We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Lodge At Thornybush
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This isn't a review of the lodge, but I wanted to share my experience with the people who work there. Three days after booking a non-cancellable reservation via Expedia, I found out my wife was pregnant with our second child. Knowing our first child was 6 weeks early and required intensive care after birth, the doctor advised us to cancel our trip to SA. I received a prompt and congratulatory email from the lodge allowing the reservation to be cancelled and saving my family thousands of dollars. They didn't have to do this. The River Lodge could've kept my money and pointed to the non-cancellable clause in my reservation and been 100% right in doing so. If you're looking for a place to safari like I was, this type of hospitality and class should say more about this establishment than any pictures or professional traveler's review. Thanks again to everyone at the lodge. I look forward to meeting you in a few years when we reschedule this trip.

Room Tip: Book directly with hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Brad,

Thank you for your wonderful comments, we completely understood your situation and thought it was the only right way to respond.

We wish you the very best for your upcoming addition

Best Regards

The Team at River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for The River Lodge At Thornybush
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

Excellent staff, great food and great game drives! We saw elephant, black and white rhino, lion, leopard, buffalo as well as a plethora of general game!

The Lodge itself is perfectly located in the heart of a big 5 reserve on the banks of the Timbavati river.

An overall brillant experience

Room Tip: Room three is incredible!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brent l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Brent

Thanks for the awesome review Brent it is always a pleasure having you here - we learn so much

Look forward to seeing you soon

The Team at The River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

A beautiful location in the bush, luxury suites, and delightful staff! Our afternoon/evening game drive was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, with lions (meters away!), rhino, elephants (we were surrounded by ellies!), buffalo (around every bend), and finally, 2 leopards! Each suite (separate from the main lodge building down a winding walkway) is a self-contained paradise with its own pool, fully-equipped kitchen area, outside seating, showers both inside and out...and surrounded with lush vegetation...bliss. Our tracker Nicolas was exceptional, and went out of his way to make our stay a special one. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeLawrie, General Manager at The River Lodge At Thornybush, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Lawrence,

Thank you for your awesome review, it is very rewarding for us when our guests have a great experience,

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Best Regards

The Team at River Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cualquiera que elija es buena son seis
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Uta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3gflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
11.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,755 reviews
9.0 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
367 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
184 reviews
23.9 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#16 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
336 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shumbalala Game Lodge
Shumbalala Game Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lodge At Thornybush? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lodge At Thornybush

Address: Road D1771, Orpen Road, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,142 - £1,372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The River Lodge At Thornybush 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the most discerning of all bushlovers, The River Lodge at Thornybush is situated in the Thornybush Private Game Reserve part of the Greater Kruger National Park.This luxurious safari lodge is the epitome of chic colonial style and elegance where your dreams are brought to reality. Our knowledgeable guides will share our abundant wildlife fauna and flora with you in an interesting, funny and sometimes dramatic fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The River Lodge At Thornybush reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Lodge At Thornybush Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing