We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time around...even better!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Springs Gauteng
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“2nd Time around...even better!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

After going to Shindzela at the beginning of the year and having a great time, we promised ourselves that we would go again before the summer rains. Well what a great time we had! We were only 2 couples in camp during our stay and had the privilage of being able to whatch a buffalo being eating by hyenas and vultures. What an experance!!!
Nothing was too much for our guide, Mark and tracker, Roul. They were very entertaining, and kept us busy during our stay!

There was nothing better than coming "home" to a great home cooked meal prepared by Gertie after a long drive looking for game!!!!

Will be going back soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bush-dame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
89
218
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife and I spent 4 great days at Shindzela in June during the world cup. We loved every minute we were there. The game drives, the meals the camp fire chats....everything was fantastic. I would recommend Shindzela to anyone who is looking for a genuine safari experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KFG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solingen
Level Contributor
289 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

During a business trip to South Africa I decided to take some days off to spend them in the bush. Although the travel distance from Johannesburg is quite far - it takes about 7 hours to reach the camp - I can only recommend to spend some nights here.
As I don´t like luxury lodges with air condition etc., I found this lodge in the internet and it exceeded all my expectations. I have been in approx. 10 differnt lodges in the past years, and this has been my best stay so far. Where else do elephants visit the camp and come to a waterhole only 10 m from your tent? Of course, it also means little sleep at night as the elephants move around the tents, break trees (in my case even the water pipe of the bathroom) and make quite a lot of noise.
During the game drives, we were in the middle of a group of approx. 500 buffalos and watched a leopard hiding its kill in a tree. It will be very difficult to see the complete Big 5 during one stay, but 3 out of 5 is not bad either...
The camp itself is absolutely nice, with clean tents, good beds, and excellent service. The owners are very freindly, and the food is just great - tnanks again for the great time I had.
I can only recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KasperSolingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

My sister and I went on safari at Shindzela while visiting the area and were both pleasantly surprised with how much we enjoyed the experience. My sister is a bit less adventurous and outdoorsy than I, so I was initially worried she'd be uncomfortable and out of her element. At the end of the four days, we both wished we had booked the camp for a longer portion of our vacation.

The camp is open, but the owner Dave always made certain we felt safe and secure at night moving to our tent. The rooms themselves are heavy weight canvas tents pitched on permanent wooden platforms with a thatch roof above them. It feels more like a hard structure than a tent, but still allows you to remember you're in the bush. The attached bathroom was charming and open air, built on the same platform as the tent with a surrounding bamboo wall for privacy. The open air let's you feel like you're roughing it, but the hot water reminds you that you're quite comfortable.

Meals were delicious and served by the extremely sweet and very capable camp cook. The owner Dave presided over our meals and regaled us with stories his days in the bush as a hunter and guide and was an easy conversationalist. The trackers were also very kind and polite, though less apt to engage in conversation and more likely to remain behind the scenes.

As for the safari drives themselves, they were excellent. Despite having two initial days of poor weather in which game was somewhat scarce, we never failed to spot many different animals. We saw four of the Big Five, missing only the lion, though we saw many sets of tracks. We also saw numerous impala, several kudu, countless birds, hippo, warthogs, jackals, mongoose, baboons, giraffe, and zebra. During one of our night drives, our talented tracker managed to spot a green chameleon in a tree as we drove by. They will certainly put you on the game if you allow the time.

My only real regret is that we didn't have longer to spend there and that the weather wouldn't cooperate initially. Also, because we went in late summer, the bush was still thick and water plentiful, so spotting and locating the game was difficult, though clearly not impossible. While dismounting the truck and walking wasn't impossible, we couldn't do it for any great distance because of the thickness of the vegetation and the danger of walking up on aggressive game by surprise. Choosing better vacation dates would have remedied all of these issues.

If I ever find myself in South Africa again, I will not hesitate to revisit Shindzela. It was a completely wonderful experience and I felt upon leaving that I was departing the company of friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbaker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama city, panama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

I traveled to Shindzela during the World Cup. I was simply blown away. I work in the travel industry and have been to a LOT of neat hotels...but the service and friendliness of this team, plus the unique location and fantastic guiding made it THE most memorable 3 nights of my month-long trip in Africa. The food was surprisingly good, the accommodations a perfect mix of rustic and comfortable, but the STAFF are what makes this joint so special. I would go back 10x and I think 3-5 nights there would be perfect. A FANTASTIC value for the money. We saw so many animals during our stay...it was like a movie. I just LOVED this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VillaBuenaOnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

I was at Shindzela in June 2010 with 5 of my friends. We were traveling around South Africa for the World Cup. Getting out of the big cities and relaxing in a base camp like Shindzela for three days was a true pleasure. The staff was incredible (Gertie makes all of the food and it is to DIE for), and all of our guides were top-notch. They brought smiles to our faces, laughs to our bellies, and much happiness to our vagabond troupe. Our beds were made for us every morning and turned down for our afternoon naps... our clothes were put away in drawers, and the campfire was ready every night for storytime, beers, and fellowship. I particularly liked how there were only maybe two or three parties at the camp at one time, because it allowed you to meet everyone there and become friends rather quickly. Our morning and evening drives were splendid, and our afternoon naps were heavenly.

I couldn't have asked for a better safari... definitely check out this camp if you are in South Africa!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snewton_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I cannot recommend the Shindzela camp enough. I was treated like a king for my 4 night stay. Whether it's Dave or Alan, you'll get a very honest & knowledgeable safari guide. The food is top class too! Once you adapt to the early mornings, you'll thoroughly enjoy your stay. You'll never know what to expect around the corner with each day. The night drives are excellent too! Highlights of my stay: Watching a baby hippo being slowly picked away by hundreds of vultures during the day, then the carcass being mauled that night by countless hyena! Being metres away from a family of Elephants quietly feeding at dusk.. Best of all, watch a pride of Lions feast on their recent kill of a giraffe!
This cannot be missed - And you must spend a minimum of 3 nights to get maximum fulfillment!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
12.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Safari Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Shindzela Tented Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing