We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simbavati River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$102
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
419
77
20
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
77
20
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily chaletluxury tentsgame driveswalked rightmain deckwatch animalssafari experiencetimbavati reservebuffet stylekruger parkwild dogsgreat safarian amazing experiencethe managerssabi sandsexceeded our expectationsoutdoor shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time in Timbavati. Great lodge and very spacious tents. Beautiful setting next to the river bed. Unfortunately the river was dry when we were there.

Stayed 5 days in May 2014.

Very friendly staff and great service. The food was very good and we ate far too much here.

The guides are great ( we were with Christof ) and the game viewing was exceptional. We saw the big five many times over and had some of the best leopard sightings we have seen so far.

If one can join a photographic safari, if you are seriously into it , this is highly recommended. We did this and learned so much.

We were in the "Wild Dog" tent a bit of a walk to the restaurant but you get absolute peace. We loved the outdoor shower ( even in the cold weather ) but if you are not a fan of that there is a bath tub inside. Heated blankets were nice when the temp was low.

Room Tip: "Wild Dog" for peace and to be cut out of the rest. Not if you don't like a small walk.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hemaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Hemaka

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the food and our service.

Thank you for recommending our photographic safaris and for writing a review, it is greatly appreciated.

Please do come and visit us again!

Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed three nights in a family chalet - Buffalo, as we were a party of three. Superb accommodations. Very comfortable beds and we enjoyed our back porch that looked out to the Reserve between game drives. This enabled us to see the monkeys, baboons, and warthogs up close and personal. The food was delicious and plentiful. Our game ranger, Greg, was very knowledgeable about all the flora and fauna. Great driver and most personable with the ability y of see things very well hidden. It was great to learn about the birds, small animals, and flora as well as the big 5 - which we did see by the end of our trip. Our tracker, Nicolus, had amazing vision as well seeing a chameleon on a tree as we drove in the dark - he had only the spotlight that he swung back and forth. The managers of the Lodge are lovely and ensured our stay was excellent. We would definitely return and will recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want an indoor bath you will need one of the chalets not a tent.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear jwthor

Thank you for taking time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you had an awesome bush experience and you enjoyed all that we had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this lodge for 3 nights and managed 6 game drives. Our accommodation was a permanent tent with an outside shower. Quite an experience showering listening to a hippo eating and snorting nearby! One afternoon we could not go back to our tents as a herd of elephants decided to graze amongst them, making it a truly genuine safari experience! The good was to die for! Of course ate too much but after bumping around on the game drives you build up quite a hunger. I actually left my glasses behind and the staff were wonderfully accommodating in getting them sent on to me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtaplin44880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Mtaplin44880

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the animals treated you to an extra ordinary bush experience.

We are also happy that we were able to assist you with your glasses.

Thanks for the great review.

Kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

GREAT food, lovely accommodations, the outdoor shower is a dream!, incredibly nice people managing and staffing the Lodge, and I learned more from our tracker (Nicholus) and our guide (Moshe) in 3 days than I learned in a whole year of biology class!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Sylvia

Thanks for the great review.

Moshe and Nicholus will be thrilled to hear that they have passed on their knowledge and that it was helpful and interesting.

Please come back and visit us again.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had an awesome experience at the Simbavati River Lodge! I plan on going back again! Friendly, excellent food, great safari experiences with nice guides and trackers and loved my 'tent'!! I honestly would not change one thing about my experience!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 641nellf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Nell F

Thank you for the review.

We are thrilled to hear that you would not change a thing! That is awesome news for us :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge :)

Keep well, regards Nadine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews