We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing safari honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Serondella Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing safari honeymoon”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this lodge on our honeymoon in May 2013 and all I can say is that it is amazing. mish and charl really looked after our every need and also had a few surprises for us. Giani was an an excellent tracker and found us all the big 5. We stayed for 4 nights but We'd have loved to stay longer as it the game drives were surperb every morning and evening. There are only 4 lodges so it is very intimate.

If you want rest, relaxation and excellent game drives along with good food then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieC1244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
161
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at Serondella for three nights in June 2014 and had an outstanding experience there. The guide / management team (at that time) of Chewie and Monica, and local tracker and staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and enthused about their work. Besides the excellent staff, the lodge's accommodations are luxurious, the setting and watering hole constantly scenic, and the meals and wine selection five star. We appreciated the personal experience of staying at a lodge that offers only five guest rooms.
As to the game drives, the reviews are accurate. Chewie (and our tracker) guided us to it all with insightful and, at times, humorous commentary. We were provided ample, close-up time to view the animals and their varied behaviors (mating lions, family life at a hyena den, leopards enjoying a fresh kill, elephants engorging themselves, bathing cape buffalo, curious giraffes, etc.).
Bottom line - Serondella offers an outstanding safari experience!

Room Tip: We loved our room overlooking the watering hole! Great photographic opportunities from both that ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagabond07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We spent three nights at Serondella in May 2014, and it was the highlight of our three-week trip to South Africa.

We saw such an amazing variety of wildlife on the game drives -- a cheetah chasing an impala, a leopard stealing another leopard's kill, lots of lions (including lions after a kill and lions interacting with each other), rhinos, elephants, giraffe, zebra, warthog, hippo, nyala, kudu, buffalo, and more, I'm sure. Charel, the ranger, and Jeffrey, the tracker, were very good at making each drive new and exciting, and Charel was kind enough to take us on a bush walk one day, too. We also enjoyed the southern hemisphere stargazing.

Back at the lodge, the staff is incredibly warm and welcoming. I can't say enough about Mich as a host. We were on our honeymoon, and she arranged a surprise romantic evening for us, including dinner on our private deck. Pure bliss.

The lodge itself is lovely. It only accommodates eight people, and we appreciated the intimacy. You share your meals with the group, which is a nice chance to get to know other travelers. The food was fantastic; hard not to overeat! The rooms are light and airy, nicely decorated, spacious, and comfortable. There were lots of little touches to make your stay pleasant. For example, we were there in winter, when it got chilly at night, so they would pre-warm the bed in the evening with an electric blanket.

Thank you so much to everyone at Serondella who made it such a wonderful stay. We think of you often and hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OlySilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Mish and Charl were great, the property is amazing, the staff is first class, the meals are perfect and the game drives were as good as it gets. 8 people max makes it very intimate and personal. Don't choose a 5 star based on the stars as the only difference is a TV and you shouldn't have one. Serondella is first class and top shelf. It is great for families, honeymoons and retirement getaways. Thank You!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerinbeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We loved everything about our stay with Charl and Mish at Serondella Game Lodge. First, the staff was absolutely wonderful! The best. So kind and friendly and service focused. Then, the food was unbelievably delicious! We ate up everything they offered us including some of the more unusual game (Impala, for example). The game drives were incredible! What an experience. The accommodations, location, everything. If you want a safari that will treat you right and allow you to see lots and lots of animals VERY close. . . .go to Serondella! It is so small and intimate. . perfect in every way. .truly.

Room Tip: You simply can't go wrong. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We celebrated our honeymoon in May 2014 with safari at Serondella, followed by a beach vacation in Mauritius. While the entire trip was amazing, our experience at Serondella was simply incredible. Mish, Chal, and the entire Serondella staff are all so welcoming, you feel like family. The food was incredible and fresh. Chal and Jeffrey provided a great game drive experience. We completed the Big 5 by our second day of our stay, and the rest was just added bonus. The animal interactions and the proximity at which you observe the animals is breathtaking. One of the other couples on our game drives was a bird enthusiast, and Chal did a great job incorporating her passion, which added an additional aspect to our experience as well!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpincorrelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stay at the Serondella lodge for 4 nights this May 2014 and did not what to leave Mich and Charl could not have made us more welcome if we had been they mum and dad. The food was excellent and as my wife is a coeliac ,she did not know what to eat first with bread and cakes plus all meals gluten free.The game drives where fantastic and diferent each time and the animals where so close you could nearly touch them.The lodge was large clean and comfortable with a bathroom overlooking the water hole Thank you for a great time and a enjoyable experience

Room Tip: The lodge overlooking the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
10.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.5 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monwana Game Lodge
Monwana Game Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serondella Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serondella Game Lodge

Property: Serondella Game Lodge
Address: Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Serondella Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serondella Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a four star superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Serondella Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serondella Game Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Serondella Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing