We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shindzela Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
405
56
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
56
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush experiencegame driveswalking safarioff roadattached bathroomhot watergreater krugerwild dogseating dinnerwater holethe real dealother guestssouth africaauthentic experienceeach mealflora and faunatented rooms
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Shindzela for 5 nights and had an incredible experience. This place is 3-star done incredibly well at a great price. All of the staff seeemed to have experience from 5-star lodges and were always friendly, helpful and fun to be around. The meals that were provided were always tasty and plenty available. The fact that animals regularly wander through the camp made this a great experience and continually reminded me that I was on holidays rather than staying just another hotel. There are no TV's and limited wifi which is perfect and allows for a pretty chilled out environment. The game drives were the reason for going to Shindzela and were incredibly well organised, comfortable, informative and fun. Having a tracker and a driver who new so much allowed for us to see many more animals than we would have on self drive tours or when there is only a driver who is also trying to spot. This place was so good I'm definately planning on going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you AB for your review!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What an experience! We loved our time in Shindzela - the staff were fantastic;the drives were excellent; the walk was VERY exciting; the meals were superb; the company of the other guests was delightful; and even though it was really chilly for us - the hot water bottles made our already comfy beds feel totally luxurious!!! Loved this experience and would absolutely do it again if we could!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank tnt1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you tnt1218! We hope to see you guys again!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at Shindzela as a solo male traveler for 3 nights and absolutely loved it.

What I loved about Shindzela:
-The staff and food are incredible
-It is far from a commercial feel as possible
-There are a maximum of 2 jeeps on the property (when I was there only 1) so it is a true "hunt" to find the animals, rather than simply
-We saw all 5/5 in addition to tons of other animals including giant owls and my favorite, the wild dogs!

Thanks to all the staff, especially Johan, Raymond, Mike Tyson and Carolienne!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you Joseph G!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A step above camping in the wild.

Slatted wood floor platform with porch in front, bathroom in back surrounded by bamboo or similar, tent with zipper over bed. Our tent barely had room to walk around the bed with a bureau and a rack for clothes, I think a floor fan, and bedside tables. Bathroom had showerhead, sink, vanity, and flush toilet. Simple, cold at night, hot during the day. Just what we were expecting and and wanting.
Some guests who were leaving when we arrived said it was really cold the week before, so truly unpleasant at 5am with an outdoor bathroom, but when we were there the hot water bottles were welcome in the comfortable bed at night, but the bathroom OK at night with full clothing. I think the tents would be less pleasant during the hot/rainy season. Because of the construction materials, the first workers up in the morning wake all but the furthest tents and you can hear conversations from other tents, so not much privacy.

Loved the announcement of the food at each meal. Food was good, rather like eating at camp or other group outing with buffet all you can eat. Communal tables encourage lots of sharing of experiences and reliving the rides.

No fences means wildlife in the camp. We heard that an elephant rubbed against one of the tents one night. What an experience for those folks. But if you follow the rules and stay inside at night, so harm.

Guides were varied in personality, but all our experiences were good. They were serious about safety of their guests. Landrovers were not as bouncy in the back row as the Toyotas at another camp we visited. With the small number of trucks, sighting may be fewer than in some busier reserves with more trucks because they do not have the number of eyes looking and radioing positions, but more private and seemed more wild.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you Metwo3!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my husband's first safari, and I am so happy we chose Shindzela. Johan and Raymond were amazing, and the animal sightings were incredible. We've already started saving our pennies to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you Rachel D!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews