We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 4 days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Thank you Shindzela for a most enjoyable 4 days. I liked the informal, relaxed atmosphere and the terrific expertise of your guides. Having spent many holidays in safari camps in South Africa I found that Shindzela was the most agreeable and congratulate you on keeping a friendly and non pretentious atmosphere. If I get the oportunity, I will certainly be back.
Cheers
John

Room Tip: All tents were good. I like to be as far away from others as possible. This can be organised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review!
The Shindzela Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights earlier this month. We were recommended by friends who like us have also had experience of some of the most luxurious camps in South Africa. Shindzela is by no means luxurious, but it is fantastic. We stayed in tent 7 ( tucked away by the water hole) and from the moment we arrived until the time we sadly left 6 days later we enjoyed everything about our experience. The team who run it are brilliant - Johan, Sam, John and Kenny plus the ladies who provide the great food which is simple but really fresh and nice. Great game drives ( thank you guys) and the wild dogs on our 10th game drive was a real bonus. Lovely weather and great fun back in the camp over wine, dinner and mmmmmmm ( you have to go there to understand this last bit!!)! Totally authentic and great value - don't change anything.
P.S Johans photos are also really great - thanks for sharing some with me ( please)

Room Tip: 5 looked good but 7 was great in a quiet position by the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 336PeterG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear 336PeterG

What a wonderful review, thank you for this!
we are extremely happy to hear that you had a great time, and we are very happy that your friends recommend us!

Take Care and we do hope to see you in the near future!
Regards
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Shindzela Lodge for four nights in July while on our Honeymoon. It was one of the best experiences of our lives and we were genuinely sad when we had to leave. The staff were wonderful; friendly and extremely helpful, and by the end of our stay they felt like friends, not staff at the lodge. Sam, Johan, and Mike were knowledgeable, always happy to answer questions, and their love for their jobs is obvious. We saw a long list of animals while we were there including four of the big five. Highlights of the trip include seeing two male lions after dark, falling asleep our first night there to the sound of elephants trumpeting just outside of camp, having our guide take us out of our jeep to follow a rhino on foot, and being greeted in camp twice by a bull elephant.

The tents were cozy and comfortable, the food filling and tasty, but the highlight of camp is the seclusion and feeling of truly being in the bush. During our game drives we rarely saw other vehicles, usually just the other vehicle from Shindzela, though on occasion one from the nearby Ngala Lodge. In addition to the elephant in camp we had warthogs and a honey badger through camp at various times and could hear hyenas and lions at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Bill G

Thank you for your kind review, and we are so happy to read all these wonderful things that made Shindzela your choice of stay.

We do hope to host you again in the near future
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The service was excellent!!! We loved the tented rooms, very cozy and the beds was very comfortable. Outdoor shower was good!! The food is delicious, mmmmm!! The game drives are the highlight of the day!!!!! We will definately be back!! Yvette & Hannes

Room Tip: Tent no 5 or 7. But all of them is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Owner at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hi Yvette N

Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate this!

Kindest Regards
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This Camp met all my expectations for my dream safari. Terrific ranger/tracker team, cozy and comfortable tents, peace, quiet, good food and super nice people. We were looking for non fussy accommodation but over the top game viewing and that is what we got! Great job Johan and John.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Susan726

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Shindzela! We appreciate this!!

Take Care
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for three nights in late August. Since then we've been to a range of lodges, some fancy and expensive, some more modest like Shindzela. Shindzela beats them all hands down in terms of animal sightings and down-to-earth hospitality.

Michael was a marvellous guide, giving us heaps of information while keeping game drives interesting and entertaining.

This is one place where the advertising is accurate. Read it and book now for the holiday of a lifetime - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Jill B

Thank you so much for your kind review, I will make sure Mike gets it! We are truly happy that Shindzela was what you expected and more.

Many thanks
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed one night at Shindzela as part of a 4 night safari staying in different lodges. Shindzela was half the price of the 'luxury' lodges we stayed in, and delivered fantastic value for money. Johan is the best ranger we have come across in the park, getting close to the action and making the drives one of our trip highlights. The tents are comfortable with great beds, and the shower has a fabulous outdoor quality as the sun shines through the top. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would return again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annacomments2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, General Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Annacomments2013

We are indeed pleased that you found Shindzela to be a great value add to your safari!
Thank you for your visit and wonderful review.

Kindest Regards
Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
460 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
455 reviews
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
727 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £250 - £575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing