We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simbavati River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
419
77
20
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
77
20
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletluxury tentsgame driveswalked rightmain deckwatch animalssafari experiencetimbavati reservebuffet stylekruger parkwild dogsgreat safarian amazing experiencethe managerssabi sandsexceeded our expectationsoutdoor shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Simbavati in mid-April. We couldn't have been treated better. Our tented "luxury safari tent" was more luxury than tent and was quite clean and comfortable. The meals were outstanding, the staff friendly and attentive. Our game drives were successful and we saw most of the animals we wanted to see. Our stay at Simbavati came at the end of our two week vacation and we couldn't have chosen a better place to finish our trip,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Bill

Thank you for the kind words in your review.

We are glad that we were the "cherry on the cake", the last stop on your holiday - leaving you with great memories that will last a lifetime.

We would love to welcome you and your family back to our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a really good place to stay!! Our family had three days at this beautiful safari place. Both the owners and the hole staff at the lodge wanted to do all the best for us. I warmly recommend Simbawati River Lodge:-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Grysk

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that we managed to "wow" you on your safari to SA.

Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an excellent stay at Simbavati River lodge, very welcoming staff, comfortable, well equipped rooms with thoughtful details. Personal service & exciting and fun-filled game drives with great guides! We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Melissa

Thank you for writing a review for us.

We are glad you and your family had a great safari holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Personalized service with great attention to detail from the reservation thru airport pickup at huidspruit, meals, and of course the safaris. Wildlife starts at the lodge where warthogs greeted us at the gait (so did the manager with a drink) and we had a lunchtime show from the porch of our room of a herd of elephants for half an hour or more eating drinking and playing in the riverbed just opposite. Food was good and special effort made to meet our veg needs. Our guide and tracker (same pair for our 4 day stay) were knowledgeable, entertaining, friendly and professional. We did see the 'big five' wonderful elephants enormous heards of buffalo, two leopards a rhino family and some sleepy lions. But we were also interested in the smaller details of our surroundings, and they arranged for our tracker to take us on a separate drive around, between safaris, to look at tracks and plants and here for instance the use the locals made of the plants traditionally. Tipping is optional but I think expected and we felt happy to do it. I really have no complaints, the pool is very small, but clean and nice for the kids. The wifi is kind of weak and best near the main office area. They are very attentive to the rooms, we stayed in a suite suitable for our two adults and two kids.

Room Tip: If you get a room near the main office you are more likely to be able to use the wifi
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mike

Thank you for your lovely review and tips for future guests.

We are glad to hear that you had a great trip and that we managed to wow you with our service and our lodge.

We are also thrilled to hear that you got to see the BIG 5 :)

We looking forward to welcoming your family back at our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Game drives were fantastic, we saw lots of wildlife within the first 5 minutes of your first drive! Food was fantastic, drinks were super cheap for a hotel of this standard. Nice and intimate as only holds around 28 guests in total. Rooms were fantastic! outdoor shower was an experience thats for sure! All open to the wild so we had a Kudu in the resort while walking back to my room. Will stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Carleigh

Thank you for your awesome review it is greatly appreciated!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an awesome holiday and an amazing safari experience.

We look forward to having you, your family and friends back at our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews