We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simbavati River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I don't think I could possibly say enough about this place. From the moment we arrived, I was blown away by the service. I have never had staff so friendly and welcoming, and you can't beat the atmosphere. My husband and I stayed in a luxury safari tent - this is an experience that cannot be beat. The drives and guides were fantastic and so much fun. My husband became quite ill from a vaccination and had to miss 1.5 days of activity. The care he received was fantastic. On the worst night, someone came to check on him every single hour to make sure we were okay. Meals for me and dry toast for him were brought to the tent when we couldn't make it to meal times. Being able to sit and eat your breakfast and watch a hippo wander through the river bed, or being reading quietly on the porch of your tent and have several impala nibbling on the trees in front of you can't be described. I have recommended this to everyone we know, and even some we don't. So so very happy, and can not wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMSINF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear LMSINF

Thank you for the beautiful review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our lodge and that we could help to make your husbands stay more comfortable and your holiday enjoyable and memorable under the circumstances.

We look forward to having you visit us again and we appreciate the recommendations.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    69
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
172
163
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

It is a wonderful place. Have been to many places in Africa and this is definitely one of my very favorites. The game viewing is terrific, food is excellent, service is welcoming and friendly. If you only can go one place, this would be my choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Africanut4FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Africanut4FR

Thank you for writing a review and for recommending our lodge.

We are glad that you had an awesome stay and that we managed to wow you :)

Please do come back and visit us again.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our first time in Timbavati. Great lodge and very spacious tents. Beautiful setting next to the river bed. Unfortunately the river was dry when we were there.

Stayed 5 days in May 2014.

Very friendly staff and great service. The food was very good and we ate far too much here.

The guides are great ( we were with Christof ) and the game viewing was exceptional. We saw the big five many times over and had some of the best leopard sightings we have seen so far.

If one can join a photographic safari, if you are seriously into it , this is highly recommended. We did this and learned so much.

We were in the "Wild Dog" tent a bit of a walk to the restaurant but you get absolute peace. We loved the outdoor shower ( even in the cold weather ) but if you are not a fan of that there is a bath tub inside. Heated blankets were nice when the temp was low.

Room Tip: "Wild Dog" for peace and to be cut out of the rest. Not if you don't like a small walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Hemaka

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the food and our service.

Thank you for recommending our photographic safaris and for writing a review, it is greatly appreciated.

Please do come and visit us again!

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed three nights in a family chalet - Buffalo, as we were a party of three. Superb accommodations. Very comfortable beds and we enjoyed our back porch that looked out to the Reserve between game drives. This enabled us to see the monkeys, baboons, and warthogs up close and personal. The food was delicious and plentiful. Our game ranger, Greg, was very knowledgeable about all the flora and fauna. Great driver and most personable with the ability y of see things very well hidden. It was great to learn about the birds, small animals, and flora as well as the big 5 - which we did see by the end of our trip. Our tracker, Nicolus, had amazing vision as well seeing a chameleon on a tree as we drove in the dark - he had only the spotlight that he swung back and forth. The managers of the Lodge are lovely and ensured our stay was excellent. We would definitely return and will recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you want an indoor bath you will need one of the chalets not a tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear jwthor

Thank you for taking time to write a review it is greatly appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you had an awesome bush experience and you enjoyed all that we had to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at this lodge for 3 nights and managed 6 game drives. Our accommodation was a permanent tent with an outside shower. Quite an experience showering listening to a hippo eating and snorting nearby! One afternoon we could not go back to our tents as a herd of elephants decided to graze amongst them, making it a truly genuine safari experience! The good was to die for! Of course ate too much but after bumping around on the game drives you build up quite a hunger. I actually left my glasses behind and the staff were wonderfully accommodating in getting them sent on to me!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtaplin44880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Mtaplin44880

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the animals treated you to an extra ordinary bush experience.

We are also happy that we were able to assist you with your glasses.

Thanks for the great review.

Kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

GREAT food, lovely accommodations, the outdoor shower is a dream!, incredibly nice people managing and staffing the Lodge, and I learned more from our tracker (Nicholus) and our guide (Moshe) in 3 days than I learned in a whole year of biology class!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sylvia

Thanks for the great review.

Moshe and Nicholus will be thrilled to hear that they have passed on their knowledge and that it was helpful and interesting.

Please come back and visit us again.

Keep well, kind regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had an awesome experience at the Simbavati River Lodge! I plan on going back again! Friendly, excellent food, great safari experiences with nice guides and trackers and loved my 'tent'!! I honestly would not change one thing about my experience!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simbavati, Online Marketing Manager at Simbavati River Lodge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Nell F

Thank you for the review.

We are thrilled to hear that you would not change a thing! That is awesome news for us :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge :)

Keep well, regards Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
0.6 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
21.6 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simbavati River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simbavati River Lodge

Property: Simbavati River Lodge
Address: Northern Sector of the Timbavati, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Simbavati River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simbavati River Lodge is situated in the northern sector of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, and surrounded by 12 000 hectares of wildlife and rich wilderness in which you can experience an authentic and affordable African safari.The design of this 4-star lodge is contemporary, warm and welcoming. Guest common areas offer a generously proportioned lounge, bar, boma and extensive decks with breathtaking views overlooking the Nhlaralumi river where regular wildlife sightings take place and guests can unwind.Accommodation consists of eight luxury tents and three chalets; all are privately situated, comfortably furnished and with en-suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simbavati River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simbavati River Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Simbavati River Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing