We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He stole our money!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“He stole our money!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We got lost for 2 hours trying to find this establishment. The directions were terrible. Even the guard at the gate had never heard of this place. Mind you we had already paid for the room online. We met the manager, saw the "room" - if you can call it that. We specifically told the manager (because we got so lost) we had to hurry to get to Kruger before it closed - BUT that we would return after Kruger and Dinner. We returned to find out he had rented out our room to someone else! When I asked for a refund, he refused!. My wife, daughter and I drove through Africa in the dark trying to find a place to stay. Finally at 11pm we found a B&B. The people in the town were appauled that he would treat us this way, refuse to refund our $$ and then cast us out in the dark in a foreign country. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE! The worst hotel experience of my entire life.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanzimloti, Owner at Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
I am sorry, but their whole story is a pack of lies!
These people booked two rooms. The arrived late afternoon & I showed them the nearest of the identical rooms.
They refused to leave their luggage, but insisted that they were going to Kruger park which was impossible due to the time. Even if they were in Kruger Park, people get back at 7PM.
When they finally returned after 9PM, There were other people in the room I showed them.
I still had their two rooms!
The DUTCH people in that room offered to move to another room as they just moved in.
The demanded their money back and drove off into the night .
In 22 years experience in this business, the absolutely craziest experience!?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

an experience of a lifetime
do not come here and expect 5 star accomodation.
this is the place to stay in the bush, at a bush camp.
LOVELY WELCOME, GREAT HOME COOKED MEALS
Andre was my husband and son guide for a week and they enjoyed every minute.
Now they are part of the family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ornal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanzimlotzi, Manager at Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Oh Yes, Several reasons to remember this family!
Dad had a birthday & he was so happy that my wife baked him a cake, but most of all young Yuval enjoyed his trip here so much, that he was our first customer who cried when he had to leave!
Shalom to you all, Ora, Doron & Yuval
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We slept 3 nights in the tent, heart the lions roaming, woke up from bush babies and monkeys at 4 a.m., had Manda´s very good homemade food, enjoyed our outdoor bathroom - this was a real bush experience. Maybe some people might think that nature is not clean - if you mind insects, leaves and animals this is not the right place! Thank you Manda & Andre!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanzimlotzi, Manager at Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thanks for that.
We found that Our German couples really enjoy being out in the bush, and experiencing the wildlife by listening to the night sounds. I think these were the people who sat so quietly at the fire, that a Civet Cat walked right past them without seeing them. Love you all. Amandre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We read on their site that the accommodation would be 5 star backpacker quality and very clean however, that was not the case.
We have now been around S.A and stayed in various backpacker places and this place are not even near their standard.
Their description also said that whoever came to stay, Should not complain...and now we know why.
We suggest you try to read other peoples reviews before you book a place in kruger park, alot of the folks out there are just out to make quick bucks.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 770301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanzimlotzi, Manager at Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
I am sorry they did not feel welcome. It is everyone's right to like or dislike anything.
You however make a fool of yourself when two Medical Doctors and an Engineer / Lawyer couple just before and after you praise the exact same room you try to discredit.
The Opinion of thousands of professional couples over 18 years is worth more than the opinion of one couple who expected a 5 star "backpacker" for US$17 per night. Read the hordes of lovely reviews we receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#76 of 173 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#7 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 173 in Kruger National Park
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shindzela Tented Camp
Shindzela Tented Camp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp

Property: Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
Address: Guernsey Road | Timbavati Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is not a regular business. Only two pensioners who can not live from the US$130 per month pension we receive, who are willing to share our little paradise with nice members of the public. IF YOU WANT TO COME HERE TO COMPLAIN OR GIVE NEGATIVE CRITICISM, THEN PLEASE DO NOT COME. We enjoy positive feedback and will try to implement good suggestions. We are in between the two top Game ranches in South Africa and we enjoy their animals and listen to them at night. We are directly on the Klaserie river where the leopard often roars at night. Here you will find no luxuries, but clean, functional and comfortable rooms. They have a queensize bed, a 3/4 bed, a air cooler, a roof fan, a DVD player, a kitchenette, a fridge, microwave and a BBQ spot. We even have European plugs to charge your phones or camera. Also free Wi-Fi. The Two bush tents have romantic open bush showers, and basic electric things. No Kitchen, but a coffee station and a BBQ. Please see our photos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing