We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special stay in a very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very special stay in a very special place”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Great place for a safari. The guides show miracles with the best spotting ever. Real wild safari, right through the bushes sometimes. Cars are comfi, the tents are very luxurious and cool. Nice food, nice people. Will be back one day!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Noor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
233
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Well, what can I say. I left with sadness. All that I expected turned out to be beyond my wildest dreams, it is the best Safari yet. The Lodge was like "paradise" (although I did not see any "apple trees". Togetherness of tents in its delightful surrounds. The staff were wonderful friendly people, when it came to caring about all what the visitor needed. The food was yummie (the best), the accommodation was accommodating, accompanied with many strange sounds in the night, if your not asleep. The safari drives were exciting and with never a dull moment, even looking for something that is really not "showing"themselves. But good tracking with my wonderful guide Johan and tracker Raymond we found them anyway!!! This tented lodge was mingled with guests from all around the world, and everyone were ever so friendly and fun to be with. Everyone said hello, chit chatted and were ever so excited when they saw an animal, even when, the "friendly war hog families" mingled about on the lawns. Yes many a photo taken. The big five were there, I saw with my own boggling eyes, the wild dogs put on a performance and posed for photos. Again it was an amazing safari, if "weathering" (age) permits I contemplate returning again next year. Coming from Downunder, this lodge is very reasonable, I do recommend a longer stay if possible, but that is up to the individuals themselves. Anyway thank you ALL for a wonderful stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank janet074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights - which was for us just right. Shorter stay and you don't get the right feeling for the safari live. Longer stay and maybe it will get a bit boring because there is not a lot to do beside the game drives.
We loved the dinner and evenings beside the fire place, the casual atmosphere in the camp, the small groups on the game drive. We did not like: ???

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Wonderful location, a real nature camp with wondertful people and wildlife all over the place. Especially the guides were fantastic. Experts in spotting game and taking good care of the guests. Also the food served in the camp was delicious as well as the wine served.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taillie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Small lodge with 8 tents and with a cosy, casual and familiar ambiance. Sleeping in tents makes the stay an adventure and gives a real bush-feeling. Excellent food! Batteries can be charged in the main building. The rangers and trackers have excellent knowledge of the bush and animals.

Room Tip: Tent 7 and 8 are further away from the mainbuilding and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A short 2 night stay, but still managed to see 4 of the big 5. The camp is fabulous, food great & the game drives great fun. A great bunch of staff & fellow guests were the icing on the cake. I picked this place because of trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMcswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed only two nights at Shindzela and regretted it very much that it wasn't for longer. The camp is just amazing, very beautiful located with nice rooms, which offer all comfort one need. The food was excellent and the staff and the guides very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stelilsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,658 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
429 reviews
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
605 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
361 reviews
12.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing