We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We would definitely recommend staying at Kambaku Safari Lodge. The two things that have really made this an amazing experience for us.1. Evan and Albert (our Ranger and Tracker) made the game drives a success with their wealth of knowledge and passion for their job. 2. Dave (Manager) was always there to make sure everything was perfect and our needs were met and the other staff (Cordelia, Terrance & Lousi) made sure we were always taken care of. These people don't just do their job - they live their job with passion and commitment. Wonderful healthy food every day, exceptional knowledge about the animals and run by a lovely group of people.

Room Tip: We had room 5 & 6 - perfect location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesaCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks you very much indeed for this wonderful review, which I will share with the staff. It is always gratifying to know that our enthusiasm and 'passion and commitment' which you refer to is recognised. We would love to see all three of you back again soon

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    30
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
201
212
58
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My daughter and I spent four extraordinary days at Kambaku Safari Lodge. The staff was exceptional and the service outstanding. David, Cordelia and Phanuel made us feel at home. If Kambaku seems a stretch of your budget, know that it is well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for the lovely review and it is great that you refer to our staff as 'exceptional' and the service 'outstanding'. Our guests are always very important to us and it is also great that you felt at home at Kambaku - that is the atmosphere that we continually strive to achieve. We would dearly love to welcome you both back in the future

many thanks once again

David - on behalf of the whole Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay at amazing resort with knowledgeable staff. They made us feel like family and we didn't want to leave. Elephants drink from the pool, leopard tracks by your door in morning.

There are two bush adventures per day; sunrise and sunset. A guide knocks on your door at 5:30 am, you have coffee or tea then jump in the land rover and the trackers find you the "Big Five" in their natural environment.

Also suggest a trip to Rustenburg to see big cats with The Lion Man. Contact me for info as this is brand new. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and two of our teenagers spent 3 nights at Kambaku in July, and every since aspect of our stay was fantastic. Our top priority was to see lots of wildlife, and Kambaku exceeded our highest expectations. We saw rhinos, lions, and elephants, all up close, during the first two hours of our first game drive and all of the "Big Five" on the first day. The second day featured a lioness and her four cubs dining on a freshly killed baby buffalo. Evan was a great guide and Albert became a family legend when he found a chameleon in a tree ... at night. We also loved Kambaku when we weren't on game drives because the people treated us more like friends than like clients. All the meals were excellent, both the food and the conversation. The rooms elegantly rustic yet very comfortable. Our daughter didn't want to leave, ever, and asked if she could come back and get a job there sometime.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gmv_msu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I am delighted that 'we exceeded all your expectations' and I will also pass on your comments to Evan and Albert. We would love to have your daughter back as a volunteer when she is older!

Please come back

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Four friends and I (all females in our late 20s) stayed at Kambaku for five days this spring and it couldn't have been better. The staff is ridiculously friendly and pleasant to be around; the safari drivers and trackers really know they stuff - I'll remember chasing lions through the bush with them for the rest of my life!
The accommodations were very comfortable and clean. I have a severe dietary allergy and the kitchen staff went out of their way to cook me my own individual meal each night if I couldn't have what the group was having. I've never been so well cared for, even at hotels/restaurants in Europe and the States!
Very well run, lovely place to be. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gradstudenttravels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Wow what a wonderful review - thanks you very much indeed. It is heart warming to know that you felt that 'you had never been so well cared for', and that you experienced Kambaku as a 'fantastic place and people'. W would love to see you again especially s 'you cannot recommend us enough' - please come back soon!

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

4 of us (2 couples) spent 3 nights and 4 days at the Kambaku Safari Lodge in late March. We had a FANTASTIC time. All aspects of our stay were top-notch: lodging, food, staff, ambience, and especially the safaris which were life-changing. Great ranger(Neil) and tracker (Eric) and the animals were extraordinary. I wish we had stayed for a week at least. David is a wonderful host .

Go....NOW!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
We are delighted that you regarded your stay with us as 'FANTASTIC' and would love to host you again in the future. Many thanks for telling everyone to 'GO NOW'

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Well done Kambaku team , brilliantly run super organised very friendly . Cannot fault it and I am in hospitality !!
Easy to go as there alone or as family or couples as they are so welcoming. Loved the place. Our tracker Albert my kids called him a legend ! wow so good , we saw an aardvark .
Our Ranger Evan, really sweet and patient and cared about the
animals.
But who ever you get would be brilliant from there.
Unforgettable experience thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambaku2007, Manager at Kambaku Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Many thanks for your very kind words - I will share them with all the team. It is great that you regarded your stay as 'an unforgettable experience' and that you 'cannot fault ' anything. We would love to see you back in the not too distant future

Kind regards

David - on behalf of the Kambaku Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
15.2 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
11.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
8.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
14.7 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kambaku Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kambaku Safari Lodge

Property: Kambaku Safari Lodge
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kambaku Safari Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kambaku Safari Lodge is nestled in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, which can be found within the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park.The camp is well situated in this unspoilt natural wilderness area, home to an astonishing array of animals including the Big 5. Kambaku provides the ultimate escape from busy schedules, with eight well appointed thatched chalets overlooking our own private waterhole.Attracting guests from around the world, Kambaku offers superior standards in all of our facilities yet always maintaining a high level of environmental consciousness. Our dedicated staff will cater to the individual needs of our guests making for a truly memorable stay. With scrumptious bush cuisine in a relaxed, rustic setting our guests can truly unwind and immerse themselves in the restorative powers of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., South African Hotels, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kambaku Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kambaku Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kambaku Safari Lodge South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing