We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
StayEasy Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (460)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
429
27
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
27
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanbush breakfastoutdoor showerwatering holegame drivesour honeymoonlovely poolthe riverdry river bedincredible foodtented accommodationsouth africaevery mealwild dogsbreakfast is servedtheir handsan amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have just stayed at Tanda Tula for 3 nights with our children & their partners to celebrate our 10th anniversary. It was a first safari experience for us all and turned out to be a truly wonderful & memorable one! The management team, Crystal & her fiancé Richard, who was also our guide/ranger were so friendly & informative and went to extreme lengths to make our stay fun & enjoyable! The accommodation was very comfortable & clean and nothing like I thought staying in a tented accommodation would be! We even had a roll-top bath! Every night a hot water bottle was placed in our bed (its cold in the night & mornings in winter) and a treat left on the pillow! All the food chef Ryan cooked was delicious and we ate around the fire every night - very romantic! The breakfasts served in the bush by the the very friendly staff were just perfect after two hours driving around the Kruger Park looking at the most amazing wildlife. We had 3 leopard sightings and ticked all the boxes on our 'Big Five' list, which was all down to Richard's enthusiasm and our tracker Isaac's vast knowledge. They made a perfect team and we learned so much about the animals when we were with them,that any fear we had before we went on the safari has been replaced with only love & respect. Best part of our first but not last trip to a beautiful country. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Lauren
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. And special thanks for your kind words for Richard, Isaak, Krystle, Ryan and the team. I agree - they are wonderful, Don and I are very fortunate to have such dedicated and thoughtful staff. Kindest regards to you and your family, Nina and Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

What a truly memorable and delightful experience! Thank you so much to Nina & Don & the whole fantastic Tanda Tula team for devoting such energy and spirit to us. The luxury tents are perfect, those heated beds a sublime treat in the cool nights! The trackers and Guides are all excellent leading us straight to amazing sightings of leopard & cubs, male lions, rhinos with young,..elephant & buffalo herds...everything we could hope to see! And the food is copious & delicious! Thanks Ryan. We consider this a sensational safari lodge and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Hello Cristel and Mwana
We really loved having you both, your energy and passion for life - the bush and wildlife is wonderful. Thank you for your kind words and we so look forward to welcoming you back soon! Fondest regards Nina and Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was a really wonderful camp, very comfortable, great food, wonderful game drives, great staff. We really could not have asked for better.

Neither of us drink, so they very kindly provided tea for Sundowners just for us, which was great.

In four days we saw lions, leopards, hyena, wild dogs, white rhinos, elephants, African wild cat, lots of impala (and other deer-like creatures I can't keep track of) Cape Buffalo, warthogs, giraffes, zebras. wildebeest, baboons, vervet monkeys (they loved the lunch buffet and the morning rusks!) tree squirrels, lots of birds and I've probably forgotten some things. The game viewing was amazing!

We had an amazing time, at one stage we watched hyena steal a wild dog kill, and then the baby hyenas came to eat. Scotch was our guide and Patrick the spotter. (they also worked closely with Ranger, another guide who was lovely as well)

We could not have asked for better game viewing. The only thing missing were cheetahs, black rhino and the white lions that are only sometimes nearby.

We were there in June (winter), and the mornings and evenings were really cold. Everything possible was done to make that better, blankets in the game vehicles, hot water bottle on morning game drives, hot water bottles in our beds, hot chocolate at the end of the evening game drive. The afternoons were quite warm.

The staff were wonderful, the ones I remember especially were Harry and Smiling, the bartenders, Pretty, a waitress and another waiter whose name escapes me for the moment. Dolphin (Dolly) in the office, and of course Ryan the chef. Basically everyone on the staff was wonderful, helpful, friendly and willing to go way out of their way to help with anything.

We chose a South African camp to add to our Botswana ones partly because they were a little less expensive. We could not have had better value for money or a better experience at any price!. I highly recommend it, and would go back for sure next time I go to Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank espressobarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Don and I are delighted that you had such a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for making special mentions of Patrick, Scotch, Pinky, Ryan, Dolly, Harry and Smiling - we all appreciate your thanks and kind words. We look forward to your return to Tanda Tula.
Kindest regards Nina and Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Our family loved the facility and the rooms are tents with a bathroom and outdoor shower. Your tent is huge and even though the bedroom is a tent it is under a thatched hut and is very nice. Right on the river so you can watch nature at your doorstep. We had a hippo just behind us in the pond, 12 elephants came and drank from the pond as well. Animals wander the common area ( no problems) like deer, wart hogs. Animals come right up to your room. You are treated very well and the staff is also fun to be around. Cool night, your have a bed warmer that is very nice. Go this time of year (their winter) no bugs, it is not hot (days in the 60's) and the animals are more active than their summer

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We also love the fact the some of the game comes into the camp from time to time, such a privilege for all of us. Kindest regards Nina and Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived at Tanda Tula on my husband's birthday and were greeted by wonderful sightings of the Big 5 within 24 hours! The wildlife viewing is exceptional and the service at Tanda Tula is first class. Wonderful staff, great hospitality, fabulous food and wine plus knowledgeable and experienced guides and trackers all added up to a magnificent first experience of Southern Africa. The tented safari camps are also beautifully set out, private, comfortable and romantic. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauretta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Lauretta
We are delighted that your husband had a fantastic birthday and that you both enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to have you back again sometime soon. Special regards Nina & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews