We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous African adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Monwana Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monwana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fabulous African adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Monwana Game Lodge in South Africa is a lovely venue for staying in thatched cottages, offering elegant dinners, and exploring the bush by day and evening on game drives. This property offers views of the "Big 5" in a comfortable, clean and pleasant venue. The hightlight for me was being able to see a pride of lion resting after dark as our tracker used a bright light to shine over them making them evident at a very close range. The couple who run the property, Ryan and Karen, are a lovely pair who go over and above to make each and every guest feel appreciated and welcome. I have no hesitancy in recommending this property for singles, families, or couples to enjoy.

Room Tip: Rooms all terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Driving into Thornybush Game Reserve on Our way to Monwana lodge we had no idea what to expect. We hoped to see some of the animals and just would have a nice time. Well, we did see some animals, Ryan, Morris and Celebrate showed us lions, zebras, buffaloes, leopard, wild dogs with pups, a cheetah with cubs, the white and black rhino and many, many more beautiful creatures is South Africa. It made us realize even more how important it is that this wild life is protected. A nice time is THE understatement, we have had the best time ever! We were spoiled by Karen and her staff (great breakfast, lunch and dinners.....), they made sure there was nothing we would miss. Memories that will last a life time, thanks to the great people of Monwana Lodge. Thanks a million!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is a spectacular game lodge with the best staff one could hope to have, we arrived to drums and a warm welcome with cocktails. The layout is great from every spot, we were near the water hole which always had animals in attendance including impala, waterbuck, monkeys, warthogs and wildebeasts. Each drive found us with different views of animals in all sorts or situations; relaxing, feeding and playing. We got to see the Big 5, even the sneaky Leopards. Upon returning from the drives, I found myself saying we were 'home' because the hospitality is top notch. Ryan, Jock and Celebrate were fantastic guides/trackers and Karen and Emma didn't miss a beat with the care and attentiveness. The food is spectacular and one never leaves hungry, each meal was a feast! The accomodations are not lacking, the beds are turned down every night and there is pleanty of privacy. I would recommend this place with any hesitation. It was absoluely amazing!!!

Room Tip: Room near the watering hole to see the animals and whenever you travel, bring appropriate clothing f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

What an experience this trip was from the arrival at the tiny Hoedspruit airport. The little airport only appears to service the local safari lodges, so you are greeted upon arrival by drivers, and then you head to the parking lot where the luggage is brought out by a tracker and you claim it right by the side of the road. Then you drive about 35 minutes on mostly dirt roads to the Thornybush game reserve, and arrive at the Thornybush main lodge, where you and your luggage is transferred to a Land Rover that will take you to the more remote Monwana Lodge. At Monwana we were greeted by the staff and drums upon arrival and shown our lovely accommodations. The lodge we stayed in had a wrap around porch that face the watering hole. There were two separate "wings", one for my husband and I complete with full bath, and another for the kids, also with full bath.
The food and facilities were wonderful. We were not given locks to the rooms--apparently the lodge is so remote there is little fear of theft. Except from monkeys--we had one slip into our room and steal some sugar and cookies from the kids' room.
The game drives were amazing, and our ranger, Neill, and tracker Celebrate were great about finding us new, interesting things to see each day. Some of the highlights were the rare black rhino, the wild dog pack and their pups, cheetah cubs, and the lions feeding. We spotted all of the big five in our 3-day stay plus lots of birds, reptiles, and other mammals.
Our hostess Christie was amazingly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank photogalDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

After parking our rental car at the main lodge at Thornybush, we were picked up and taken to Monwana Game Lodge. As we entered the compound the staff were there to greet us with their drums. Our luggage was taken to our room and we received an informative orientation with cocktails.The room was terrific and the lodge was comfortable with an expresso/latte machine going all day long. The game drives of course are the main attraction and Neil, and the tracker did a great job of finding, and getting us close to the wildlife for photos. The other reviews pretty much cover Monwana, but one thing I would add, if you rent a car to get there, there are about ten miles of corduroy road. We had a blow out on the way out to the black top. Oh, be sure you secure your doors and windows, the baboons and monkeys will come in and rummage through your belongings if you don't.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntvlr525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Not much I can add to the great reviews below, other than to echo what an amazing place Monwana is. Neill and Christie who were our ranger and hostess were amazing, not just great hosts, but people who we truly enjoyed spending time with. Neill's game drives with the excellent Morris as tracker were packed with sightings, and his knowledge and appreciation for these animals was really great, he's also good at keeping the mood light and getting everyone to enjoy themselves. After the drives I really enjoyed recapping the day with him over a drink at the lodge, just a very genuine person. Christie may possibly be the nicest person we've ever met. She was on top of everything and ran a flawless program at the lodge for us, from meals to drinks on arrival to a special romantic treat for my wife and I, she was amazing, as were the rest of the staff. The lodge itself is great, accommodations are comfortable and luxurious, and don't underestimate the value of the waterhole nearby, the number of animals it attracts is incredible, it's like getting an extra game drive from your porch!

We're already planning our return trip, thanks to all for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sulliclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Monwana Lodge for 4 days, and we had the most amazing time. We were greeted by the sounds of the drums as we arrived. Karen, the manager, then greeted us warmly with cocktails, as she showed us around the lodge. Our room was situated near the water hole, which was fantastic, as we got to see the animals coming for a drink every so often.

The safari trips were brilliant. We saw the big 5 in one day! There were so many beautiful animals, so much to see! Ryan and Morris, our ranger and tracker, were both brilliant! Ryan was extremely knowledgeable about all the animals; he explained everything in great detail, answered every single question and was just superb. We enjoyed the food during High Tea, lovely muffins to eat in the morning with a cup of tea, enjoying the beautiful views. It is unbelievable!
The food was spectacular every day, we couldn’t have asked for anymore!
We would like to thank Karen, Ryan and all the staff for a fantastic time at Monwana Lodge. We would definitely like to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi_0682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
9.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monwana Game Lodge

Property: Monwana Game Lodge
Address: Thornybush Game Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monwana Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a Four Star Superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic Big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monwana Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing