We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!! 100% recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!! 100% recommend”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Simbavati!!! More than we could have wished for. We didn't know anything about safaris prior to booking, just took a chance. Stayed for 3 nights in the luxury tents - this is something everyone should experience at least once in their lifetime! Amazing tents right in the middle of it all (since the camp is unfenced, animals come and go as they please). All the amenities - air conditioning, comfy beds/linens, mini bar, coffee/tea maker, fresh drinking water replenished daily by staff, beautiful en suite bathroom, outdoor shower (amazing!!)... I can't say enough good things about it. Staff were so welcoming and friendly, made us feel at home. Meals were fantastic, mostly self serve with lots of options. Our favourite was the braai dinner around the boma!!! The game drives were amazing - our field guide Eddie and our tracker Caswell made sure that we saw everything we wished to see, including the Big 5 and much more. We couldn't believe how close we got to the animals, and the fantastic photos we have. The breaks on evening games were especially fun with sundowners. We really got to know the other guests on our drives as we spent everyday together. Also loved how we were referred to by staff as our room names, such as Impala. I really can't say enough about Simbavatj but it was the highlight of my first trip to South Africa, and I'd 100% recommend it to anyone looking for an amazing safari experience. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Sarah W

Thank you for the lovely review that you have written for us regarding your stay at our lodge.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience for your 1st trip to South Africa and for your 1st safari holiday!

We are glad that our staff we able to help you make memories that will last a life time.

We look forward to welcoming you, your friends and family to our lodge again!

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    69
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
176
167
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port-gentil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Beautiful lodge mocated along the river ou a water hole during the dry season, tented room are great and very confortable
Good food
Nice game drive but need to set up bush walks !!!
Some bitlong on sunset aperitif would be welcome

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre-Francois-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Pierre-Francois

Thank you for your feedback and review, we appreciate it.

I will pass on your feedback regarding the bush walks and biltong to management so that they can look into this for you.

We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay at our lodge.

Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Sleeping in a luxury tent was a great experience. Breakfast and lunch were excellent and diversified. We were disappointed with the dinner (a buffet). We were expecting to have a sit down menu especially that this lodge is more expensive than others we did in Sabie Sand. The staff was very welcoming and the safari was great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Florence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Florence M

Thank you for your feedback it is greatly appreciated.

I will pass on your comments regarding dinner to our management team so that they can look into this.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your luxury tent experience and your safari.

We hope to welcome you back at our lodge in the near future.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Now I'm back in grey England it seems impossible that I was ever in such a magical location: monkeys in the trees above; waterbuck and warthog near the camp at the watering hole; great safari adventures into the surrounding area. A truly beautiful location and the place is well run with great staff (special mention to Lucky). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Robin H

We are so sorry to hear that you are back in grey England. We are experiencing our typical HOT summers and it is lovely.

We are glad that you had a magical and surreal few days at our lodge.

Thank you for the great review and recommendation, we will pass on your message to Lucky.

Keep well and please do come and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was traveling with a friend and my 10 year old daughter. It was a perfect place for the first stop in our safari touring. My daughter enjoyed all the game drive activities and excitement of seeing the animals and we felt quiet safe and comfortable. She loved the choices of food. The mid-day relaxing breaks were just enough to give her more energy for the next event. She loved the guide and his clever animal stories. I would not hesitate to recommend others to bring along their children as long as they understand wifi is extremely limited and there is no areas for free running around.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Hi Tori B

Thank you for your review, especially for mentioning that our lodge is child friendly.

We really value family time and we pride ourselves on being a child friendly lodge.

We are glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed the game drive activities, our guide and our food.

Thank you for recommending our lodge. We really appreciate it.

Keep well and please visit us again soon.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just completing a 3 night stay with our 2 kids (14 and 11) and have loved this Lodge.

Not as "super luxury" as some we looked at before booking but still luxury with all the trimmings as far as I am concerned. The size of the pool (v small) is the only thing that falls below my expectation of a 5 star; the 2-room family suite is fabulous (the main bedroom opens up completely to the huge verandah overlooking the river bed), the food has been really good and the welcome and level of service has been lovely.

The atmosphere is perfectly relaxed with no stuffiness to make you wish you hadn't brought the kids and with enough wifi and local power converters to help them stay in touch and while away the time between game drives.

We've really enjoyed the morning and evening drives (though I think 3 days worth is enough). Diff and Caswell have been really helpful and have worked v v hard to make sure we've seen a whole range of game (which we have). Amazing the team work that goes into sharing sightings but without ever feeling the game is being mobbed by vans - the virtue of a private reserve I guess. But, honestly, just driving the bush in their awesome landrovers would have been enough fun for me and the kids.

All in all, I can't recommend enough - definitely glad we pushed the boat out for a private lodge and picked this place.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pangers-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Pangers on tour

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing our lodge for your safari holiday.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time at our lodge and that you recommend it for others.

We hope that you can come back and visit us again.

Keep well, kind regards, Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Our guide/driver Christof and tracker Daniel created an incredible experience for my family. We stayed 4 nights and had 10 safaris. And seeing the Big 5 was a blast along with other wild birds and common antelopes.

The advantages of Simbavati over other game reserves is that Simbavati has no fences and abuts the Kruger National Park so animals roam freely and is more authentic, not a glorified zoo. One day, over 100 Cape buffalo were crossing through. What a site!

Rainy season was just beginning in our mid October stay, so one morning drive was rained out, and another one have to be shortened. If it weren't for the rain a 3 night safari would be suffice, otherwise I recommend 4 nights if able. The trackers are good but they can't control the animals activities and the rain.

The food had enough variety to please my 13 and 10 year olds. Our tracker also spent an hour teaching our kids about identifying dung.

We rented a bungalow and accommodations were excellent. Our new friends stayed in both. Their children loved the teepee. The beds, linens, and bathrooms are the same, but the adults preferred the bungalows due to less bugs and better sleep during rain and windy weather.



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorldStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear AroundThe World

Thank you for the great feedback and the lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

We are glad to hear that you and your family had a great safari experience and that you got to see the Big 5, the migration of over 100 Buffalo's and much more.

We are also happy to hear that our chefs manage to tickle your taste buds :)

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
0.6 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
21.6 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing