We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”
Review of Monwana Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monwana Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

To be honest I might well run out of superlatives by the end of this review, our experience here really was that good.

We stayed at Monwana for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the experience. Firstly Jacques and Emma (the Lodge Managers and also Ranger / Hostess respectively) were excellent at making us feel like we were part of the family whilst we were there. Nothing was too much trouble and there were loads of thoughtful little touches. We really enjoyed the fact that, as it is a small lodge (up to 10 guests), we were able to spend time getting to know our fellow guests during mealtimes, as well as during game drives but with the option to seek privacy in our room if we wanted it. The room was stunning - spacious and overlooking the water hole so that we could lie in bed and watch the animals drink.

The game viewing was incredible. Over 4 days we had 2 mornings where we saw the 'big 5' in a single game drive. On top of that we saw a myriad of other animals, it wasn't like the small stuff was passed up. One aspect that was great was that Thornybush only allow 2 vehicles per animal sighting which meant that the sightings never felt crowded, however the flip side of this is that it meant that sometimes the vehicle had to move on to make room for others. A special mention goes to the Tracker, Morris, who plunged in to the bush on a number of occasions in search of animals. Seeing 4 leopards come to the water hole by the Lodge to drink whilst we were eating dinner was definitely one of the highlights of the stay.

So in summary, we would recommend Monwana with absolutely no hesitation. We were genuinely sad to leave, as despite only have been there for a few days.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
125
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Couldn't recommend a stay at Monwana enough! Attention to every detail made our stay a wonderful experience. Game drives excellent and saw so many beautiful, magnificent animals. The food was excellent and so carefully presented. It was a lovely place to finish our very memorable holiday in South Africa.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Monwana Game Lodge was amazing. I cannot praise it highly enough, in terms of the safari drives, staff, food, beautiful and spotless accommodation... Mich and Charel were great hosts and guides, friendly and knowledgeable and just interesting people as well as respectful of the animals. The food was really delicious - wholesome and clearly freshly prepared with high quality ingredients - thank you Mapule. The morning muffins are amazing, as are the afternoon salads and the desserts and bbq. We saw all the big five within two days! On our first night, we came back to a candlelit fragrant hot bath for two with champagne on the rocks followed by an intimate dinner for us on our veranda - so lovely of them to organise it and very welcome after we got a bit cold on the drive. Ten out of ten as a honeymoon destination. Mich, if you are reading, we're so sorry for letting the monkeys get in our room and leaving a milk destruction /turd mess on our last day! Loved it and would love to go back!

Room Tip: We had the room overlooking the waterhole with the big veranda - highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGW503869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a great time here. The staff were lovely the food was great and the setting was magical!

We were made really welcome by all of the staff.

Our room overlooked a watering hole where we watched buffalo, impala and a giraffe drinking.

The pool was a little cold but the resident Warthog & Nyala grazing by the side made up for it!

The game drives were awesome we saw just about all the animals in the reserve and had a fabulous experience where our tracker and ranger tracked a pride of lions through thick bush.

I cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Various rooms available, contact the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Monwana Game Lodge offered an incredible safari experience! We saw all 5 of the big 5 in our first two days along with many more! The highlight of the trip was watching three elephants including a baby drink and bath at the waterhole just before dinner on our last night. The food and service exceeded expectations in every way. I highly recommend staying at Monwana!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the waterhole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Emma, Jacques, and the tracker Morris do everything that they can to make your stay truly special. The staff could not be more welcoming and the rooms are luxurious. The impala and wart hogs that roam the grounds are adorable and one night we saw a mother and baby rhino by the lodge's water hole. Of course on safari, it is all about the game drives, and Jacques and Morris make each one memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccawNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We loved Monwana lodge. It was cozy and intimate. Jaques and Emma were wonderful gracious hosts. Animals like antelope, warthogs and monkeys are scampering around the grounds of the lodge. But don't just stay home, the safaris were over the top... Jaques takes you out every morning and evening and his knowledge is astounding. Morris, the tracker was so astute in spotting animals.We saw elephants, rhinos, lions, leopards, buffalo, hippos, antelope of many species, giraffe, zebra multiple times and a cheetah on our ride out of the reserve. Marvin, the dominant male lion, even roared for us while we sat in the rover only 10 meters behind him! We saw a pride of lions gorging on a giraffe they had slain. It was truly unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLee641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
7.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
400 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,720 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#3 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
251 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
#8 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monwana Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monwana Game Lodge

Property: Monwana Game Lodge
Address: | Thornybush Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monwana Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monwana Game Lodge, Thornybush Game Reserve, is a Four Star Superior lodge set in the heart of the African bushveld. Offering fantastic Big 5 game viewing, exquisite African cuisine and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monwana Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monwana Game Lodge Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing