We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Adventure in the Bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just completed a successful 4-day/3-night stay at Tambaku Lodge in the Timbavati Nature Reserve. Sucessful in that we got up close and personal with the big 5 (lion, rhino, leopard, elephant and buffalo) plus giraffes, zebra, steenbok, impala, kudo, wildebeest and warthogs. And too many species of birds to remember. No guarantee you will see all five, but they will try. The rangers know the area and the animals and are quite knowledgable about the birds, animals and plants. Excellent accomodations at Tambaku - clean, comfortable, safe. Excellent food and drink. Wonderfully warm and personal hospitality. Small size makes for a very personal memorable experince with your ranger, tracker and with the staff. A great place for a family vacation. Staff does a great job making sure everyone has an enjoyable and memorable experience. Timbavait is adjacent to Kruger and the wildlife is as varied and numerous as in the park. The boundary is unfenced, so the animals move back and forth. The WiFi connection was sufficient to stay in touch and I did not miss the absence of TV, radio or the limited cell service. Frankly, I was so busy enjoying the wildlife, hospitality, other guests and scenary, I did not need any other entertainment.

A couple of general thoughts if you are considering a vacation like this, whether at Tambaku or otherwise. First the weather; you wil be outdoors in an open vehicle for around six hours a day. In the summer, it will be hot and sunny and frequently rainy. In the winter, it can be quite cool starting out in the morning or after sunset in the afternoon as you drive around. Dress appropriately, in layers and remember you sunblock. I'd also suggest that a vacaton with multiple game drives over multiple days may not be compatible with younger ( pre-teen) children. Three hours moving through the bush, paying attention and keeping still and quiet may be a challenge for the pre-teen adventurer. Unless you have a large family, you are likely sharing the vehicle with other guests, so you have to consider you impact on them. Finally, you are in the bush - no stores or shops nearby. The lodges, like Tambaku have many supplies that you might need for you visit, like batteries, extra clothing, and insect repellant. Be prepared with your medicines, clothing and for your special needs. The lodges will accomodate many dietary issues, but you have to let them know beforehand so they can prepare. When in doubt ask questions by phone or email before the trip.

Room Tip: No bad rooms at Tambaku
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Hi Jim . Thank you for taking the time to post such a lengthy review on Kambaku! we are so glad that you experience the big 5 up close and personal, and that you had such a great stay. We are also happy to see that our personal touch is appreciated ! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Looking for a place where you feel at home the moment you step into it, then kambaku is the place.Excellent service, lovely people.Thanks to host clarisse, our guide van and albert. unfortunately we could spent only one night there.Even then we have only positive things to tell about them .Excellent food,staff went all the way to make everything extraordinary, be it dinner, welcome service ....!!!!thanks to all

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Hello Priya- It is so unfortunate that you could only spend one night here, as one only starts to relax after a few days... however hopefully in the future you can join us again for a longer stay and many more happy memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I happened upon Kambaku by accident doing an internet search to find a nice safari for my husband and I. I am in South Africa with the US Peace Corps and my husband was coming for our first reunion after being apart for six months. I wanted to be sure his first safari was terrific, and Kambaku exceeded my wildest expectations. The small size of the resort created an intimacy and feeling of being among friends and family, not like a large impersonal hotel. The food was definitely 5 star, and each evening served in a different location at the lodge, under the stars. The owners have thought of everything, right down to the nightly bedtime stories left on our pillows. Romantic touches are everywhere but not overdone, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. And the twice daily game drives were amazing. Imagine evening cocktails at a local watering hole (literallly) with elephants, buffalo, and rhinos in sight--and an amazing sunset to top it off! I have been on safaris in Tanzania and Kenya, and they were wonderful, but the safari experience at Kambaku was intimate, personal, and one that I shall remember forever. I could not have asked for a more blissful way to reconnect with my sweetie, and I highly recommend this to anyone interested in an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It is much appreciated.
Appealing to everybody all of the time can be a real challenge and every guest has different expectations so it's nice to know that we seem to have got the formula right!
It was pleasure to have you as our guests and, who knows, perhaps you'll come back and see us again one day?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent the 5 most amazing days at Kambaku Safari Lodge with breathtaking landscapes, amazing animal views, and the best service possible. Even got a surprise celebration of my 21st birthday when it still was a few more days to go! Huge thanks to the nicest host´s Clarisse, Nicola and Bryce and the amazing talented and entertaining tracker Albert and Ranger Van for making the trip down to Timbavati national park as best as it could possible be!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinaMH_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Hi Christina ! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kambaku on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could have provided you with a memorable experience here at Kambaku. We will pass your comments to the rest of the staff and we wish you all the best with your studies and hope you will return afterwards and become a Ranger yourself ! It was a pleasure to host you and your mom here at Kambaku.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Although we spent only 1 night at Kambaku Lodge as they were booked out on our other nights, it was long enough to gain a very positive feeling about this small but efficient and friendly lodge. Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 game drives with Phillip & Eric and saw buffalo, lions, impala, ginet, elephants + other smaller wildlife. Accommodation was well appointed and the food was plentiful. I would recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking your time to review Kambaku. We always ensure that our guests experience the feeling of "home away from home" at Kambaku. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed your game drives too! We will pass on your comments to the staff. It was lovely meeting you and we wish you all the best and hope we will host you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

An incredible 3 days of relaxation, education and over indulgence. Bryce and Nicola are the most wonderful hosts, enthusiastically assisted by their more than capable team who were always on hand to ensure that our every need was catered for. Bryce's extensive knowledge, which he imparts willingly and passionately made every game drive or walk memorable, his knowledge on everything from animal behaviour, to the identifying of the wide variety of birds, trees, grasses and insects opened up a whole new world leaving us determined to return to this piece of paradise. His knowledge and the way he shares it is quite unique and remarkable. The accomodation was first class overlooking a watering hole that was always a hive of activity. The cuisine was really outstanding with everything home made/baked and absolutely delicious. I have no hesitation in recommending Kambaku to both fellow South Africans or foreign tourists for an experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Hi Colin - Thank you so much for the glowing review of the lodge, staff and experience. It is great to see that even the smaller things about the bush can be fascinating and worth coming back for. we are striving to achieve an increase in return guests as we believe this shows our dedication to outstanding and personal service. No less can be expected from an owner run lodge! Looking forwards to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Kambaku Lodge should be on everyone's "bucket list"! We spent a delightful 3 days with amazing animal views and impeccable personal service. Bryce is both extraordinarily knowledgeable and entertaining as guide, and he and Albert are remarkable trackers. He and Nicola made us feel totally welcome and pampered. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food and its presentation were excellent and varied. The individual touches were delightful. The range of animals and the intimacy as we saw them was awesome. There aren't enough superlatives for this wonderful place and its great hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fletcher97702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Kambaku. We are pleased that we could have provided you wish such a memorable experience! We will pass your comments on to the staff and the chefs and wish you all the best over the next year - when the going gets tough at least you will have some lovely memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
455 reviews
14.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
728 reviews
8.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £305 - £1,297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and South African Hotels so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing