We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good affordable place in Ruidoso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Ruidoso Downs
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good affordable place in Ruidoso”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have stayed at a couple of places in Ruidoso, over the years. While not up to the Standards of hotels we stay at in major tourist destinations, the Ramada is generally clean and well-maintained. The breakfast is simple and the coffee, while plentiful is just "ok". However, the staff really works hard to make sure we have a good stay. We were constantly changing plans on the hotel, adding rooms, changing check t and check in dates, etc. Katy at the front desk worked very hard to make sure we were accommodated well. She ensured we had rates that worked within our budget. During the winter week, the hotel was slow, but was sold out by the weekend. There was a very noisy family down the hall, but after a call to the front desk...the probably was instantly solved. I must say that that is not often the case with hotels charging much more with more prestigious names on the door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    21
    48
    61
    115
See reviews for
122
86
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is not maintained well. Our kids swam in the pool and then sat in the hot tub. The bubbles in the hot tub were brown, so we told our kids to get out. The hallways were freezing cold and the manager on duty told us that was the owner's way of saving money. The first room we were in leaked water from the ceiling onto one of the beds. We were switched to an 'upgrade' that also leaked in the corners. Rooms were not cleaned well. Hair on the bathroom floor. When we checked out we almost slipped on the ice on the sidewalk because it was not iced. We were not given any type of credit for the water that leaked onto our clothes from the ceiling or for having to move to another room that only had one bed. The pull out bed was not comfortable. Owner/Manager was also rude.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ruidoso Downs hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

At one time it could have been a nice hotel but the owner does not maintain the hotel. Free breakfast was lacking, coffee tasted like water, hallways were freezing. Ceilings were crumbling and poorly patched. Bathtub and sink wouldn't drain. Beds were hard. Newspapers out of date. Ice on the sidewalk was treacherous. Owner was rude. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdhuert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, nm
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Went online to check availability and rates, came up showing room available and the rate was $69.99, called the 800-number. They found the site at tripadvisor.com but according to the operator the room would now be at a rate of $130. + tax for one night to which I replied that the $130. a night rate was not acceptable as I was looking right at the $69.99 and that I wouldn't book it at the higher rate. She said that her computer system was not coming up and that she was sorry but that she could only book me for the higher rate to which I replied no thanks, I believe that maybe the managers of the Ramada would like to know that they may be wasting their advertising money on tripadvisor.com as this site was useless. The Ramada Inn is loosing customers for this place.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This hotel was in a very convenient location since it was on the main highway and close to The Downs and car show. It was very clean, and the people were extremely nice and very helpful. I enjoyed my swim in the pool that was clean with tables and chairs around it. We took advantage of their free breakfast but I wouldn’t recommend it. I have never eaten cold pancakes (there was a microwave and toaster) or hard boiled eggs already peeled. The room was clean and the coffee was good. The next morning we went out for breakfast. Also, the ice machine was broken. Overall, my stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed here Valentines weekend and nothing worked in the room. There was no heat in room. I asked the manager to adjust the room since we froze all night and I am still waiting to here from him. I have already left him 5 messages and he will not respond. I gues I paid for a room that was like sleeping in my vehicle at 27 degrees. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucasNorthAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Rooms were dirty..housekeeping was poor. The owner/manager was rude and making false accusation. He was making loud comments in the hallways!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruidoso Downs
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ruidoso Downs
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
Days Inn Ruidoso Downs
#4 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites - Ruidoso Hwy 70
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
Best Western Pine Springs Inn
#1 of 6 in Ruidoso Downs
427 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruidoso Inn
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Midtown
Comfort Inn - Midtown
#4 of 23 in Ruidoso
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Ruidoso Downs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Ruidoso Downs

Property: Ramada Ruidoso Downs
Address: 26141 Highway 70 West, Ruidoso Downs, NM 88346 (Formerly AmeriHost Inn)
Region: United States > New Mexico > Ruidoso Downs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ruidoso Downs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Ruidoso Downs 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Ruidoso Downs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ruidoso Downs Hotel Ruidoso Downs
Ruidoso Downs Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing