We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shumbalala Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent 10 days in South Africa, 7 of those on Safari, and 3 of those 7 days at Shambalala. This lodge only holds 10 visitors at a time, and you are thoroughly spoiled by the staff. i would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a great safari.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms (lodges) and they are all good. You can enjoy this as a couple or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken8258O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    7
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
134
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

we spent 4 nights at Shumbalala at the end of July with our 3 teenaged kids and it really was the most amazing vacation we ever had. The lodge itself is beautiful and the rooms were spacious and lovely. Loved the crackling fire that awaited us in the room when we returned from dinner. The staff were lovely, food was great and appreciated that Steph could cater to our vegetarian needs. The highlight of course were the amazing game drives with Wiehan, our ranger and Palance our tracker. They were both extremely knowledgeable and professional and Wiehan has a great sense of humor and was great with the kids. We loved the pit stops along the way for coffee and muffins in the morning and wine and nibbles in the afternoons. I had thought that 8 game drives was too much and that we would get bored but we could have stayed longer since each drive was different and each time we never knew what animals we would see. i highly recommend this lodge and hope we can come back in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and overlook the watering hole where you can glimpse animals sometimes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Title says it all really! My time at Shumbalala was the highlight of my recent holiday in South Africa.

Michelle was an excellent host - handling questions/ requests etc quickly and nothing was an issue. Her service was professional and she runs a well ordered lodge.

Wiehan really made our stay - he was our driver/ ranger and shared a lot about the animals and the area with us - along with some good jokes and interesting stories of his adventures.

Parlance was our tracker and was great to watch in action. Between him and Wiehan, we always felt safe. Not to mention his stealth placement of hot water bottles on the evening drives and the making of the amarula coffee in the mornings.

Steph is a great chef! Between the huge breakfast, different afternoon teas every day and dinner choices we were very spoilt with the quality and quantity of food!

The lodge is a beautiful place to relax and the small number of guests meant you always had a space to yourself. Rooms are well appointed and loved the touches of the stories, treat and hot water bottle at turndown and lit fire in the afternoon.

The wildlife viewing exceeded my expectations - in both the range seen as we saw the Big 5 but also with the experiences we had being able to observe them up close.

This is a truly magical place to visit and I highly recommend it to anyone.

My tip is to book a private flight out of Thornybush from their airstrip - gave an amazing different perspective and should not be missed!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFlyingKiwi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Shumbalala back in May & stayed for 4 nights. It was the best experience we have had, excellent service in the lodge, good food & professional & informative game drives. Highlights included the mother leopard & her cubs, drinking Amarula coffee in the bush & visiting the wine cellar daily. We have no doubt that we will be returning in the future.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S1LKIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just spent three days and three nights in Shumbalala and our experience was just perfect! Staff is very friendly, experienced and always willing to run the extra mile in order to fulfill our wishes. Food is excellent. Wayne, our Ranger and Herman, our Tracker were incredible. We had so many great sightings! We will try in any case to come back again soon!!!! Thank Shumbalala Team for the great time in your Lodge!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmenroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Such an amazing trip that there are no adequate words to express The ranger and tracker were beyond well versed, I felt incredibly comfortable and happy, and was lulled to sleep by the lions roaring. The food was amazing, the lodge was beautiful and the game drives were out of this world! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLROGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Like everyone else I only have great tyings to say. Wayne and Herman were our Ranger and Tracker and were both knowledgable and great fun. Rooms were great as was food. Only 8 people at a time made it feel very personal.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DGunz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.9 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.7 mi away
N'kaya Lodge
N'kaya Lodge
#10 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shumbalala Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shumbalala Game Lodge

Property: Shumbalala Game Lodge
Address: Thornybush Game Reserve | Greater Kruger, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shumbalala Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a vast, wild place where the lions roam at Shumbalala Game Lodge, deep in the Thornybush GameReserve, one of the country’s great tracts of untamed game-viewing.Set as it is in a dry, singeing savanna of Mopane, Acacias and Umbrella thorns, quartered by easterly-flowing rivers densely shrouded in giant figs, fever trees and phoenix palms, the land is an ancient tapestry of natural wonder.Over-head the Loeries call their sharp warning while horn-bills swoop in an ungainly ballet between trees whilst vultures elevate on thermals portending an electric storm.As you push on through the bush it is the serendipity of nature that amazes most as your vehicle skirts art deco zebra, dozy giraffe, bright eyed bush babies, wildebeest (made, it is said, by the committee of left-over parts) and the rest Africa has to offer.It is even more of an adventure when you stumble upon a leopard lazing in the V of a Jackalberry tree or; a hyena giving you a lazy yellow eye in the gathering dusk; a majestic bull elephant crashing its way through the riverine thicket in search of sweet reeds or; a surprise sunrise encounter with a lion pride on the prowl.This is the world of Shumbalala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shumbalala Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shumbalala Game Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Shumbalala Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing