We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We LOVED this lodge. We stayed at 3 different ones while in SA and this was our favorite. Staying in a tent so you can hear the animals at night is quite and experience. We saw most of the big five the first day and picked up the final one, elephants (a whole herd) while we were there. The staff was wonderful and "real" not overly patronizing but just friendly and sweet. The food was the best, Bobodie I loved! We had an elephant walk right through the camp and the resident Nyalas were ever present. The game drives were spectacular, it totally exceeded our expectations.
GREAT trip, I can't wait to go back
Jack and Sheri

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    37
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
108
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I visited Chapungu and stayed for 3 days, what a wonderful experience. We saw all of the Big 5 during our stay and we managed to see a pride of lions on a kill. Our driver followed a cheetah as it stalked its prey and we were lucky enough to witness the cheetah dragging its kill up a tree and settle down for a rest.
The management of the Camp were ever so helpful and made our stay something special

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We spent two solid days on a self-guided tour through Kruger National Park before coming into Chapungu, so we had seen lots and lots of animals - but nothing like what we saw in Thornybush. Up close and personal!! That's the best way to express it. We parked right next to lions (lions eating, lions propagating, lion cubs, lions), cheetas, leopards, rhinos, and on and on. Right into the bush!

And the place! Although it has canvas sides, it's like no tent I've ever stayed in. Each tent is in it's own private area, not far from one another, but with a sense of privacy. After dark, armed guards walk you to your tent because there are plenty of wild animals roaming the reserve.

The main lodge is where everyone gathers for meals, family style. What can I say about the food that hasn't already been said. It was sumptuous!

And the staff - from the manager to the guides to the chef and kitchen staff, and the cleaning staff - all very expert in their respective fields, and all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The road in from the main Thornybush gate is a little rugged. I had a rental car and it handled the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraniteBayTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent the nights of August 6-8 at Chapungu as part of a tour by Overseas Adventure Travel. We spotted elephant, hippo, and buffalo while still on final approach to the landing strip at Jackalberry. Within 24 hours we'd seen and photographed the Big 5 including both black and white Rhino, Giraffe, Leopard, and Cheetah. Got to see a lion kill "as it happened". The wildlife in Thornybush has to be seen to be believed.

The camp itself consists of "tents" (actually should be called canvas-walled, ensuite cabins). Meals were plentiful and excellent and the staff beyond peer in their attention to detail and willingness to advise and assist.

We just could not believe our luck in being able to visit this location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Everything was wonderful. Staff, food , wildlife viewing, accommodations, far exceeded our expectations. We saw all of the big 5 in the first four days. Weather was chilly but we were prepared so it was not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiddlesticks303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night stay. From the initial welcome after our overnight flight with home-made lemonade through to gourmet 3-cooked meals a day we were made to feel like royalty.
A nice touch was that the chef introduced herself and the menu at each meal.
We were the only guests for our first night and they went to special trouble to make us feel special, without it being intrusive.
Sibs, our ranger, was particularly knowledgable on topics ranging from flora and fauna of the park through to the changing political landscape of southern Africa.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epicurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We visited Chapungu in April 2013, and it was fantastic - I would thoroughly recommend it. Our trip was blessed by so many wonderful experiences, starting when we fist arrived and there was a giraffe on the path to our tent. Gerhard, our guide, was amazingly good and the game viewings were far better than I could ever have imagined. Also, the food was really good, the pool lovely to relax by in the middle of the day, and my friend really also enjoyed being able to go to the spa at nearby Thorneybush lodge. I will always remember the special times, eg the dawn and dusk viewing, and the sunsets. Thanks team - you really gave us a great experience of your part of Africa.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 293julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
8.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.7 mi away
Serondella Game Lodge
Serondella Game Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.2 mi away
N'kaya Lodge
N'kaya Lodge
#10 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapungu Tented Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapungu Tented Bush Camp

Property: Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapungu Tented Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Thornybush Nature Reserve the nostalgic guest will find Chapungu Tented Bush Camp. Tastefully furnished in old world colonial splendour, in a style and class of a bygone era. Eight comfortable air-conditioned en-suite tents offer private and exclusive accommodation. Boma dinners are an occasion and an opportunity to select a bottle from the stock of fine wines and to savour the finest fare. Settle around a log fire to recount the days’ game experiences before retiring to the lounge for a night-cap, or the comfort of your tent. Our passion for hospitality and the excitement of dawn and dusk safaris in an open safari vehicle, ensuring close and unrestricted encounters with the wild. The more adventurous are encouraged to join an experienced game ranger on a walk as he interprets and discusses Africa's footprint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Chapungu Tented Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapungu Camp Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing