We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more magical ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my third visit to Kambaku and each visit just keeps getting better! This time I brought along a small group of people from Australia on a "healing journey" and we could not have asked for anything better. Nicola and Bryce and the entire Kambaku family were quite simply outstanding in ensuring that our five days spent at the lodge were truly wonderful and memorable. Indeed just perfect. Dave and Albert and also Ankia were exceptional in guiding us to the most amazing array of animals. But far more than that, their obvious love of and passion for the African bush was contagious and made for truly memorable game drives. And, as always, we made to feel so incredibly special by everyone at the lodge with Candice and Bennett and the rest of the delightful Kambaku staff ensuring that we were wonderfully looked after and cared for. Kambaku is a very special place indeed with very special people and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffC_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Jeff - what can I say ? You are a part of the family by now... I know that it was not only your group who benefited from the trip, but all of us at Kambaku grew through the hosting of this very special group. I think we all learned that we have a lot to be grateful for, and not to take anything in our life for granted, as it may not be there for long. We definitely look forwards to your next visit, and hopefully we will be able to visit you down under in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 663 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at Kambaku for 2 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. It is a small, intimate lodge with efficient, friendly staff, and very comfortable facilities. What we particularly enjoyed was the personal touch provided by the staff and management. The game drives with our driver/guide, Ankia, and our tracker, Eric, were amongst the best we have experienced in Africa. We could easily have stayed for longer if our itinerary had allowed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for writing up about your recent stay with us. Safari is about the game drives - I am glad to hear that they are of the best you have ever experienced and that the staff's personal attention stood out for you. We hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Every single person in the Kambaku team has been handpicked and make a truly outstanding team. There is nothing that is too much trouble and like the genie in the Arabian tales is at hand always to do your every bidding. Kambaku has 8 chalets/rooms and is small enough for everyone to be treated like family/friend. The room is a good size and comfortable. The food is very good and unless you are careful, it is very easy to overeat . The front desk manager Bennet was there to meet and greet us when we arrived and helped make our stay special from then on. The owners Nicola and Bryce have created something they can be most proud of. They have bought a property next to theirs so from the new year there will be two great Kambaku choices to choose from
Dave our ranger and Erik our tracker make a great team together and showed us the very many amazing sights of the Timbavati, both flora and fauna – Dave is very knowledgeable and passionate and we ended up seeing the big 5 many times plus so much more. The highlight of our trip was the sighting of 8 white rhinos together but that was one of so many memorable sights. We spent almost 2 hours with two 6 months old leopard cubs as they played together and finally climbed a tree and looked at us from the very top – last but not the least lots of raptors with juveniles in their nests .
All in all the whole experience was amazing and far exceeded our expectations. We will be back for sure. Anyone wanting a good choice in the Timbavati would not have to look elsewhere

Room Tip: Both the rooms near the waterhole are the best for game viewing even when not on drives
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilipjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. This specific review means alot to us as owners - we know that you have traveled extensively and have been on many safaris in many parts of the world, so have much to compare us to. I believe you have highlighted what we strive to achieve, in superb game sightings, and the opportunity to sit with an animal for an extended period of time should you choose to. We are also proud that our Guides and trackers do not only chase after the big five - there is so much more to see out here and they are sensitive to the needs and wants of the clients when it comes to game viewing - focusing on both large and small animals, birds, plants etc. We truly hope to see you back one day - either here or at the new lodge - you will be most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

With so many lodges within this area, you need to be a little different to stand out. We believe that Kambaku does exactly that... Starting with a warm welcome from lovely Bennett and the experience continues until you leave. With only a few Chalets this is a small establishment that relies on individual attention - family run on-site so you are personally investing in a small business.
We travelled as a couple with my visiting Mother, nothing was too much trouble. The decor and outdoor setting in so peaceful - the ideal place for a quiet, total "bush" holiday. Dinner was nice but brunch was amazing and so fresh! They have some lovely ideas for your holiday that we won't spoil, just the little touches that mean a lot. Every staff member from Bar Attendant (fantastic iced coffee Terrance!) to you Shangaan Tracker is very genuine and loves their job.
We must make mention of Ankia our Guide - a tough day for game spotting when we visited (as can happen) - she was calm, excellent driver, so knowledgeable and so enthusiastic regarding her passion (not a job to her!). The sheer delight as a beautiful Leopard walked with us and when our Tracker (Eric) found the Lion he knew was there on foot was lovely to see. We have been with a lot of Guides and believe that Ankia is a standout, her partner Dave too was a wealth of knowledge.
Thankyou for a wonderful visit - we will be recommending and perhaps returning one day:)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antichfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you for the review and the comments on the staff and the guides - I shall pass them on. You have highlighted though, the whole team's passion to be here and that is is more than just a job to everyone. we wish you the best of luck for the future, and hope that one day you will be back to this part of the world and visit us again - next time for longer though .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I am sure there are lots of fabulous lodges in the Kruger but what makes Kambaku stand out is the team Nicola & Bryce have put together. There is nothing that is to much trouble & its like being on holiday with the family ! There are only 8 lodges at Kambaku which makes the place feel intimate and you are treated as friends as well as customers. Our lodge overlooked the waterhole and was very pleasant inside with a good sized comfortable double bed. We were lucky enough to see the Big 5 plus lots of other animals as well seeing giraffe fight (like watching a scene from David Attenborough's documentary). Our guides/ rangers Neil & Albert were very knowledgeable and a good source of fun for the 4 nights we stayed here. The food was great and we ate in a different part of the Lodge every evening, including one night in the bush! Kambaku will hold a special place in my fiance & my heart as we got engaged out there. Candice arranged a private dinner by the waterhole & somehow managed to keep the rest of the guests away (thanks Candice). It was a truly great location to propose and the perfect way to end a perfect 3 week holiday. We'll be back !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thank you fro such a lovely review.... and engagement is always something to celebrate and thank you for choosing to pop the question here. I hope that the memories of the whole trip, as well as the private dinner, remain for many years to come. The animal sightings while you were here were amazing, and it will be difficult to top them next time - but we will definitely give it a try. maybe we will see you next year for the wedding...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Everything at this lodge was excellent. The owners and staff are friendly and helpful, the guides are knowledgeable and the accommodation excellent. The huge group of over a 1000 buffalo on the move was an awesome sight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arinaprins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Hi Arina - you are right a herd of such magnitude is worth celebrating. We have been incredibly fortunate with the number of buffalo in the area recently... and where there are buffalo there are lions...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

As pessoas fazem a diferença neste Lodge - ficamos hospedados 3 dias, limpeza impecável, o quarto muito confortável, sempre com um mimo nos surpreendendo, ótima comida, guias extremamente atenciosos, incansáveis na busca dos Big 5, as refeições sempre foram servidas em locais diferentes, no aniversário da minha esposa fizeram um bolo e as cozinheiras cantaram parabéns em Afrikaner ! Fantástico !

People make the difference in this Lodge - we stayed three days, impeccable cleanliness, the room very comfortable, always surprising us with a treat, great food, extremely attentive guides, relentless in pursuit of the Big 5. The meals were always served in different locations. On the anniversary of my wife they made ​​a cake and sang happy birthday in Afrikaner ! Fantastic !

Room Tip: Ficamos no último bangalô, próximo ao lago - muitas vezes vimos animais vindo saciar a sede. É um qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Owner at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thanks for the bilingual review on your stay - How unique ! You have captured our lodge in a nutshell - personal attention and the little extras that make your holiday special. All the staff are willing go the extra mile to make sure that your holiday is memorable - especially when there are events being celebrated. Attention to detail is foremost in our daily runnings of the lodge, and of course we are determined to show you all the animals and more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
424 reviews
15.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,869 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
455 reviews
14.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
727 reviews
8.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Address: Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £304 - £1,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, South African Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing