Thornybush Game Reserve, with abundant game and birds. Charel is a good guide with lots of experience and clearly well liked by the guides from the other lodges, who were all very friendly when we bumped into them during the game drives.

All the lodges we stayed at were in the same price category. Serondella beat two of them easily, but it is hard to choose between the remaining two. I therefore rank Serondella jointly first with another lodge we visited during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
10.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,658 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
575 reviews
3.5 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
242 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#7 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monwana Game Lodge
Monwana Game Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serondella Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serondella Game Lodge

Property: Serondella Game Lodge
Address: | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serondella Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serondella Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a four star superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Serondella Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serondella Game Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Serondella Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing