We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class safari”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
kwazulu natal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First Class safari”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We spent two nights in the bush at Shindzela and loved every minute of it. The camp is rustic, quaint and cosy as there are only about 8 luxury tents with each have its own ablutions. Showers were nice and hot, beds comfy and warm. Food was hearty home cooked meals and everyone sits at a communal table which is nice as the camp is small. The best though are the guides Sam and Mike. We salute you as you obviously love every minute of your job!! I was amazed at your excellent knowledge of the fauna and flora, animal spoors and everything that nature has to offer. Thank you so much for a memorable few days, we enjoyed ourselves even though the animals were quiet when we were there because of wild dogs having passed through the area. Good luck and hope that your passion for the wild stays with you!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliekwazulunatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi Nataliekwazulunatal,

Thank you for the lovely review!! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Shindzela, i will most certainly pass on your message to Mike & Sam!

Take Care,
Shindzela Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
89
221
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Notteroy
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Thank you for a great safari Shindzela. The memories of this safari I will treasure and think of as a perfect way to see the animals and nature in South Africa.

Mike and Sam was two great guides with so much information and knowledge about the

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The experience at Shindzela was exactly what we were looking for. The focus is on the bush and the animals which to me is correct. The accommodations and food are great. Not luxurious or ostentatious, you are in the bush after all ...

Sam, Mike and the rest of the staff are excellent, and clearly enjoy their work.

I loved seeing some of the smaller animals, learning about plants and birds and hearing the stories of the bush as much as coming across a herd of over 30 elephants on a walking safari and seeing a leopard at night.

I'd highly recommend Shindzela to anyone going on safari in the greater Kruger area who is interested in delicious honest food, excellent service and who isn't put off by a tent or getting your own beer out of the fridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Hi Carol c,

Thank you so much for your review, I have passed this onto the camp as well!
Hope the rest of your holiday was great! Please send us some of your photo's if you can!

Take Care
Carolien
Shindzela Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I did a lot of research before selecting shinzela for the 1st part of our holiday. It is a fantastic
place to stay and everbody is made to feel very welcome. Meals are wholesome and tasty and taken together around a large table. As only two vehicles go out on drives conversation soon takes place comparing who saw what. Sam and Mike are "top notch" guides and go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience. Comfy tents, just solar energy and away from it all! - Just fantastic!

Room Tip: No tips on rooms - however if driving try to hire a reasonable size vehicle - roads are rough
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi IanF

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very pleased that you had a great time and sharing your birthday with us! I will definately pass on your feedback to Mike and Sam....

Take Care
Regards
Shindzela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have visited the Krugerpark various times and this was by far the best trip. Great spot, great hospitality, good food ( in the middle of nowhere) and simply a geat experience.
The staff was very kind and Mike our guide was, by far, the best guide I have ever had. Very knowledgable and a great guy to be with. I had my daughter with me and he was able to engage her on every trip. All of the staff very knowledgeable, warm and kind. Certainly a spot to come back to, which I will certainly do.

To all of the staff; thanks again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi Frederik D

It was an absolute pleasure having you at Shindzela, and we are looking forward to your return! Thank you for your feedback, i will make sure that the staff gets it!

Have a great day further
Regards Shindzela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Shindzela is absolutely exceeding expectations. It was our favourite address during our 3 week holiday in South Africa. The camp is small & basic, with all comfort you need, like comfortable beds, nice bathroom and excellent food. The guides are very experienced and friendly, really motivated to show you the big 5 and more. We have seen lots of animals, we even saw a killing of an impala by wild dogs!

The camp is unfenced which makes it a real safari experience, elephants walking through camp at night, what else do you wish for.
There are only 2 trucks, so no queuing of cars, making it a very authentic stay. We would love to come back and definitely recommend this place to other visitors.

Thanks Shindzela!
Marit and Jan

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Safari Camp, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Hi Maritvm

What a special review, we appriciate it alot! I know that the camp loved having you to stay, and thank you so much for the Wild dog photo's they are stunning!

You have got such an eye for photography!

Take Care
Shindzela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I think an earlier reviewer's description of "luxury roughing it" is spot on.

This is a real hands-on safari experience with excellent guides in Mike and Sam who are very much part of your experience throughout the stay. The relatively small number of other guests make for an intimate experience overall, adding to our enjoyment.

This is camping for non-campers, so suited me fine. The sound of a herd of elephants passing by in the middle of the night or a hyena's cry will stay for us forever.

It's not super-luxury of the kind you will find in, say, Sabi Sands, but this is reflected in the price and all the more accessible as a result. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,593 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
577 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
668 reviews
12.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
208 reviews
27.0 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Holiday Gems, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Shindzela Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing