We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
647
38
4
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
38
4
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivestracker ericbedtime storywatering holewonderful hospitalitywild dogswater holeother guestssolar powerthree daysan amazing experiencesouth africawhite liontimbavati reservedinner tablemaking us feelexceeded our expectations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent the 5 most amazing days at Kambaku Safari Lodge with breathtaking landscapes, amazing animal views, and the best service possible. Even got a surprise celebration of my 21st birthday when it still was a few more days to go! Huge thanks to the nicest host´s Clarisse, Nicola and Bryce and the amazing talented and entertaining tracker Albert and Ranger Van for making the trip down to Timbavati national park as best as it could possible be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaMH_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Hi Christina ! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kambaku on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could have provided you with a memorable experience here at Kambaku. We will pass your comments to the rest of the staff and we wish you all the best with your studies and hope you will return afterwards and become a Ranger yourself ! It was a pleasure to host you and your mom here at Kambaku.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Although we spent only 1 night at Kambaku Lodge as they were booked out on our other nights, it was long enough to gain a very positive feeling about this small but efficient and friendly lodge. Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 game drives with Phillip & Eric and saw buffalo, lions, impala, ginet, elephants + other smaller wildlife. Accommodation was well appointed and the food was plentiful. I would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to review Kambaku. We always ensure that our guests experience the feeling of "home away from home" at Kambaku. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed your game drives too! We will pass on your comments to the staff. It was lovely meeting you and we wish you all the best and hope we will host you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

An incredible 3 days of relaxation, education and over indulgence. Bryce and Nicola are the most wonderful hosts, enthusiastically assisted by their more than capable team who were always on hand to ensure that our every need was catered for. Bryce's extensive knowledge, which he imparts willingly and passionately made every game drive or walk memorable, his knowledge on everything from animal behaviour, to the identifying of the wide variety of birds, trees, grasses and insects opened up a whole new world leaving us determined to return to this piece of paradise. His knowledge and the way he shares it is quite unique and remarkable. The accomodation was first class overlooking a watering hole that was always a hive of activity. The cuisine was really outstanding with everything home made/baked and absolutely delicious. I have no hesitation in recommending Kambaku to both fellow South Africans or foreign tourists for an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi Colin - Thank you so much for the glowing review of the lodge, staff and experience. It is great to see that even the smaller things about the bush can be fascinating and worth coming back for. we are striving to achieve an increase in return guests as we believe this shows our dedication to outstanding and personal service. No less can be expected from an owner run lodge! Looking forwards to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Kambaku Lodge should be on everyone's "bucket list"! We spent a delightful 3 days with amazing animal views and impeccable personal service. Bryce is both extraordinarily knowledgeable and entertaining as guide, and he and Albert are remarkable trackers. He and Nicola made us feel totally welcome and pampered. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food and its presentation were excellent and varied. The individual touches were delightful. The range of animals and the intimacy as we saw them was awesome. There aren't enough superlatives for this wonderful place and its great hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletcher97702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Kambaku. We are pleased that we could have provided you wish such a memorable experience! We will pass your comments on to the staff and the chefs and wish you all the best over the next year - when the going gets tough at least you will have some lovely memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My family highly recommend staying at Kambaku. we had 5 days at the lodge in which we were thoroughly spoilt. OUr 12 year old thought the place was great and loved the game drives.We had a day or so when the game viewing was a bit sparse but on other days there were animals everywhere. our room was near the water hole and it was great to sit and watch the procession of animals. Can't speak highly enough of the staff. they all put in 100% and then some! it is a small enough place to give a real feeling of being the only people there. really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieEmmetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kambaku. Game viewing can be a bit erratic at times, but overall the animals usually oblige ! Glad to hear that there was animal activity to watch from camp as well, and that your daughter enjoyed her safari experience. Thank you for the lovely feedback on the staff - I will pass it on to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews