We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing adventure in the African Bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our stay at Shindzela surpassed all expectations! My husband and I spent 5 nights there in July as part of our first anniversary celebration in South Africa and we are already looking forward to returning in the future!

The game drives: In one word-- amazing. In more than one word--we saw lions almost every day, herds of elephants, buffalo, rhino, giraffe, zebra, bush baby, ground hornbills, we followed a leopard with a spotlight at night.... the list goes on and on! We had Eugene as our guide and Raymond as our tracker and they were both so personable and knowledgeable. They entertained us with stories and fascinating information about animals, tracks, plants, insects, and even dung. There was never a dull moment! I would also highly recommend a bush walk. It's so peaceful and a great way to learn about the little things in the ecosystem.

The tents: The bed was super comfy and warm. The bathroom was clean, spacious, and the shower had hot water. We could hear all sorts of interesting sounds at night, which reminded us that we were truly out in the middle of the bush. Such an awesome feeling! After dark, a ranger would escort you to your tent to ensure that you wouldn't stumble into a lion or anything (we never did, but that would have been a great story).

Food/Drink: Breakfasts were especially delicious and filling. At lunch, your guide would ask what you'd like to drink during your evening game drive. We loved sipping wine (me) and whiskey (husband) as we watched to sun go down. Dinner would be ready shortly after we returned from the evening game drive. We loved gathering around the fire and enjoying a great three-course meal. I especially loved the dessert (mmm). After dinner, we would linger around the fire talking with other guests or staff, drinking the fantastic wine or enjoying a lion dropping shot (we tried to make them for our friends back at home but they weren't quite the same).

Overall experience: As mentioned before, the staff was awesome! Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. In between game drives, we would relax in the main lodge or by the pool. We even had a few exciting animal encounters at the camp!

Our experience at Shindzela was absolutely amazing. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meagan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We are so happy to hear that you guys had a good time with us!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Shindzela Tented Safari Camp is a lovely way to begin your safari adventure. Te fantastic rangers and trackers show you what you need to know to see everything! The night drives were thrilling but the walk was a little disappointing (not something that can be helped though).
The staff cater for your every need without being over the top or invasive, including hot water bottles in your bed to warm your toes if the night is chilly!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhilippaH87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you guys again!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights mid May. We thought we would miss the afternoon drive as we got stopped by police in Hoedspruit and then by a herd of elephants on the way into the reserve. When we arrived, the staff drove us to join the game drive and we saw a big herd of buffaloes, then 2 white rhinos. Saw 4 of 5 Big Five and many. All meals were great. Our guide, Vaugh taught us to identify plants, animal tracking, and had many fun stories. He also led us a walk along the riverbed. During the day, a family of warthogs came to feed on the campground while a honey badger roam at night. We heard hyenas' cry in the middle of the night. We stay at cabin #8 which is the one most further away from the lounge/kitchen area. Cabin was clean with king size comfy bed. No lock but only small hinge that hold the door close.

Room Tip: Cabin #6 and #7 face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ND i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review!
Hope to see you guys again!

The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When you have warthogs burrowing under your tent you know that you are in a pretty cool place. Shindzela is an amazing place tucked away in the Timbavarti Game Reserve. We spent 4 nights here and we were not disappointed. Our hosts, Andre, Caroline & Eugine were fantastic with Eugine doubling as a driver/guide. Sam was our driver/guide with Geoffrey our tracker. They were a tremendous team, spotting wildlife where we could only see trees. The rules of the camp where very different where you are not allowed to wander around alone after dark as animals wander freely through the camp at night. The tents are cosy and have a covered bathroom with flushing toilet and good hot water pressure. After a 5.30am wake up call you head for a cuppa then off into the park. Around 9am we stop for snack and cuppa, very organised and welcome. On return around 10am you have a very hearty breakfast presented by the one and only Cedric. The food is fresh and plentiful. After breakfast time is your own then lunch is served around 2pm. During this time you can be witness to the warthog family sunning themselves or snuffling around for food or having a drink from the fish pond. Watch the plethora of Hornbills and Glossy starlings flit around looking for food or a family of Dwarf Mongoose move between tents with military precision. Then at around 3.30pm you head off again. Sun-downers are held in the park, in a clear spot, where you can watch the sun disappear for a spectacular sunset. Then back into the vehicle and off again now spotlighting for shining eyes. Back to camp for dinner where Cedric again presents a wonderful 3 course meal. After dinner you can either lounge around the bar (I suggest a Lion Dropping shot) or head off to bed. There are charging facilities for all those pesky electronic devises and camera batteries in the bar area. Shindzela lived up to its name where we saw several honey badgers near camp. I would highly recommend a stay at Shindzela, it is for the young and the young at heart.

Room Tip: Cabin No 7 is remote if you want lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Lovit! Thank you!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had an amazing time at Shindzela. It was our first introduction to the South African bush, and it was truly amazing. The small size of the camp makes for an intimate experience, and you have a chance to meet and make friends with the guides, as well as other guests from around the world. We stayed at Shindzela for 2 nights, and that was not long enough!

The tents are extremely comfortable, providing everything you need. We loved the outdoor shower, and the hot water bottle warming the bed at night was such a lovely extra touch! The food was delicious - homemade, and plenty of it. Breakfast was a huge selection of cold and hot items, and dinner was homemade soup, bread, wonderful main dishes, salads, vegetables, and divine desserts. And wildlife strolls past the camp as you are enjoying dinner or a glass of South African wine by the fire....truly awesome!

Our guide, Eugene, and tracker, Guyane (spelling?) were outstanding. They were a great team, and their knowledge and skill resulted in some extremely close encounters with wildlife. We saw lions on a recent kill, got very close to elephants, hyenas, giraffe, you name it. Eugene was so friendly and personable, and was able to answer all kinds of questions and curiosities about the wildlife and ecosystem. We really enjoyed our time with Eugene!

The overall experience and atmosphere at Shindzela was exactly what we were looking for, and better. If you are looking for a rustic, yet comfortable, true bush experience, this is your place. We are already taking about going back in the future, and staying more than 2 nights!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank akt0782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Front Office Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Wonderful review! Thank you!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wow what a place!!! If you want a safari experience that doesn't cost a fortune but has great facilities, awesome guides and trackers, great food than Shindzela is the place to come. I visited with my wife for 4 nights in July and could not have wished for a better time. We saw loads of animals including lions, wild dogs, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, kudu, impala, hyaena, jackal and many more. The tents were very comfortable with hot outdoor showers. Our guide Eugene and tracker Ghani we're amazing, they have so much knowledge about the bush and about tracking animals, which lead to some amazing animal sightings none more so then the pack of African wild dog. A memory that will not be forgotten.
A big thanks to Eugene, Andre, Sam, Carolien and the Shindzela team!!! Keep up the good work!
Kane and Alex (Australia).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Walkinshaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, General Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you Walkinshaw05!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at Shindzela for 5 nights and had an incredible experience. This place is 3-star done incredibly well at a great price. All of the staff seeemed to have experience from 5-star lodges and were always friendly, helpful and fun to be around. The meals that were provided were always tasty and plenty available. The fact that animals regularly wander through the camp made this a great experience and continually reminded me that I was on holidays rather than staying just another hotel. There are no TV's and limited wifi which is perfect and allows for a pretty chilled out environment. The game drives were the reason for going to Shindzela and were incredibly well organised, comfortable, informative and fun. Having a tracker and a driver who new so much allowed for us to see many more animals than we would have on self drive tours or when there is only a driver who is also trying to spot. This place was so good I'm definately planning on going back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shindzela, Manager at Shindzela Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you AB for your review!
The Shindzela Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
417 reviews
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,832 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
658 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
450 reviews
13.4 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £188 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing