We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you are looking for an amazing safari experience, then this is the place! We arrived, and were greeted at the doors, and led into a sanctuary. The outdoor pool with waterfall and bar are relaxing and breathtaking. All the staff were amazing, and so helpful. We were shown to a beautiful tented lodge that was cleaned 2x per day with turn down service.
As it was my husbands and I's Honeymoon we received Champagne and a wonderful surprise from the hotel! The food and drinks at the lodge were superb and we even had light refreshments on our game drive's.
The game in Thorneybush was plentiful! We saw all the Big 5 plus a Cheetah (which is rare for Kruger Park). Our tracker and Ranger were so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable - They made our safari experience!

I cannot say enough good things about this lodge! If you are looking for a luxury lodge, at a good price, with plenty of game drives and wild life. Stay here!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2014Deraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    38
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We spent 3 absolutely wonderful days here and went out on six safari trips, each one equally as great. Micah and Aubrey were fantastic guides and were able to get us to see all the animals that we wanted to see - and at such close range, that was amazing. Micah has a very dry sense of humour which Bot my husband and I found very amusing. He was also extremely knowledgeable and great at keeping us entertained with his stories.
The lodge was great - rooms very private, even with a bath on the terrace!
The staff were helpful and everything was prepared to a high standard.
Fab holiday.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful - lodge 1 has its own 'watering hole'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandR86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We arrived in Chapungu after a disappointing experience in another camp close by where we checked out 2days early, we were extremely lucky to get a room here, from the lovely arrival greeting from excellent manager and staff to the rooms and the game drive, every thing was catered for your experience and pleasure, nothing was too much trouble, the tents were extremely comfortable and the lodge relaxing in your down time from the drives. Even though there was unprecedented rain in SA the games drives were exciting and enjoyable, Sipps was great at finding the game. The food was good and sissi would try and accommodate any requests. Great place can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

If you want a really really good safari lodge experience you cannot do better than Chapangu. The staff are first class, the tents really comfortable and the food and ambience A1. I would highly recommend this lodge. Also in the 30 years we have been in South Africa and visiting game lodges, I have never seen such good sightings.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here with 7 people, spread over 4 tents, in early February '14.

This was a superb experience, the tents are quite nice and look more like a house with 'tent cloth' walls. Fully in the bush you can really hear the animals outside during the night, it's really fun to experience monkey's climbing over your tent and being able to observe wildlife so close and personal. Hearing mother nature in the evening is actually quite calming.

The service here was really good, the food was decent and staff always friendly. You typically do 2 game drives per day, one early in the morning (5:30) and one in the afternoon (16:00). Our ranger Sipps and spotter Oskar were a pleasure, especially Sipps is quite humorous but also incredibly skilled (as is Oskar). When you go off-road through the bushes the adventure even goes with more excitement! We saw a lot of animals, unfortunately we didn't manage to see the Leopard (we did track it many times) but did see all other animals and a Cheetah (what's the difference anyway?).

After every trip you'd return to your Tent fully taken care of, especially in the evening when you come back in the dark (and first watch a beautiful sunset in the bush) everything is handled, a few lights on, the net closed around your bed and dinner ready in a short while.

Would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Room 6 was nice, it was clearly in a path monkey's often climb through. Room 7 has a view on a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calimonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to go on safari for the first time as part of our Honeymoon and this was perfect for us. It started the way it would continue, in spectacular style as a giraffe came to our door to welcome us after 5 minutes of being there! All staff were so incredibly helpful, kind and nice. The food was great and the drinks very reasonably priced. The staff went out their way to provide different food for my fussy wife as well. The drives were out of this world, we saw cheetahs, herds of elephants, crashes of rhinos, a leopard, zebra, numerous types of antelope, giraffes everywhere, buffalo, a hippo, plenty of birds, baboons, monkeys and many more! The scenery was breathtaking. Our driver went above and beyond on the last day when we spent the morning tracking a lion, which was in itself great fun, to find it at the last minute, an incredible sight. The bushwalk was an unbelievable experience, walking amongst giraffes and learning loads. The drivers took us out at night, where you could actually see the Milky Way across the sky, the stars were amazing. The knowledge of the staff kept everything interesting, our driver Gerrard had many years of experience which meant he was able to show us so many fantastic sights and was a font of knowledge. The sunsets were spectacular too. Could not recommend this place enough, everything was brilliant!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chriscjchegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We rented the entire camp, more fun could not have been had! The catered to our every need. Loved the privacy we had at our own tents, however we had enough space to visit with family and friends without intrusion or interruption. Game drives great, accommodating our wish lists. The food was perfect. Enough variety and wonderfully presented utilizing all the lovely spot in the camp. The frogs did win the battle hands down one evening when we had dinner at the pool. But I presume they were there first. I understand that one needs to keep track of beverages consumed, but I found it a bit frustrating.

Room Tip: Every single room is special and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gulietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornybush Private Game Reserve
8.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,720 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thornybush Game Lodge
Thornybush Game Lodge
#1 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
Thornybush Waterside Lodge
#2 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
252 reviews
9.2 mi away
Waterbuck Game Lodge
Waterbuck Game Lodge
#7 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
121 reviews
2.3 mi away
Monwana Game Lodge
Monwana Game Lodge
#4 of 12 in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapungu Tented Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapungu Tented Bush Camp

Property: Chapungu Tented Bush Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chapungu Tented Bush Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Thornybush Nature Reserve the nostalgic guest will find Chapungu Tented Bush Camp. Tastefully furnished in old world colonial splendour, in a style and class of a bygone era. Eight comfortable air-conditioned en-suite tents offer private and exclusive accommodation. Boma dinners are an occasion and an opportunity to select a bottle from the stock of fine wines and to savour the finest fare. Settle around a log fire to recount the days’ game experiences before retiring to the lounge for a night-cap, or the comfort of your tent. Our passion for hospitality and the excitement of dawn and dusk safaris in an open safari vehicle, ensuring close and unrestricted encounters with the wild. The more adventurous are encouraged to join an experienced game ranger on a walk as he interprets and discusses Africa's footprint. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, South African Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Chapungu Tented Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapungu Camp Hotel Thornybush Private Game Reserve
Chapungu Tented Bush Camp Thornybush Private Game Reserve, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing