We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushcamp great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bushcamp great experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

It's all been said, but we had a great time. Maybe it's the outdoors, but the food just tastes better when you've been outside all day. Lots of different wine to choose from at reasonable cost.Staff were great.

Game drives were lots of fun. Stayed three nights with two kids in two tents.

Room Tip: Tip: Tents were fine, but the mosquito nets are suspended from the middle of the tent and the beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barryontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Owner at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hi barryontherun

Thank you for your review! We are very pleased to hear that you and your family had a great time at Shindzela!

We hope to host you and your family again in the near future!
Kindest Regards
Shindzela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
233
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The previous reviews really say it all: Shindzela is a great, personal experience that gives you a real feel for the African bush with people who really care. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the start of our 2 week South African trip and had a great time. We saw tons of wildlife, including nearly 30 elephants having their morning drink at dawn, and along with one other guest were the only people in sight. Evenings around the campfire were friendly and entertaining and the accommodations were just the right mix of comfort meets camping. We later drove south to Skikuza and while we also greatly enjoyed our time there, Shindzela and the intimacy of such a private game reserve with warm staff were defiantly the highlight. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllisonMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Owner at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hi AllisonMN

Thank you so much for your review and all the kind words, we really appreciate this!
I will pass on your message to the camp!

Take Care and hope to see you soon
Kindest Regards
Shindzela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent experience! Everything went over my expectation, the camp is in the middle of bush with open fences, we saw elephant came and "wave" to us while we were sitting next to the pool ;) clean beds, warm shower and great food!!!

The Safari experience is incredibly amazing!!! Sam and Kenneth have really great knowledge about the bush, I will never forget the Rhino tracking on foot with the intense feeling: only <100 meters next to the Rhino family!! Father, Mother and the baby!! I had hundreds of questions and Sam answered everything with patience and kindness! I believe a great guide can make a huge difference to a safari experience, we are the lucky tourists!

I highly recommend Shindzela if you want real bush experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Hi Viviyc

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I will make sure to pass this along to Sam & Kenneth!

We look forward to your return!

Take Care
The Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If you are after the real africa experience this is it. Yes it doesn't have the spas's, 5 star gourmet meals, air conditioning and fleets of land rovers full of tourists but what it does have is heart and soul and an amazing team of people who go out of their way to make you welcomed and become part of the Shindzela family. Group numbers are small there and a big advantage is that you can go offroad and get up very close to the wildlife. Yes it is a Big 5 area and during my 7 days I saw 4 of them but missed the Leopard (they are there given the myriad of tracks we came across) but the beauty is seeing the diverse range of wildlife that africa offers - civets, honey badgers, monitor lizards, striped jackals, hyenas, hippos,crocs, zebra, wilderbeast, lilac breasted rollers, fork tailed drongos etc etc etc. The tents and beds are very comfortable and clean and the food that Malita and the team produce is fantastic. The highlights - well there are many but in summary , the walking safaris, staying the night in the hide (overlooking the main dam and watching hippos and crocs) and just getting to know the Shindzela team. They are great people with plenty of knowledge about the bush and with great senses of humour!!! Special thanks to Johan, Eugene, Sam and Kenneth for putting up with this Aussie! I would recommend when you stay there to have a 'Springbokkie' shooter or two around the campfire. As Malita says 'hmmmmmmm' Of course in those immortal words from Arnold Swartzneger- 'I'll be back'.

Room Tip: I stayed in tent 7. Which was more isolated than most of the others and looked over the creek line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Wayne265

It was an absolute pleasure to you have in camp with us! And I will make sure to pass on your kind words to the team!

We look forward to your return!

Kindest Regards
The Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and couldn't be happier with our choice of lodges. The food was amazing, the tents were clean, and most importantly, the game drives were exciting. They've recently changed owners and they've immediately begun to make upgrades to the camp. Despite only being there a couple days, the guides already knew the roads like the back of their hands.
Being an open camp, we had lots of wildlife running through, which really added to the experience. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Tents 6, 7 and 8 seem to be in the best locations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MangoFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear MangoFP

We are thrilled that you had a great time with us at Shindzela! And we look forward to your return!

Take Care
The Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I have been meaning to add this for a while. My husband and I travelled to Shindzela for 10 days in March 2013. Our first safari experience we decided to committ the full 10 days to the adventure and boy was it worth it!
Ill be honest when I arrived from the UK after a long flight, I was slightly concerned by the size of the spiders I saw on the first game drive a few hours after we arrived, but by the time we left I was ducking to avoid the cobwebs so as not to make the spiders build another one! I had no idea there was a conservationist within me until we met the team. They are an inspriation … i didn’t even know I was learning, I was having so much fun!

I cant say enough about Shindzela, we saw EVREYTHING that the African bush had to show us and I enjoyed having to track for it, learn about behaviours, weather conditions and interactions.

The entire team at Shindzela went out fo their way to ensure we had the best possible time… the laughing ladies who looked after the fantastically comfortable accommodaton and fed us delicious home cooked food every day! The guides: Brilliant Brian, SuperSam, Jolly good tracker John and Daring Dave were all superheros to us and could not have worked harder to build an adventrure filled with awesome memories.
The elephant we named Mr Grumpy in camp one day made his presence known. The elephant herd chasing lions. Lions playing in the river bed while we sat close by and watched. The leopard in the tree who was so chilled out he let us hang out with him for a long while…even tracking the illusive rhino on foot was a fantatsic day!

The camp atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.. some people booked to stay for 2 days and stayed for 4 or 5… The structure of the morning & evening drives balanced with relaxation time works well and the wine selection is worthy of the beautiful sunsets we enjoyed on every dusk/evening drive!

Ill warn you… the hardest thing to embrace about Shindzela…..is leaving! I have certainly left a piece of me behind….
We may not make it back this dry season, but we will be back as soon as possibly can.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigglesSouthcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear gigglesSouthcoast

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! I will most certainly pass this onto the team in Camp. We are delighted that Shindzela was everything you hoped it would be!

We look forward to your return!

Take Care
Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for a year now. Was very appreciative of other reviews when we were trying to decide where to go on safari. My college-aged daughter and I spent the most wonderful 4 days/3 nights in Shindzela in March 2012. It is hard even to know where to begin to describe the wonderful vibe of this place. Everything is simple but lovely; comfortable beds, good and plentiful food, fabulous and friendly staff. We chose Shindzela in part because it rests easily on the land, using solar power and minimizing other impacts. That absolutely added to our experiences there. But we never felt as though we were really roughing it. The hot water can be a little off and on at times, but other than that everything about the place felt lovely and special.

The highlight were of course the game drives. Sam and Mike were the best guides we could imagine. They knew an amazing amount about about the wildlife. We could hardly believe the detailed knowledge Mike had of insects and birds - not to mention the big game. We never did see our leopard but had a blast tracking it. We felt relaxed and happy the whole time we were there - the vibe was so great - and the other people in the camp also added to the experience. I'd guess this place just attracts people who are there to appreciate the natural life, not those looking for a spa. For us the combination was just perfect. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear travelerfromdc

Thank you very much for your review! We look forward to hosting you again at Shindzela, and hopefully we can find the elusive leopard for you!

Kindest Regards
The Shindzela Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
437 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
615 reviews
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
8.0 mi away
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
#6 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
430 reviews
10.1 mi away
Africa on Foot Camp
Africa on Foot Camp
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing