We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Safari Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Safari Destination”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our family stayed at the Simbavati Lodge for 4 nights in March, 2012. It was perfect. The staff was accommodating and professional, but not cloying. We saw amazing wildlife. Our guide, Chris and spotter, Daniel were knowledgeable, effective and fun to be with. They worked hard to get us to the animals. The accommodations were lovely. Comfortable and luxurious without pretension. Excellent food, as well. Also, the Simbavati is located on the water, so during our "down" time there were plenty of opportunities to see wildlife. We would go back in a heartbeat. Well managed and even the gift shop had a lovely selection of African crafts. We would definitely return to this gem.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillie921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    69
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
176
168
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Thanks to Bush Baby Safaris for booking us in to this great place and to Pierre, our guide for staying with us. The welcome was interesting and fun, the tents were terrific with air con and very fancy baths. Showers were outdoors but very private except for the occasional buffalo looking in. I have 27 different sightings in my journal from our first game drive. The highlight was being able to see the white lions of the Timbavati in addition to the Big 5...saw lions and leopards on both days of our stay. Pierre had told us a little about the white lions with their blue eyes but it was an incredible thing to actually see. Thanks Pierre and the terrific staff at Simbavati for a great start to our trip!

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the lodge require a longer walk but often have buffalo, elephants and hippos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiverLadyMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Thanks for much for such a great birthday trip. Our guide Pete and tracker Noel went the extra mile to make the trip amazing. We saw all of the big five and loads more. The leopards were my favourite, so beautiful.

The lodge is comfortable and the staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful.

As well as seeing all the widllife on the drives, the river location means you see all sorts of animals at the lodge itself

Hearing the chorus of staff singing so beautfiully for me on my birthday was a memory that will live with me forever.

I can't recommend enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbelne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a really enjoyable stay at Simbavati - such a beautiful position on the river and we loved the luxury tents. Amazing to stand in our deck whilst watching elephants in the bush a few metres away. Great leopard sightings, loads of elephants, brilliant rhinos - only the lions were elusive! The lodge wasn't full when we visited so we had game drives with only one other couple which made for an intimate safari experience. Our ranger Diff had great knowledge of the local bird life which added a great additional interest. Food was tasty and plentiful and the drinks reasonably priced. Good service from all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IBB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a really great place, the view of the river, the owners, the staff in general great people. All the guest seem to gravitate to one area and you get to meet and chat. The actuall safaris were great, we were there for 2 days and saw the Big 5 both days - COOL. We had 2 great guides. We could have stayed longer....... Really enjoyed......

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mca2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Our stay in the Simbavati River Lodge was absolutely amazing! Everyone was so friendly and the location was stunning! My Fiancè and I got engaged at this Lodge, and I couldn´t have asked for a more romantic setting! Thank you all so much for making our stay so special. We will come back defenitely!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S-Bracht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

An outstanding family experience for wife and I + daughter/husband and two grandchildren 12 & 13. We have done lots of these but it was a first for them and we could not have chosen better. Super guides, great game viewing including lots of leopards, wild dogs and white lions. Elephants and Nyala almost on your decking in the morning. Both tents and lodges (2 family rooms) are very well equiped. Nice plunge pool and very good food - all buffet style which allows for great flexibility. Impromptu entertainment by the Staff is super fun and the whole atmosphere is "nothing is too much trouble".

Room Tip: Chalets for families - tents for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReadingDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
0.6 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
21.6 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing