We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mega pleasant and beyond expectations...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Mega pleasant and beyond expectations...”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Everybody deserves Tanda Tula once in their lifetime. Laugh, cheer and smiles at the bar, boma and lounge area whenever we gathered. Endearing, efficient and charmingly cheeky staff that will steal your heart every time a coconut. At the Land Rover wheel (and on the jump seat) a combined 30 years of guiding and game tracking experience that will squeeze out of the Timbavati every possible quality sighting you ask for (tall order as it may have been…our White Lion order was timely delivered even if it was on the very last game drive). The rooms were impeccable, homely and welcoming, exuding practical and simple elegance, the showers hot or cold were utterly more-ish, the beds ginormous, and Tanda Tula’s iconic peacefulness will challenge anyone to rise from slumber… siestas in this patch of bush veld should be trademarked! Having Lion, Leopard and Hyaena waltzing through camp was a sobering and most exciting constant reminder of where you are. Thanks to the whole team for a most enjoyable time and wonderful set of memories.

Room Tip: I had room number 1 and it was bliss!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianBoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
227
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent some time here, as well as at another camp in Sabi Sands. Tanda Tula was the clear winner between the two. The place is great and the tents are really well-appointed and comfortable. But it was the staff that made the difference. Everyone we met here was so friendly and welcoming. Our guide was Scotch - he was amazing and quite a character. The food was wonderful. The area around the camp was beautiful and quite different from Sabi - we highly recommend checking out both areas. We saw lots of animals including some very rare sightings. We didnt want to leave. We will be highly recommending Tanda Tula to any of our friends considering a safari, and hope we can go back ourselves some day!

Room Tip: All of the rooms/tents seemed similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first S. African safari and we couldn't have been more pleased. The luxurious accommodations, the spectacular drives, and the overall ambiance of the place, all added to an amazing experience that we will never forget. Our ranger, Dale, and tracker, Jack, went above and beyond finding "the big five" that everyone tends to fixate on. Dale was passionate about sharing his knowledge and field experience which really added another dimension to our journey. The food was wonderful, maybe a bit "rich" for our taste, but excellently prepared by chef, Ryan. We would highly recommend this camp. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Tent 12 is about a 5 minute walk from the main area. Nice because it's quiet, but you need an es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara3436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband & I cannot stop raving about our first safari experience at Tanda Tula…. definitely not the last. It is simply magical. Don & Nina, the owners, are such welcoming people, they make you feel at home the minute you meet them. The staff were simply the best, accommodating & friendly…. the cuisine was divine…. the “tents” were utterly comfortable… we didn’t even miss TV! Our tracker, Jack, & our ranger, Martin were incredibly experienced & knowledgeable… as well as entertaining, they went above & beyond the call of duty to ensure that we saw the “Big 5” during our 2-day stay. October is the perfect time to visit the safari if you don’t care about insects. We can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmwso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I guess we all think we've seen these animals from television programmes, but seeing them in their natural environment with guides like Dale and trackers like Isaac and Jack opens a whole new world. We'd seen the big 5 (and more!) by the end of our second drive and the next three days was spent exploring behaviours, seeing even more and, for us especially, starting our bird list. The climax of the trip had to be the two sightings of the wild dog pack, one at a kill disputed with hyenas; Absolutely fabulous.
The organisation and accommodation at the lodge is faultless. Everyone so friendly and relaxes. Dinner with the guides and trackers each evening was a delight. Getting up at 5.30 each morning, less so. The sleep soon disappears, however, in this beautiful morning light, and as others have said the bush breakfast rounds off the morning activities perfectly. Do try and walk back to the lodge at least once; it's an education, literally. The food is fantastic and chef Ryan amazing . Thank you so much for our special dinner on the balcony of our "tent"; it was magical.
It's hard to stop talking about this, our first visit to South Africa. I do so want to come back. After all, there are another 400 birds on that list!!

Thanks once again to you all

John and Pat

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_0ld_0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear John and Pat
It was truly a great pleasure to have you both. I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and was delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the bird spotting with Dale - he's a master!. Thank you for your very kind words and I will make sure to pass on your thanks to them. Fondest regards Nina & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I always dreamed of going on an African Safari one day so we decided to do so for our 25th wedding anniversary. Tanda Tula did not disappoint. On our first game drive, we saw all the big 5! Each day was a new adventure. Our Ranger, Formen, was extremely knowledgeable about all the fauna, birds and animals. His guide, Jeffrey, was great as well. Our accommodations were truly luxurious. The staff was so warm and welcoming and made our experience memorable. Chef Ryan and his team prepared some of the most scrumptious cuisine. They never let us get hungry. We would like to come back again and bring our daughters one day. Outstanding! No stone unturned. All the necessary precautions were taken in regards to our comfort and safety. This is definitely the way to Safari in South Africa.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
We are so pleased to have been part of your "dream come true". Thank you for choosing to spend your special anniversary at Tanda Tula and we are delighted that you had such a great stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back some day. All the best, Nina & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My brother and I recently spent 4 days in the Timbavati/Klaserie area, adjacent to the Kruger Park. 2 of the nights were at Tanda Tula Camp. The whole experience was spectacular. Our tent cabins were clean, spacious and felt like we were in the mioddle of the bush. We could reach out and touch nyala grazing right next to the deck (but we refrained!). The staff were friendly, attentive, and very focussed on providing us with the best experience they could. Our game drives consisted of just 6 guests plus Ben, our guide, and Isaac, our tracker. Both were fun, experienced and we learned so much from them. I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiljeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm very pleased that you had a good stay with us. You mentioned that you learnt so much from your guide and tracker, this is such a great point that you make and we are delighted that you have left the bush with more knowledge and understanding of this incredible environment that we live in.
Kind regards Nina & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
20.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
9.1 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
7.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
359 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
605 reviews
2.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanda Tula Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanda Tula Safari Camp

Property: Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve | Limpopo, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanda Tula Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanda Tula Safari Camp in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve bordering the Kruger National Park, offers a five-star personal wilderness experience in ultimate luxury. Here, in your own private piece of Africa, you will come face to face with nature as it always was, with not a fence in sight to inhibit your freedom. Set on the banks of the Nharalumi riverbed, Tanda Tula is shaded by stately trees and overlooks a water hole that attracts a wide variety of game from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Tanda Tula Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanda Tula Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Tanda Tula Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing