We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real thing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shindzela Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“The real thing!”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Shindzela is the real bush camp safrai experience. The tented and unfenced camp means that you are genuely close to nature. Animals are free to wander through the camp which made for some amazing close-up elephant sightings.

Dave, Laura, Mike, Gerty and Melita work tirelessly to ensure that the guests get the most from their stay. They create an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Their knowledge of the flora and fauna in the game reserve is impressive and matched by their genuine passion for the animals and environent in which they work. Nothing is too much trouble.

The camp is comfortable, not luxurious (although the plunge pool felt divine in the heat). If you are seeking an authentic bush experience then look no further.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suitable_for_ugrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    44
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
90
233
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2010

14 years ago I experienced a tented bush camp with my wife for the first time and immediately I was hooked. The origional camp, which too bordered the Kruger National Park, closed about 10 years ago to make way for one of those expensive, over the top lodges, with air-con and a library!!!. Since then, we have searched for something to remind us of those 'good old days'. Well, in Shindzela we certainly found it. David, the owner manager is a wonderful host who loves the bush and all it has to offer. He has a vast knowledge of the flora and fauna around him and always goes the extra mile to make your visit truly wonderful. Backed up by a great team including Laura in the office and Gertie in the kitchen (superb food!!!) you are guaranteed an experience you will not forget!! We've had 2 stays at Shindzela and will will continue to return as long as it is there!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My partner and I had the most fantastic stay at Shindzela, with our most experienced host and guide Dave, staying in wonderfully appointed tents, cooling off on those hot 44 deg days in the pool while the wildlife carried on with life around the unfenced camp. The en-suites gave a tantalising view of the local wild life, looking through the bamboo partitioning, while meditating on the throne. The bed was so comfortable and we would love to know where you got the soft pillows from?? We really enjoyed the tasty food prepared and served by our favourite chef Mileta. Last but not least we saw "the big five" plus much more with our friends Dave explaining the why"s and wherefores and our xray eyed spotter, Laurence, sitting in the "Dickey" seat. I can honestly say we enjoyed every minute at Shindzela and would very much like to do it again. It was really more exciting than we were expecting and would truly recommend it to all.
Kind regards
Earl & Pauline Smith.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor before but we had such a fantastic stay at Shindzela that I couldn’t NOT write a review! Shindzela is a small unfenced camp with a maximum capacity of 12 guests, so you know that you’re getting the personal touch! The staff all know sooo much about animals and I’m thrilled to say that we were able, thanks to their expert tracking, to see all of the Big Five, as well as all sorts of other animals! The leopard was phenomenal and the fact that we could go off road to get a close look made the experience what it was. Being 2 metres away from a lion and feeling too close to take a picture was also truly a once in a life time experience that I know we’ll never forget. They have an enormous area of land all to themselves. Also, since the camp is unfenced, the animals can wander all around; we heard hyenas and leopards outside our tents at night!
The staff were so welcoming and helpful that we felt sorry to have to say our goodbyes. The food was scrumptious – much better than we were expecting! The tents were luxurious and it was really liberating to feel as though you were showering outside.
I would strongly recommend anyone going on safari to stay at Shindzela. We absolutely loved it! Don’t stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I had a 4 night stay in Shindzela in August. Shindzela is an unfenced tented safari camp within the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve. The key words for Shindzela are: rustic but comfortable bush camp, true African atmosphere and excellent staff and service. Each tent is put on a wooden deck and has a private en suite bathroom. The meals are homemade and are just great. In front af the camp there is a small waterhole. Shindzela is the only operator in the concession and therefore you have to track the animals yourself. In the concession there are 2 big waterholes which attracks a lot of wildlife. Best sighting: 2 leopard cubs and about 500 buffalos. Shindzela has everything that the African bush has to offer! Dave, Laura, Eric and Gertie thanks for your hospitality, it is you what makes the stay so special! I can recommend Shindzela to anyone who wants to experience the true African bush. I will definitely return there soon!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joost76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs Gauteng
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2010

After going to Shindzela at the beginning of the year and having a great time, we promised ourselves that we would go again before the summer rains. Well what a great time we had! We were only 2 couples in camp during our stay and had the privilage of being able to whatch a buffalo being eating by hyenas and vultures. What an experance!!!
Nothing was too much for our guide, Mark and tracker, Roul. They were very entertaining, and kept us busy during our stay!

There was nothing better than coming "home" to a great home cooked meal prepared by Gertie after a long drive looking for game!!!!

Will be going back soon!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bush-dame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

My wife and I spent 4 great days at Shindzela in June during the world cup. We loved every minute we were there. The game drives, the meals the camp fire chats....everything was fantastic. I would recommend Shindzela to anyone who is looking for a genuine safari experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KFG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
18.1 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,687 reviews
5.2 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
431 reviews
16.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
364 reviews
12.2 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shindzela Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shindzela Tented Camp

Property: Shindzela Tented Camp
Address: Johnniesdale Farm | Hoedspruit, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shindzela Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shindzela is an authentic tented bush camp situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, greater Kruger National Park. The camp accommodates a maximum of 16 guests and is unfenced, making it very much part of the wilderness. Shindzela is not built by an award winning architect, nor is it furnished by an interior designer. What you will find though, is a comfy bed, freshly laundered linen, and décor from local crafters and artists. Shindzela is a comfortable/rustic tented bush camp, where you can relax, enjoy our warm hospitality and immerse yourself in the African wilderness. We love our informal, relaxed atmosphere. Each safari tent is built on wooden decks, and has their own en-suite shower/toilet and hand basin. The camp also has a swimming pool and overlooks our little watering hole, from where you can watch animals come down to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shindzela Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Shindzela Tented Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing