We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Time of our Lives!!!”
Review of Jackalberry Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jackalberry Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“The Time of our Lives!!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We spent the New Year's holiday at this magnificent lodge. On every measure, it surpassed our expectations! We can't say enough about the hospitality of everyone at the lodge. From Atasha's warm welcome back after each game drive, to the chef and servers and most certainly ranger Willie and John, our spotter, it was very personal and we were made to feel welcome and at home. The lodges were beautifully decorated and felt like a five star resort in the bush. The home cooked meals were delicious with the New Year's eve bbq of African cuisine a highlight. But what made the trip extraordinary was Willie, our ranger whose knowledge, expertise and professionalism made our games drives an experience none of us will ever forget. We really learned about the 'circle of life' in the bush and learned to appreciate the role that even the insects play in this web of life. Willie went over and above to make sure that we not only saw the 'magnificent 7' but experienced them upfront and personal! Everyone who works at the lodge is dedicated and passionate about what they do and their pride shines through to all who visit. We would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a top notch safari experience. We hope to return the next time we are in Africa.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We recently spent four nights at this lodge, and this place is nothing short of amazing. Rooms, food, service, and game drives were fantastic. Brad, and Lucas took a great deal of interest in making sure that we saw the "Magnificient Seven". We had arrived from having done three safaris in Botswana where we had seen a lot of wildlife. This was the place to see the Big Five, plus Cheetah, and wild dogs. Where else would you find a Spa which overlooks a watering hole where wild animals hang out? Thank you all for a most memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I went to Jackalberry on a Site Inspection and although a very long drive ot was well worth it! There were a few times we had gotten lost but, we never had to phone Karlien(the General Manager) she had phoned us to see if we were okay and would explain to us step by step how to get there, HA she could give a garmin a few lessons!!

But, that is what had amde the experience so amazing because we ha not even arrived and we received not even a 5* service but 7*!!

Then the rooms were impressive...(im am not one for the bush, but wow did i feel at home) beautifully laid out, comfortable, decor amazing - I tell you words cannot descirbe it! And I was there with amazing friends too...so taht made it even better!!

THEN let me et to the food....wine...BOMA FIRE oh and ELEPHANTS soooo close to us...but we still felt safe! Our Ranger - was wonderful, funny and service was fantastic!!!

I will most definately go back! I will reccommend Jackalberry lodge to all my friends and family as well as colleagues - BEST EVER!!! And Karlien is a wonderful manager, with great experience and her service is impeccable!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here over Christmas for 5 nights and had a lovely time. We have been on safari before, so we felt no pressue to see the big 5. The game drives (we had Rees) were excellent, and we stopped and heard animals and watched mating displays and saw things that you wouldn't have seen if we had been chasing around after the big 5. We did see the big 5.. On one occassion we saw something like 9 different rhino in one day!!

On to the lodge.. I thought the maximum number of guests was 16... 7 rooms in total. 6 sleep 2 people and one sleeps 4... Not the case. There were 18 when we stayed. Not a major issue, but not what we had thought.. Also I had read reviews about the food, and I have to say I was bitterly dissapointed! Not sure if the chef was off when we were there, but I spent the first two days hungry! Breakfast was ok, but nothing to shout about. Lunch was average at best.. Everything was so sweet.. We had some kind of burger one day and the bun was a donught?! The meat itself was sweet as well, and there wasn't much of an option. Dinners were ok. To be fair, Christmas dinner was wonderful, but the rest of it was just ok.. As an example, we had one evening when we were the only guests. They did a lovely romantic meal for us at our room. Starter was a single slice of aubergene (not properly cooked), a single slice of raw tomato with some melted cheese on top (melted, not browned off). There was then a VERY sweet sauce around the rest of the plate. They only had to cook for 2 people! Another bug bear was the lack of staff during the day. After breakfast, the staff disapear. We tried calling room service on one day, and no one answered.. Previously we stayed at Serondella and the food really was amazing then, as was the service.

The rooms were nice. They had everything you could have wanted. It was nice to have a fridge, and we did indulge in the bath watching out... Sadly the room (we were in room 4) looked into the camp rather than out of the camp, and you can't see the watering hole clearly, unless you go up to the massage room.. Aren't you here to watch the animals? Anyway, the rooms were nice and clean and secure.

Jackalberry is good, but certainly not excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Jackalberry Lodge in early October 2013 (only now getting around to submitting our review). We booked a tour through Lion Word Travel, a deal we found on the site "Travel Zoo," so we did not select the Jackalberry Lodge ourselves. Through "dumb luck" we ended up with this unbelievable, unforgettable experience.

First, the accommodations could not have been better. Small, luxuriously comfortable without being pretentious, delicious meals and drinks, friendly accommodating staff, air-conditioned individual casitas. You will read people's reviews (including this one), see the pictures, but being there is something quite indescribable. They truly do have everything just right.

But having said all of this, you are there to see the animals, right? And in this, you will not be disappointed. More "dumb luck." Did you know that when you go to Kruger, you can't go off-road? Your Jackalberry Lodge guides know where the animals are, and they will take you there, wherever "there" is. We saw the big 5 (lion, elephant, Cape buffalo, leopard, and rhinoceros) numerous times, and that was great, but it was the many more animals, birds, sunrises, sunsets, trees, plants that made our outings so fabulous. Sitting safely in your jeep, off-road, positioned first in front of and then behind 20 elephants as they forage in and around you is indescribable. Listening to the myriad of bird calls. Watching the graceful movements of the many varieties of antelope. Seeing Dumbo for real (really!). What about those majestic giraffes? Truly, you will not be disappointed. Doesn't matter if you don't see all the big 5 on your outing (maybe the leopard just isn't there that week); you will see and experience so much more. You will be comfortable, safe, eat good food, be with wonderful people -- what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just returned from Jackalberry Lodge after another great visit. The lodges have been upgraded and rooms are super comfortable. The size of the reserve has recently increased by about 20% as well. Rangers (Reece!) are tops; great game viewing in pristine African bush.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The lodge was outstanding, from all of the staff to the rooms and the location. The staff paid attention to each guest's needs and desires. They even made gluten free meals for one of the guests, and special meals for vegetarians. The "cook" was exceptional and very friendly. When the weather permitted, dinner was served around a beautiful fire and the natural sounds of Africa in the evening. At each dinner one of the rangers joined the guests and participated in the conversations and answered any questions from the days adventures. The "host" of the lodge. Atasha was wonderful. After each safari, she awaited the guests arrival with fresh hand towels, and inquired about each experience with great enthusiasm. About the safaris: one must understand that this is on a private game reserve, but you never get the feeling that it is one very large zoo, because it is not. It is the wilderness and the animals are wild. If you want to see the "big five", go with any ranger (some have called them guides) and take your photos. If you want to experience Africa and all that it has to offer, request Willie. With Willie as your ranger, you will quickly learn it is not about a check list of the animals you saw. It is about becoming one with this part of Africa, all of the sounds, smells, sights, and animal behaviors. Yes, as others have said, Willie is passionate about his craft, and he does spend time on foot, rifle in hand, searching for fresh kills and elusive wild animals, and each time he returns, you learn more about Africa, and for that I can not thank him enough. One time out, we were driving along the dirt road, and Willie stops the jeep and says, "do you smell that?"; none of us did, but we soon learned how to identify the smell of a day old leopard kill, and soon after, all of the other jeeps came to see. Of note, there are other lodges on this private reserve, and you do see other jeeps, but they have a "rule" that no more than two jeeps can be at any one sighting, which is really admirable. I would highly recommend Jackalberry Lodge, and Willie to anyone who wants to experience something beyond a safari.

Room Tip: All room are excellent. Two rooms have views of the small watering hole and are open to the bush (6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
7.7 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
4.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
575 reviews
7.4 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackalberry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackalberry Lodge

Property: Jackalberry Lodge
Address: Guernsey Road | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackalberry Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jackalberry Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jackalberry Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Jackalberry Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing