We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Simbavatie River Lodge was an excellent Safari experience. We got to see the Big Five and more with an brilliant ranger and tracker. Attention to detail was noted and all the staff across the board were fantastic. A lovely ambience was created. It was a highly recommended experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Jenni W

Thank you for the great review and recommendation it is greatly appreciated.

We are glad you go to see the Big 5 and that our staff provided you with a memorable holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    73
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
180
171
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I didn't like the shower outside.
I loved the safari organised.
I liked the show at dinner.
Food choise wasn't great.
We woke up and there were elephants in the garden: amazing!
It was scary to not be able to go to the bungalow alone at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizzy812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Lizzy

We are glad that you got to experience the "wild".

It is always great to tick things off your to see list.
Even though you were scared I am sure it will still be a holiday that you wont easily forget.
Well done for experiencing nature and all it has to offer.

Thank you for the review.

Keep well, Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebane, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Simbavati in mid-April. We couldn't have been treated better. Our tented "luxury safari tent" was more luxury than tent and was quite clean and comfortable. The meals were outstanding, the staff friendly and attentive. Our game drives were successful and we saw most of the animals we wanted to see. Our stay at Simbavati came at the end of our two week vacation and we couldn't have chosen a better place to finish our trip,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Bill

Thank you for the kind words in your review.

We are glad that we were the "cherry on the cake", the last stop on your holiday - leaving you with great memories that will last a lifetime.

We would love to welcome you and your family back to our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a really good place to stay!! Our family had three days at this beautiful safari place. Both the owners and the hole staff at the lodge wanted to do all the best for us. I warmly recommend Simbawati River Lodge:-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grysk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Grysk

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that we managed to "wow" you on your safari to SA.

Please come and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an excellent stay at Simbavati River lodge, very welcoming staff, comfortable, well equipped rooms with thoughtful details. Personal service & exciting and fun-filled game drives with great guides! We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Melissa

Thank you for writing a review for us.

We are glad you and your family had a great safari holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Personalized service with great attention to detail from the reservation thru airport pickup at huidspruit, meals, and of course the safaris. Wildlife starts at the lodge where warthogs greeted us at the gait (so did the manager with a drink) and we had a lunchtime show from the porch of our room of a herd of elephants for half an hour or more eating drinking and playing in the riverbed just opposite. Food was good and special effort made to meet our veg needs. Our guide and tracker (same pair for our 4 day stay) were knowledgeable, entertaining, friendly and professional. We did see the 'big five' wonderful elephants enormous heards of buffalo, two leopards a rhino family and some sleepy lions. But we were also interested in the smaller details of our surroundings, and they arranged for our tracker to take us on a separate drive around, between safaris, to look at tracks and plants and here for instance the use the locals made of the plants traditionally. Tipping is optional but I think expected and we felt happy to do it. I really have no complaints, the pool is very small, but clean and nice for the kids. The wifi is kind of weak and best near the main office area. They are very attentive to the rooms, we stayed in a suite suitable for our two adults and two kids.

Room Tip: If you get a room near the main office you are more likely to be able to use the wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you for your lovely review and tips for future guests.

We are glad to hear that you had a great trip and that we managed to wow you with our service and our lodge.

We are also thrilled to hear that you got to see the BIG 5 :)

We looking forward to welcoming your family back at our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Game drives were fantastic, we saw lots of wildlife within the first 5 minutes of your first drive! Food was fantastic, drinks were super cheap for a hotel of this standard. Nice and intimate as only holds around 28 guests in total. Rooms were fantastic! outdoor shower was an experience thats for sure! All open to the wild so we had a Kudu in the resort while walking back to my room. Will stay here again thats for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Carleigh

Thank you for your awesome review it is greatly appreciated!

We are thrilled to hear that you had an awesome holiday and an amazing safari experience.

We look forward to having you, your family and friends back at our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
3.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
199 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
364 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing