We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big 5 winter trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big 5 winter trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I stayed at Shindzela for 3 days with my two teenage daughters and we were completely unprepared for such an amazing experience. Our guides Peter and Monica we obviously very experienced in taking tours and were able to generate amazing wildlife interactions for us. We saw several leopards, rhino on a walking tour (which is a must) plenty of elephant, buffalo, lions and other animals as well as a number of additions to my bird list. If you ask questions they always have an answer.
The accommodation was very comfortable - the hot water bottle a great surprise on the first cold night in July - and the food excellent. This is an authentic comfortable camp to visit which families will enjoy without the pretension of some of the more upmarket venues.
Watched zebra and impala at the waterhole as we relaxed in front of our tent; listened to various night time visitors from inside our tent!.
Thank you for a memorable holiday.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Mark M

Thank you so very much for your great review! We are so pleased to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time and experience! I have passed on your kind words to the Camp as well!

Take Care and hope to see you again in the near future
Regards, Shindzela Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
233
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was my nephews first trip to South Africa. We spent a few day's prior to our arrival at Shindzela in The Kruger Park. The bush experience that we had at Shindzela exceeded our expectations. Peter and Monica were knowledgeable and eager to find the game. Of course you must go into with the knowledge that these animals spend a better part of their lives avoiding humans. That being said it was the luck of the draw finding the animals that most seek out. We were fortunate in some incidents but not so in others. It certainly wasn't from the lack of trying, it's just a game of chance. I applaud Peter and Monica's efforts, I often felt that it must be equally frustrating for them as well when the game is not plentiful and in plain sight. The staff was accommodating on all accounts. The food was freshly prepared and offered in a timely manner. The dishes were pleasing to the palate and reflected notes of traditionally prepared cuisine. Perhaps in the future consider a way to keep the food at temperature without jeopardizing the integrity in the manner in which it is to be served. The tents were serviced daily and the hot water bottles in the evening tucked under the duvets was an added bonus. The other guests are few and much like the wildlife it's a game of chance. I would suggest you have a friend or partner accompany you. Thanks to the Aussies we had a great time mingling. It's a beautiful place and fairly easy to find although you may not think so at first the directions supplied by Shindzela are spot on. Rent a high profile vehicle, and mind the bush. Overall I would highly suggest Shindzela. It's a unique experience with a rustic flair and offers a great chance to get personal with nature.

Room Tip: of course all of the tents are exceptional but if you can mange to get the two tents on the furtherm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernchef67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Hi southernchef67,

Many thanks for your review on Shindzela! I will pass on your kind words to the Staff!

Looking forward to hosting you again at Shindzela!
Regards, Shindzela Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Shindzela. The camp is comfortable and the staff are lovely - we felt so at home at this camp! We had some fantastic game drives with Dave and Sam, where we came across lions (!!), elephants bathing in the dam, rhino, giraffe, zebra and hyena... just to name a few. So enjoyed drinks with the hippo at the dam and watching the sun set over the incredible landscape. The ladies cooked us tasty homemade meals and dessert was always a great 'Mmmmm' surprise.

I can't wait to visit Shindzela again... it's not a fve star, but in my opinion, offers so much more than a luxury lodge!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingTravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Hi RoamingTravel2012,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We would love to keep in touch with you, please follow us on twitter /facebook and keep an eye on our blogs for more updates on whats happening in camp!

I will also pass on your message to the staff!
Take Care
Shindzela, Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We been in Shindzela in mid-May. The camp itself is nice - staff, food etc. But from my point of view think well when are you going to go there. The bush was very thick and the life - game viewing there was quite disappointing. I though private resorts mean they share transmitter (like they do on private safaries in KP!) so they share the experience. The reality is each resort has its on land with strict prohibition to go to the other one meaning you drive only the roads (density also differs) they have so actually you have to be lucky to drive them at the right moment when game passes... (which was the most on KP border..). Price before season should be definitely much lower than 100R as the game viewing is quite different. Also a least water could be part of the deal, you have to buy each and every drink. But can imagine that with proper game viewing and nice resort on its own one can live with it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Lucie P,
Thank you for your views posted on Tripadvisor - all correspondence from our guests is valuable to Shindzela. We are sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations.
We are always looking at ways on improving our safari experiences, and have had a meeting with staff and guides in camp to submit your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I don't even know where to begin. This was my best trip ever. If utilizing an open air bathroom bothers you and strange noises outside your tent at night would scare you – then you should look for something else. Shindzela is authentic. You want the real thing – this is for you. There is nothing between you and the bush. YOU ARE IN THE BUSH ! They are “green” here. The entire camp is run on solar energy. Here are a few tips about getting here and about the camp. Get to the Timbavati gate by 1pm. If you hall butte from the gate to the camp (which I wouldn’t suggest) you can get to Shindzela in 30 minutes. You will want to take your time - this is the best part of the drive in. Take at least an hour to an hour and a half. Drive it at about 20-25 Kilometers an hour. You are going to see a bunch of wildlife from the gate to the camp. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CAR TO TAKE PICTURES. This isn’t Disney World. If you get out in the wrong place at the wrong time - something will eat you. If you come here in winter – bring fleece and flannel night clothes. It might be 70-80 degrees in the day – but it drops to 30-35 degrees at night. The camp ladies will put hot water bottles in your bed at night which is a nice touch – but it is chilly. Bring a kick butte camera. You will not regret spending the extra money. The camp won’t guarantee you will see wild life – but when we where there it was all around us – in fact they have resident Warthogs who live under the dining area who you’ll find sunning themselves in the car park. For some reason they don’t like Peter. Zebras, Cape Buffalo, and Elephants come to the waterhole. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR TENT AT NIGHT. I thought they were joking but it’s not a joke. There are hyenas running through the camp and the elephants and cape buffalo like to pass through as well. You’ll see shadows from the window flaps and you will hear all kinds of critters at night. The lions in this area are well fed and specialize in taking down cape buffalo – but you are not going to want to have a face to face in the camp. You are crazy if you do not go on every drive. You don’t want to miss anything. A couple while we were there decided to sleep in one morning and take a pass on a morning drive and hike. Well – they really missed out when we were cornered by a herd of elephants on the morning drive back to camp. We took the most amazing pictures. We highly encourage you to ask for walking Safaris. This is REALLY BEING IN THE BUSH. There was only one walk we didn’t see any wild life – but Mike and Sam (our bush guides) are so incredibly knowledgeable about the bush and tracking game – whether or not you run into something you will get an education. You never know when you will need to stop for impala poop spitting contest. In the winter dress warmly and when walking or on a drive bring a back pack. You will want to take off layers when the sun rises and put on layers as the sun sets. Don’t wear shorts on the walking safari. Your legs will get ripped apart from the bush – it is also suggested to wear long sleeves as well. Lastly – make sure you bring a couple thousand Rand in cash. You are going to want to tip the staff generously and there is a 300 or 400 Rand conservation fee when you leave. It’s worth it – believe me you won’t mind leaving a generous tip.

As for the accommodations… They are great ! The tents are comfortable and the bedding is top notch. I really like the open air bathrooms. It was rather refreshing to take a shower outside. The toilette’s water pressure and shower were normal. Just like if you were at a hotel. The camp ladies were wonderful. They made you three meals a day and the food was great. Typical English breakfast in the mornings (Eggs & Sausages) light lunch (typically Western) and dinner could be anything from Lamb, Steak or Chicken. It was comfort food – but they will also take requests before you get to camp and they accommodate special diets. They have plenty of beverages at the camp and during the drives the guides always bring beverages. Coffee & Tea in the mornings. Beer & Wine for the evening drives. If you want additional snacks etc. I would suggest (as we did) stopping at a Checkers, Pick N Pay or Spar and buy a cooler and fill it up with beer, wine, and snacks (lunch meets etc) and keep it in your tent. During the day you have time between drives to just chill out at the camp and it is nice to just sit around with the other guests and have a few beers (or glasses of wine) and come up with concepts like “Kudu Economics” (you had to be there).

All in all – this was an incredible experience. Our bush guides Sam & Mike were wonderful and incredibly knowledgeable. They take you right to the edge for the full bush experience and they never disappointed. The camp managers Peter & Monica kept everything running smoothly and made sure we were accommodated in every way. The camp ladies busted their buttes preparing our food (which was wonderful) and keeping our tents tidy and clean. We greatly appreciated everyone’s friendliness, hospitality, and hard work. It is worth every penny. I cannot wait to come back. We’ll be back upon our next visit to South Africa.

Room Tip: Ask for the tent near the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Viator 1,

Thank you for posting such a valuable and insightful review for Shindzela Safari Camp!
We thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay in camp - I know the camp staff and guides loved your visit and still talk about it. A time of lots of laughs and good humor!

It is always nice to have guests who really like being in the wilderness, and where you can soak up so much knowledge of nature.

Thank you also for mentioning the Timbavati entry fees. I would like to take this opportunity to talk about the Timbavati Conservation fee (which is currently R160.00 per person - once off, not a nightly fee) All Reserves, including the Kruger Park have Conservation entry fees. These fees are vital to enable Reserves to fund important Conservation initiatives, not least of which is training good anti-poaching teams to protect our wildlife. Funds such as these also go to important research projects, and help to monitor many ecological issue's. In particular, protecting our Rhino is critical

Guests must always feel free to ask the ladies for any fruit or cookies during the day if they feel like a snack. We had tried to have a fruit platter and cookie jar out at the tea table, but found that the squirrels frequently helped themselves too! You do have to be a bit careful leaving food stuffs in your tent - only because it can attract vervet monkeys and they start to "steal" from tents and can become a problem to guests. Elephants can also smell some fruits from a long way, and could take a "special" interest to your tent!

PS - the warthog still does not like Peter! And check out what happended to his camera trap on our Blog

Wishing you all the very best and we so hope to see you visit us again. Laura and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Our stay in Shindzela was good, but we found the price for the Camp high. We stayed also in other places near Kruger for a comparable cost and we found Shindzela a bit disappointing when you look at price-quality. You have to pay really every drink you get, even when you take only water on the game drives. This is not the case in a lot of other camps or lodges. Staff is friendly, so no comments on that. But for the price we paid we expected a bit more. A bit more light in the bathroom is also appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Owner at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear Kevin S,
Thank you very much for your feedback - it is very valuable to us.I am glad that your enjoyed the hosting from the staff in camp.

We are always very conscience of the rates of other lodges and camps in the Timbavati Game Reserve, and as far as I am aware, we are certainly one of the most affordable camps in this Reserve. It is not always a policy to include drinks in most other lodges - in fact, many more expensive destinations also exclude drinks. We have always excluded drinks, so guests can decide how many drinks to consume whilst in camp, thereby ensuring that we do not raise our overall rate, which would affect everyone booking Shindzela. We also try and keep our drinks prices reasonable, given that it is a 3 hour round trip for us to get any supplies in to camp.

I do hope that you enjoyed your complimentray bottle of wine that was provided as part of your reservation, and that this made up for your concerns regarding paying for other drinks.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your South Africa visit as a whole, and hope wee see you in the country again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The stay in the camp was just an absolute highlight. Everything was perfect. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and I really liked the common dining table, making it so personal. The tents made camping so comfortable. Peter, our guide showed us so much and we learned so much and saw so many animals. Thanks so much for a great time!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi Pia0807,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed us, as much as we enjoyed having you there! I will pass on your kind words to Peter, i am sure he will love to here from you!

Many thanks
Shindzela Reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
605 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
359 reviews
12.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing