We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monwana Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arathusa Safari Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
247
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
247
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suitewatering holesouth africaexplained everythingwater holesafari driveswonderful experiencerain showerprivate deckcooked breakfasthot water bottlesthe reservehigh teaother guestsexceeded our expectationsevery mealthree days
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We just passed from 28.-31 of July in the most beautiful days for a Safari in South Africa. The Thornybush region (especially the Monwana Lodge) is just an absolutely outstanding area which has not only the big 5 to watch but although a lot of other beautiful animals. The ranger and his wife(Jaques and Emma) are really like a mother and father and look for everything that you feel comfortable. The food, the total crew and everything let you feel like in paradise. Thank you for the nice time we spent with all of you.

Silvia and Hans from Switzerland

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zingre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This was magical, the team at the lodge ( Jacque, Morris, Emma, Valentine and co) could not have been more accommodating, seeing Elephants in the watering hole from our deck blew my mind.
The total experience from the game drives to the food could not have been better.
Our kids were also very well taken take care, Jacque and Morris totally entertained them.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmockler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just want to thank Jacques, Emma and the whole Monwana team for making our engagement weekend unforgettable. We were treated to spectacular sightings, great food and excellent service. We could not have asked for anything better. I will recommend Monwana to everyone I know.

Thanks again.

Regards

Ryno & Diandri

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Where do we begin? This was by far the greatest vacation I've yet to experience. We had incredible sights on our game drives that far exceeded what we had hoped for. Jacques, our ranger, and Morris, our tracker, are exceptionally skilled, enthusiastic and excellent at what they do. After each game drive we thought that it could not possibly get any better and yet they managed to follow the previous with more incredible and unique game drives. It was noticeable that Jacques strived to provide us with something exciting and new on each drive. He kindly asked want we hoped to see and worked throughout our stay to make our wishes come true. We were amazed at his extensive knowledge and are so grateful that he shared so many interesting facts about the animals and bush with us. We enjoyed Jacques humor, his dedication to showing us more than we could have dreamed of and his patience with our many questions about the animals. Morris was also incredibly skilled. We were amazed by his ability to both track and spot animals both day and night. Emma, our hostess, was so gracious and kind. She was always there to greet us from our game drives with a warm washcloth and a drink. Her kindness and warm nature made us feel at home. Valentine was always there to serve up a great drink with a smile! The food at Monwana Lodge was incredible. They were so kind to accommodating to my vegetarian diet. Our rooms were beautiful. There were so many intricate and beautiful decorative touches left by the staff. Each room has a view of the watering hole that is busy with visitors all day. We were in awe as we watched an elephant drink and we were entertained by the monkey, wart hogs, nyala, impala, zebra and kudu that frequented the site. Our new friends saw many other exciting visitors drink from the watering hole as well. The staff at Monwana always has a new surprise in store. I don't want to give any of their delightful touches away as they truly added to the experience. We were amazed at the staff members' attention to detail, creating a luxurious experience, both on game drives and at the lodge. Our visit to Monwana Game Lodge was truly memorable experience because of Jacques, Emma, Morris and Valentine. Not knowing how we could ever top this vacation we decided it could only be by coming back to Monwana Game Lodge! Thank you Jacques, Emma, Morris and Valentine for an experience that is hard to put in words. We are grateful! ~Michael and Donna

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 2jackrussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just recently spent (early July 2014) a most wonderful and truly amazing 4-day stay at the Monwana Game Lodge, in Thornybush, Kruger National Park. We had an amazing and memorable 'once in a lifetime' Safari experience, which included seeing the Big 5 and many other animals in the bush and also around the Monwana waterhole (from the comfort of our accommodation viewing deck). Hearing nothing but the roar of a male lion at night was an unforgettable experience.
Special thanks to our extremely professional, attentive and highly knowledgeable staff, who include our Rangers (Chewie and Jacques) and hostesses (Monica and Emma) and special thanks to Sidney our highly talented (and brave!) Tracker. The whole team worked extremely well together to provide us with a truly 5 star safari experience. The little touches that make Monwana Game Lodge stand out for us was things like the twice daily 'welcome back' with hot face towels and drinks, from Valentine and either Emma or Monica; and going the extra mile to make each evening dinner a fine dining (thanks to the talented chef), magical experience in a different setting around the lodge.
The team are all truly fantastic and made us both feel like royalty throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnetteW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews