We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Now Bigger - and Better'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangala Safari Camp
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“'Now Bigger - and Better'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We all know that bigger isn't always better, but, in the case of Tangala, it's true. Since our last visit there 2 years ago, a few of the fences have been taken down, now enlarging the reserve considerably to include a much more interesting and varied terrain/landscape. This has resulted in game viewing opportunities being better than ever - though for us it was already the best place to view African bush wildlife, even before these changes were made.

There's been a change in the management at Tangala too, and before our arrival this time we were a little concerned that some 'old magic' may have been lost. However, were wrong and this was definitely not the case. In fact we can vouch that the camp very much continues to retain it's unique, authentically charming and very comfortable feel. There have been some nice new touches made to the rooms and to the eating arrangements which have made it an even better experience for guests.

Our thanks go to Floeres and Philip who as our ranger and tracker respectively for the 2 days, managed to provide us with a magical time in the bush. We've been to a few bush camps over the years - and have a few stories to tell from each - but have never had an experience like we had this time. Normally, when the tracker goes on a walkabout, it's only for 10-15 minutes at the most. In our case, when tracking a leopard through a part of the bush where the vehicle had difficulty following, Phillip went missing for ca. 2 hours. And yes unbelievably, he found it and managed to guide us right to the spot. Quite incredible!

Our grateful thanks go to Loew as well, who apart from being an excellent host, also manages to cook a really great steak.

This was our 4th visit to Tangala - and as you'll see from previous reviews, we're great fans. So, we're very glad to report that this magical place is in good hands and if it were possible, is getting even bigger and better. So yes, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissCandN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Guest Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Yay - you love your visits to Tangala as much as we love having you.
We hope to see you again and again - and we'll always keep some of that bush magic bottled away just for you.
Please keep in touch on our Facebook page and share your pictures and stories with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    17
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our 3 night stay in Tangala was more then magical.
At first we where a little bit unsure about the comfort as there was no electricity in de rooms available to charge our batteries of our camera, ... . But that all did not matter. Batteries could be given to the staf to charge without any problem.
The rooms where clean, the staff was very friendly.
The area from the private camp is very cozy, well maintained, beautifull and peacefull.
The food was wonderfull and the complete setting was what it needed to be. Perfect.
The gamedrives where in one word: WAUW!!
We saw the complete big 5 and so much more.
The biggest compliment is for Hanri, our guide and driver. Hanri is very passionate about what he is doing. He know very much about animals and nature and he is more then happy to share everything. He explains the who, how and why's. He really added so much more to the game drives whe where already fantastic. Thank you Hanri and thank you Louw and staff to give us a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasmine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Guest Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We are so pleased that you are now part of the Tangala family and that Tangala will always have a little place in your heart. Hope you'll visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife, two friends and myself were treated to some extraordinary wildlife experiences at Tangala camp near Kruger National Park, South Africa. The camp glistens in oil lamps, views rolling up to the Highveld and regular sightings at the adjacent waterhole.
Louw Booysen, Hanri and Phillip have a great passion for the bush. We had 'Once in a Lifetime'' sightings of a leopard wih cubs, a pride of lions and a white buffalo. Hanri our guide, was an encyclopaedia of instant knowledge on trees, tracks and insects.
Thanks for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Kind Person who runs Trip Advisor for Tangala at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Tangala is always so grateful when visitors take the time to write reviews and we welcome them all. The team at the camp really is dedicated to what they do and THEIR day is made when they are privileged enough to spend time with enthusiastic guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We took an 1 day overnight package that included high tea, afternoon/evening game drive, dinner and 1 night accommodation. Next day an early morning game drive and breakfast on return was also included. We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and saw lots of animals.
It is a true safari experience travelling over rough roads by Land Rover and staying in oil lamp lit rooms. The food was exceptionally good and our host the owner was very informative and good company.
We would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to see the Africa like it used to be

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Social Media owner at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
So pleased that you enjoyed the visit - what a pity it was so short. Thanks for the compliments and for relaxing enough to enjoy the South African authenticity. It's what sets Tangala apart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Would highly recommend this simple but wonderful camp if you want to experience a truly authentic safari. The camp only sleeps ten people so it is a very intimate experience. There is no electricity, but all lodges have hot water and showers. When you arrive back at camp from your evening safari the camp is lit by oil lamps. It looks magical. Dinner is cooked on a fire as guests sit round in a semi circle. On our first night we were joined by the owner and our second night by our Ranger. The safari was an amazing experience, seeing all of the Big Five at very close quarter. I will never forget our stay at Tangala, the staff and the excitement of the early morning and early evening safari.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentHadleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We are so pleased that the simplicity of Tangala captured your heart. It is often tempting for us to want to move away from our natural lighting and intimate nature but it seems to be what captures the soul of all our special guests.

The fact that you not only shared our special part of Africa for a couple of days, but appreciated all its nuances, makes our work even more worthwhile. Please do visit again and keep in touch with us on Facebook - we'd love to share some of your moments and pics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed two nights in January at Tangala Lodge which were probably the best two nights I have spent anywhere. Loved the simplicity of it all - the fact that there were so few guests and no electricity (but still managed to have a very nice glass of cold white wine). We were looked after so well. Excellent home cooked food by Goodness. The drives with Floiris and Philip were so exciting. Thanks to them, with their energy and passion, we saw so much. Obviously the animals were amazing but so was the driving and where Floris took us in that Jeep! I did not think we would be that close to a lion or an elephant. Although not so good to look at, the sight of a lion eating a giraffe was unbelievable! The sundowners in the Park were a real treat and entering the candlelit Lodge from a late afternoon drive, being met with a hot towel and a glass of sherry are such lovely memories for us. We highly recommend Tangala. Not pretentious in the least and very good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonjhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Guest Relations Manager at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello Sharon
Never, ever, ever confuse a Jeep with a Land Rover in Africa, if you want to have a happy trip....LOL.
Thanks so much for writing the review and we are really pleased that Floris and his team made the trip such an adventure for you. Our camp staff are warm and hospitable and really represent the essence of Africa. We will pass on your compliments.

Hope to see you back again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sissinghurst,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Louw is a larger than life Afrikaans host who is passionate about wildlife and boy did we see some wildlife! Elephants mating,baby elephants playing in a pool, lions mating, lion males scrapping and following two female lions (with three cubs) hunting were just some of the amazing sightings. The reserve is the best in South Africa for seeing the Big Five, including a wonderful sighting of a leopard.
As avid wildlife devotees in both India and SA, we were bowled over by the traditional camp. Our room was beautiful, complete with mosquito net, but as Louw agreed the bathroom was more 20s than 21st century! He will be doing it up soon but we sincerely hope it will not be too modern. More Out of Africa please! This camp, together with Black Leopard Camp at Thaba Tholo show how safari cmaps should be traditional, welcoming, with friendly staff, experienced guides and a desire, on the part of the guests, to return soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froghoppere64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin P, Owner at Tangala Safari Camp, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are so pleased that the simplicity of Tangala captured your heart. It is often tempting for us to want to move away from our natural lighting and intimate nature but it seems to be what captures the soul of all our special guests.

The fact that you not only shared our special part of Africa for a couple of days, but appreciated all its nuances, makes our work even more worthwhile. Please do visit again and keep in touch with us on Facebook - we'd love to share some of your moments and pics.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
7.6 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
10.4 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#5 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangala Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangala Safari Camp

Property: Tangala Safari Camp
Address: Thornybush reserve | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1240, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tangala Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate and personal experience awaits you at Tangala Safari Camp which is located in the heart of the world renowned Thornybush big 5 Game Reserve bordering the Greater Kruger. The camp boasts sweeping views overlooking an expansive and active waterhole, with the majestic Drakensberg Mountain Range forming an impressive backdrop. With our eco-friendly camp, great hosting, comfortable accommodation and thrilling game drives, guests are assured an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Tangala Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangala Safari Camp Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing