We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kambaku Safari Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Strand, South Africa
1 review
“Kambaku Safari Lodge”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay at Kambaku Safari Lodge was amazing! This is a small lodge with only 8 rooms’ right in the middle of the bush next to a waterhole.
You will only spot the lodge 100m before you arrive there as it blends in beautiful with the surroundings.
At the lodge they have a sparkling swimming pool; every room has an en-suite bathroom and a fan. It is not 5 star, but 4star deluxe and very comfortable. The meals served were also delicious and the served every night at a different special spot.
Because it is not such a big lodge you are very close to the animals. When I stayed there we could hear the laughter of a hyena while lying in bed and the buffaloes being very close to the chalet.
The game drives at Kambaku is also very good and the rangers very knowledgeable. They will go the extra mile to show you the animals.
Thank you to David and his team for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0handuT0it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us - hopefully it will be longer next time.

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    31
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
207
222
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Even the stuff that "went wrong" (water/hot water issues, flat tire on the jeep) couldn't dampen our enthusiasm for the friendly and knowledgeable folks at Kambaku Lodge. Every one of the staff seemed to genuinely care about the quality of our safari experience. We ate like royalty- I'd recommend this lodge for the food alone! Each of the game drives was unique and exciting. Our ranger Phannie and spotter Ranie made sure we saw every species that roamed in the Timbavati Reserve- at least that's how it seemed! Lodge executive David and hostess Sibongile made us feel welcome the moment we arrived - well at all times, really. As an added benefit, David's massage treatment is second to none. For those who can't live without it, wifi is available during the day in the "lobby" area. Just the right nod to modern needs, while preserving the rustic "bush" atmosphere and experience. Thank you for the perfect beginning to our special (3 generational) family vacation!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words - I will share this with all the staff here. Of course things sometimes go wrong but we always aim to rectify anything efficiently and quickly - and I am very happy that you had such a great time here - we thoroughly enjoyed your family's company and miss you! We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels in South Africa and we would love to see any of you back in the future.

Once again many thanks - David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

What can I say, after numerous lodges and game drives over our 3 years exploring Southern Africa, this certainly was the best and most memorable. From the start, the welcome from David and the team was second to none and this continued for the whole of the visit - they make you feel that you are their first guests ever and want to ensure all your needs are taken care of.

All aspects of the Lodge are excellent with comfortable rooms, great food and fantastic game drives (and great sundowner spots). Special mention to Evan and Albert on their guiding and tracking skills which ensured our last sighting on our last game drive for many years was a group of lions; in the words of my daughter Neive - awesome!

Thanks to all of the team in making this a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: All great - interconnecting room for families is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marillionnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
wow - thank you so much for your wonderful review - I will pass on your comments to the staff who will be delighted with this. We always aim to make our guests feel special and very much wanted here - after all the guests make up a lot of the atmosphere in the lodge and we want to ensure that everyone thoroughly enjoys their time here

We would love to welcome you all back soon

Many thanks again - David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitakyushu-shi, Fukuoka, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have been having a Kambuku strong fever since I went there.

The experience at Kambaku was amazing, right from the arriving process up until my departure. Every single staff member that you meet is incredibly friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable and will go out of their way to assist you with anything you need or questions you may have.

The accommodation caters for a small number of people which in my opinion is great and gives the lodge a homely feeling with Bryce, Nicola, and Candice. The game drives were outstanding and I got to see a wide variety of animals and birds as well as amazing views of the surrounding landscapes.

Bryce, Nicola, Payton, Kambaku owner's family , Candice, reservation manager and the experience really made it feel like you were at a ‘home away from home’. I would highly recommend Kambaku to anyone looking for a superb big 5 experience coupled with great food and a relaxing atmosphere. I was sad to leave but will definitely be back.

Our ranger Neil was fabulous. Enthusiastic, knowledgable and sincere in all his efforts to make my game drives as exciting and enjoyable as possible! Thank you, Neil, you made my time in Kambaku absolutely amazing

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockiemydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind words - we would be delighted to welcome you back!

Kind regards

Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the moment we arrived, this special lodge found a place in our hearts. David and his staff are so gracious, warm, knowledgable and funny! We felt welcomed into this special atmosphere and had such an amazing experience! Our game drives with Neil and Eric were just beyond expectations. They let us stay out late to follow a beautiful male lion from the south and that roar in the night! We had such great sightings of leopard, elephants, buffalo and the list goes on, special diet requests were accommodated on short notice and the food was fresh home made and delicious! There is every attention to detail in the rooms with special surprises. The grounds are just lovely with the watering hole. This lodge was our favorite of three we stayed at and the only regret was having to leave so soon! We had so many laughs with the staff.We shall plan a return trip in the future and will bring friends. Much love and gratitude to the Kambaku family for sharing!!

Room Tip: The bungalows are just delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are naturally delighted that you regarded your stay with us as an 'awesome adventure' and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Thank you so much for the warm and wonderful staff at Kambaku!
David and Bongi were phenomenal hosts who made sure every little detail did not get overlooked. We were greeted immediately on our arrival and shown the highest hospitality. The rooms were lovely and spacious and the grounds were immaculate and very well groomed. Our food was absolutely delicious; all our meals were so tasty and abundant. Meals were served family style so we had a great venue for meeting members of the staff and other guests. The best meal was the one by the fire! The morning and evening game drives were fantastic; we saw loads of elephants, zebras, giraffes, rhinos, hippos, leopards just to name a few. Our trekker and guide, Albert and Phany were so knowledgable and went above and beyond to ensure that we had great views and maximized our time in the jeep.
All in all, this experience left us wanting for nothing! Could not thank Kambaku enough for the wonderful time in Krueger.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you regarding your stay as 'an epic adventure' We strive to create a warm and wonderful atmosphere and are very happy that you felt this when you stayed with us.

We would love you to come and stay with us again

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

They welcomed us on short notice. All staff there to welcome us as we arrived. Dave, general manager, joined us for lunch. We could the warmth between the staff for each other on our arrival. So sad we only had two days, four game drives with Neal and Eric. They were committed to finding the animals and making sure we were getting good angles for our photos. We even skipped sun-downers (our choice) to see lions. We saw the only white lion pride in the wild. How fantastic is that!! Both Neal, our ranger and Eric, our tracker, were knowledgeable in depth regarding animal behavior and birds and reptiles. We were late for dinner (which chef kept warm for us) so we could view more of the lions. They do not carry guns...they rely on their understanding of animal behavior to avoid dangerous situations. Now about the food and service...delicious, scrumptious, flavorful and so much more...We enjoyed a BOMA dinner. We loved their cookies for coffee/tea break in morning. The best value for the price we experienced on our three safaris. If my body and resources allow, I will be returning to experience the true bush in South Africa again with David and his staff. We rate this experience excellent PLUS. Judy O 71 years young

Room Tip: Pick a room with view of the watering hole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifetimlernr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Wow - what a terrific review - thank you so much for this - we have shared this with the staff along wit the other reviews. We are delighted that you regarded your stay with us as 'memorable' - for the right reasons of course! - and that you describe your stay as 'best ever'

Please stay longer next time!

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,719 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
437 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
689 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
196 reviews
3.8 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Property: Kambaku Safari Lodge
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing