We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Experience of a Lifetime”
Review of Monwana Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monwana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The Staff at Monwana Game Reserve took excellent care of us and could not have been more hospitable and sharing their expertise and knowledge about nature and wildlife. The facilities are topnotch.
A minimum stay of 4 days is highly recommended as well as two game-drives per day.
Check out; www.monwana.com

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannekenwouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Monwana Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

Our third time in Monwana. As always, the game viewing was excellent, as was the lodge and staff. It's a small lodge (max 10p).

The Honeymoon suite is large and beautiful with a private deck overviewing the water hole, a 4 poster king size bed, 2p shower with a view, bath tub, double basin and seperate toilet.

The food is excellent (improved with a new cook).

The game viewing is excellent as well as the ranger and tracker just go further than others in tracking animals.

Game lodges are pricey, but in its kind Monwana offers best value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

we stayed for 3 nights hat Monwana Lodge, and ist was soooooo wonderfull!!
Kelly and Dave are so nice, and the Game drives with Aubrey and Dave where so good.
The Dinner was every Day very good. Also the service from the wohle staff was very good.
We had such an wonderfull Honeymon and we will come back

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleFelicie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Thorny Bush. A very beautiful room. Nice and friendly people. Ranger and tracker with much knowledge about animals and environment. Very informative about life in SA in general.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We had a wonderful christmas stay at the Monwana Lodge near Kruger park. The staff was very welcoming and made our stay as comfortable as possible. The rooms were beautiful and very luxurious. They were cleaned everyday and everything was working as it should be. It really felt like a home away from home. We went on safari in the Thornybush game reserve twice a day. We were really luck that we saw the BIg Five (black rhino, elephant, buffalo, leopard and lion). I was very impressed with the tracking experience of our ranger Hein. We really wanted to see a leopard, but they are very seclusive and shy. Hein tracked it for almost 8 hours and eventually found it! We've been to the Kruger Park last year and there you were driven around until you saw an animal. They never did any tracking like the Monwana rangers did. Hein was also more than willing to answer the thousands of questions my dad asked from the back of the jeep lol. My dad is a big ornithology fan and especially impressed with ranger Carl's knowledge about the different bird species at Thornybush. The Monwana staff was really flexible when we wanted to start our safari's an hour earlier.

We had a wonderful and authentic stay at the Monwana Lodge. It made our holiday in South Africa very special and we are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

I can only second the opinion of the reviewer from New York - a wonderful place to visit!

We were staying at the Sanbonani Resort in Hazyview and booked an 'overnight safari' through the resort office on their recommedation. By the time we were part-way through our evening meal at the end of the first afternoon we were already discussing a request to stay a second night! Fortunately the staff were able to oblige. It wasn't the cheapest two-night stay we've ever had, but it was well worth it.

The staff at the lodge were great: friendly, attentive, enthusiastic, knowledgeable - splendid!

Disappointingly, despite the best efforts of CJ and Shadrak, we missed out on seeing the leopard(s), though not for want of trying. However, the four safari trips we did brought us far closer to a variety of animals than we had managed on our own visits to the Kruger. The two-man team was excellent, obviously possessing a passion for wildlife. CJ was a great guide, and a very entertaining companion.

The food and accommodation were top notch. In fact, we were hard-pressed to do the efforts of the kitchen staff true justice!

In summary: Excellent - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESP2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2006

Trip of a lifetime! Unique individual, thatched roofed 'huts' (pleasantly surprised by space). Routine: early morning drive, breakfast, siesta by the pool while monitoring the watering hole just 50 yards away (all sorts of game stopping for a drink behind the protected, non-visible wire fence), then afternoon drive with 'sun downer' beverage in the bush...life is good. Saw the 'Big 5' in 2 days - then focused on smaller animals (i.e. fishing a bamboo spider out of it's hole! - more interactive). Suggest the 'walking safari' for nature enthusiasts seeking a little more adventure! We combined the trip with a stop in Capetown. Again, an unforgettable trip for us as a couple but with our family. ENJOY!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VVNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
7.6 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
301 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#9 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monwana Game Lodge

Address: | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range: £525 - £653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monwana Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a Four Star Superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic Big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monwana Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing